Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 2 March 2018
A true classic. A story of horror, torture, friendship and redemption.
Set during WWII in a Japanese Prisoner Of War camp Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence is one of the most underrated films of the eighties.
Bowie's acting is not the wooden acting in The Man Who Fell To Earth or the over the top campish acting of Labyrinth.
I have watched this film a number of times and never get bored.
Obviously it is a must for all Bowie fans but I would have it as one of the films to watch afore you die.
Tom Conti gives his greatest performance as the prisoner trying to be the go between, between the prisoners and camp guards.
The music is beautiful and haunting, by Ryuichi Sakamoto, who also plays the Camps boss, Capt Yanoi.
Made in 1983 Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence has not dated one bit....Do yourself and watch this excellent WWII drama that has that little extra.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2014
Bluray version of Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence.This moving & at times harrowing film,is a masterpiece of human strength against all odds.Trapped in a Japanese P.O.W camp suffering deprivation & torture.The quality of the transfer to Bluray is AMAZING. Sound is 2 channel DTS HD Master Audio, which most home theatres will convert to an excellent sound through all speakers.Watching this film again after so many years,makes me realise just how good an actor David Bowie is.Tom Conti is almost overshadowed by him. Ryuichi Sakomoto plays the cruel camp commandant.Watch this film.Its a masterpiece.Other reviewers have mentioned about the poor transfer to DVD.Not so with Bluray.Buy the Bluray.Its Stunning photography comes to life on bluray.Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2017
Excellent film and very well acted by Bowie, Conti and Sakamoto. I am a huge fan of Bowie and this shows his versatility and the fact that although he was probably the greatest music icon ever he could also act really well- a very sad film and well adapted from the original book "The Seed and the sower". The film was made in 1983 and is not dated - the star of the film for me was Beat Takeshi and the main characters explore the juxtaposition between East and west and the difference in values, philosophy and morals effectively. Well worth watching and the music is great too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2014
An excellent film, with subtle direction (Nagisa Oshima) and hauntingly beautiful soundtrack (Ryuichi Sakamoto). The acting is convincing and skilful, considering David Bowie and Ryuichi Sakamoto are professional musicians: they are well-suppoprted by Tom Conti and Takeshi Kitano. The film adheres to the original story by Lawrence Van Der Post, "The Seed and The Sower", a fiction based upon his own experiences in Java as a prisoner-of-war of the Japanese. It is a story of very human failings, betrayal, compassion, and reconciliation, heightened by the experience of war - a war which was inevitable as all wars are, and will continue to be, until man learns to see the 'other' as himself, and recognises his responsibility within the Life universal.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2016
prompt delivery, item arrived intact, haven't yet watched it but this very film it's the one that got me hooked to Bowie's realm. Possibly, his best ever performance: his character, somehow, had an intimate resonance with David's own life (relationship with his own doomed older half-brother).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 May 2017
I first saw this film some years ago with my dad! I have always wanted to watch it again, and wasn't disappointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2017
Its what I ordered. A Classic much mis-understood film starring David Bowie. Buy it, lock yourself in, sit down and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2013
This has now become my second favourite film of all time...to say the least. I can't understand why it has gone so unnoticed in the years after its release.

I'm not gonna tell you the story because that would spoil it but let me just say that the film looks great. The DVD transfer has been done very well. Also, this is David Bowie's best performance to date in a film: he's icy, complex and essentially a shattered man due to his past experiences, which take place in heartbreaking flashbacks.

Tom Conti is also excellent as Mr. Lawrence, the man trying to bridge the gap between the ways of the Japenese, and the ways of the British. There are some absolute cracker scenes between Conti and Takeshi Kitano (in one of his first dramatic role) who is compelling in the role of the abusive, but somewhat gentle Sgt. Hara. The final scene between those two where the infamous title is uttered is a cool reminder of how, and I hate to sound cheesy, christmas can link cultures in the most incredible ways.

TOTALLY WORTH IT.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2016
I guess it's mostly interesting for fans of one of the two main (rock) stars, because it has not aged very well in my opinion. Best performance by Tom Conti though. The story is ok, but not all that fascinating.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2016
Brilliant story makes you think more of who is left in the legion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)