Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2013
This arrowdrome edition of the movie is wonderful as it has an alternate cover and special feature , well worth owning for any henenlotter fan
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Hilarious entertainment for the horror fan. Would highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2015
the first blu-ray release of Frankenhooker was by U.S. Distributor Synapse films
and then came the U.K. Arrowfilms blu-ray of the film
well both U.S. & the U.K. blu-ray's are ALL REGIONS,
the Arrowfilms blu-ray is not region B like it says on amazon's product details, the Disc is ALL REGIONS

the HD transfer is a 2k remaster/restoration taken from the Synapse films blu-ray which looks very Good actually
very nice restoration, sharp & clear picture quality in 1:78:1 ratio
both blu-ray's do not share the same Audio mixes
the Synapse blu-ray has a 5.1 surround sound mix & 2.0 stereo mix option,
when the Arrowfilms blu-ray has one fixed 2.0 Stereo mix which still sounds Good anyway even thou it's not a 5.1 mix
regarding the special features
Arrowfilms did take all the extras from the Synape films blu-ray
which are
A SALAD WHICH WAS ONCE NAMED ELIZABETH-interview with 1988 Pin-up penthouse model Patty mullen
who played the Frankenhooker role
patty specifically talks in great detail about playing Frankenhooker, working with Frank Henonlotter, working with Actor James Lorinz
also gives other comments about filming in New York and other stuff, interesting 9mins
TURNING TRICKS-interview with one of the Hookers in the film played by soft core porn star Jennifer Delora
who obviously acted in lots of B movie action films & B movie soft core porn films from the 80's
very long interview 20mins of her talking non stop about her role in Frankenhooker & other films she's been in
just non stop talking about the film, and about the other Penthouse actresses, strippers that played Hookers in the film etc
an interview that should have been edited, after 10mins i got bored watching it
A STITCH IN TIME a featurette about the special make up effects in the film
plus Arrow films also add 2 more extras to this blu-ray
YOUR DATE'S ON A PLATE- a new 40min retrospective Doco just for this U.K. blu-ray
new interview with Director Frank Henonlotter, Actor James Lorinz and special effect artist Gabe bartalos
very detailed, indepth 40mins aswell about the making of Frankenhooker
plus a new Audio commentary by Frank Henonlotter & James Lorinz
plus the usual Collectors booklet with new writing on the film by Calum waddell
both blu-ray's are standard blu-ray cases
worth the money for sure, scrap the old dvd versions Definitetly time to Upgrade
buy the Synapse blu-ray or Arrow films or buy both
maybe 3 stars for the film, 5 stars for both blu-ray's based on lots of special features & new 2k transfer
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
Zany, gross with laughs a plenty. This movie will go handsomely with copies of 'Brain Damage' and 'Basket Case 1,2 and 3'. Even has cameo appearances from actors starring in other Frank Henenlotter movies. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2008
What more can anyone really say? With a title that always brings a schoolboy smirk to my face and some of the most ridiculous scenes in a modern horror film that I can recall - ''Frankenhooker'' is the perfect midnight movie for fans of subversive and rather silly cinema.

Director Frank Henenlotter (recently only returning from MIA with the eagerly awaited BAD BIOLOGY) has always made movies that walk the line of absurdity. From his ''Basket Case'' trilogy to his drug addiction metaphor splatter epic ''Brain Damage'', Henenlotter's movies have always been horror comedies with an undercurrent of an actual idea behind them. Not just 'face value' horror pap - actually, something going on behind all the rubber and blood. Frankenhooker, although not as clever as something like 'Brain Damage' - does work on many levels, but also does what it says on the tin. It has a woman reanimated as a hooker. Which for me, is what makes this director very special.

The story has Jeffrey Franken (played to perfection by James Lorinz) overcome by the death of his fiance (Patty Mullen) in a freak lawn mower accident. Distraught to the fact that his love no longer has a body (and only a severed head!), he decides to re-animate her by collecting body parts of various prostitutes in the vain hope that he can somehow recreate his deceased partner. Along the way, Jeffrey gets involved in 'super crack', a pimp named zorro and many, many ladies of the night. It's all played for laughs and is easily the work of a guy who loves 50s nudie movies and gross out gore and comedy. Its low budget actually helps keep the movie on the seedy side and the cast are pitch perfect in their over the top delivery. Henenlotters' direction is sharp and his screenplay is both funny, playful and ridiculous.

Synapse Films' disc is well produced with a decent transfer and a host of (though short) documentaries and featurettes - one featuring Patty Mullen recollecting the movie and the other with Gabe Bartolas talking about the various effects. The commentary by Henenlotter and Bartolas is both funny and involving. All in all, not the most thought provoking film out there - but, if you are on the lookout for great fun, cheep gore and exploding hookers - this movie is for you. All three of you.
33 Comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
The package came in very nicely. As for the content itself, there's so much in it that looks great. I just haven't taken the time to dig into it. I bought it because I love the film, I love some of the actors and the characters they portrayed, especially James Lorinz. Also, commentary tracks appeal to me a lot. The other extras are interesting as well, but I love commentary tracks, so to have the director and lead actor doing the commentary, it was an essential buy for me. I'm glad I bought it.

Take out the extras, it's just an awesomely fun and entertaining film. I only saw it once and fell in love with it, feeling like Lorinz's character was charismatic in a strange way. Silly sounding one liners that turned out really great. I compare Jeffrey to Herbert West from Re-Animator. Forget Bruce Banner and Tony Stark, Jeffrey and Herbert would be my science bromance if it would've happened.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
My friend Lewis showed me this last night and I was thoroughly impressed. I'd never seen any of director Frank Henenlotter's other films but I will certainly be checking them out if this is anything to go by.

The film stars Kyle McLachlan as Jeffrey Franken, a young man home from college due to a medical emergency at home, while Isabella Rosselini stars as the title character. It's a shame that the title of this film will probably put people off - what it means is that, like Frankenstein's Monster, she is a composite character made out of many others. In this case, it's not literal! It's allegorical! This film is CLEARLY a work of art. The pun extends to refer to the fact that she is Jeffery Franken/Kyle McLachlan's 'whore', so the title should be Franken's Hooker if anything.

Dennis Hopper puts in a terrifying performance as a character I didn't quite catch, but Lewis tells me he's called Zorro. I didn't quite get the character was supposed to be a pimp on first viewing, will have to watch again.

Very moving, if you like surreal films with a great plot, this is one to check out.
66 Comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
I was feeling nostalgic for 80'ies bad scary movies and came across this by chance. It is awesome. A real hidden gem. Funny and gory with a twist ending. Just what I never knew I always needed. I am coming back for more titles from this director and I recommend this movie to anyone with love for "Braindead", "Critters", "Gremlins" and other scary/funny 80'ies flicks
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2016
Speedy delivery son loves this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2016
Enjoyed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)