Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
62
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 July 2014
Rarely are biblical films something to write home about, they use poetic licence and divert from the actual narrative, the recent blockbuster about Noah being a prime example however this is one special production. It stays close to the narrative and presents quite faithfully the story of Joseph. I don't think it was that big a budget film but its locations fit well, costume and acting. It is amazing how the life of Joseph shadows that of Jesus Christ the messiah , in other words he is a type of Christ, a picture of the coming messiah. Just a couple of examples how he does that are as follows -
Joseph like jesus was his fathers beloved son.
Joseph was despised by his brothers.
Joseph was betrayed for silver coins after his brethren plotted, betrayed and sold him.
He was falsely accused and imprisoned.
Joseph was imprisoned with two criminals; one lives, one dies. Likewise Jesus wascrucified with two criminals one who found spiritual life and one who didn't.
Joseph was then exalted to the right hand of pharoah and authority given to him over all Egypt , Jesus was exalted to the right hand of the Father and given all authority.
There are five more similarities which I will leave you to pick out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2012
I first saw this presentation of the Joseph story many years ago and I have always wanted to see it again. This is outstanding in every possible way. First, and most important, it is entirely compatible with the Biblical account in Genesis of the Joseph story. It is comforting to know that there are some people in history who have dictatorial powers and yet use that power wisely and for the benefit of all. Joseph saved not only his family but Egypt as well and many outside Egypt. He is a good role model of integrity and competence. I have seen some other presentations of the Joseph story, including Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat, but this is by far the best. Whether you know the Bible or not, this is a good introduction to one of the key stories of the Bible. Although surprisingly it is rated by the BBFC as 12, this is good and wholesome family viewing. It tells of the best and worst in people, but it is primarily about redemption and forgiveness and healing of a broken family. Such a message would be of benefit to our society today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
OF THE SIX DVDS IN THE TIME LIFE SERIES,THE BIBLE JOSEPH IS A MUST TO PURCHASE AND IF BEFORE YOU BUY DVD VIEW DVD SERIES ON LOVE FILM.YOU WILL I FEEL WANT TO PURCHASE THIS DVD WHICH WON A EMMY AWARD
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
I thought the film was amazing!!! Could watch over and over again. The film is in line with the bible. Well written and constructed. Definitely recommend this film!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Great story Joseph life and his coat of many colour given to him by his father because of his obedience to him Israel also name Jacob and his faith in the only one god of his people, The film show the brothers of Joseph sells him to slave traders, In that time because of thier jealousy, It also tell of Joseph rise and imprisonment because he resisted his masters wife, and his rise to the most important man only second in power in Egypt, and how he saved the life of not only all in Egypt but his brothers who had put him into slavery, great biblical story well acted, great for all the family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
With Ben Kingsley in the cast you would correctly assume that he put his name to something of high standard. Rightly so!. This is a cracking movie, fabulous value and delivers the Bible story with precision, attention to detail and the final scenes of Joseph restored to his brothers and then his father are profoundly moving. Definitely one for the MEN and women.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
A wonderful and very interesting story about Joseph which is both Biblical and historical. The performance of the actors is very good and the settings are realistic and Beautiful. I love the way the script writers have thought about the personal relationships between the caracters even when they are not mentioned in the Bible and that they have been able to put some humour in it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2015
Ever since I saw this version of "Joseph" some years ago around this time of the year (Lent), I thought is was very good.... even if personally I fell it is just to short or condense.... Good likable actors, makes us thing about the actual history and reflect... even if tiny things aren't correct as far as someone mention to me...although even he thinks it is good.... and a possibility to be seen as an family evening... and promote talk...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This was an excelent DVD which gave a good history lesson to any new Christian who would like to no more about what was and is
Although we have the new testament it is and will always be built on the Old testament.
This story is a layout of the begining of gods chosen people who we are now part of because of Jesus
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2013
I chose this rating because the film and acting was superb, Ben Kingsley is a terrific actor, as were all the actors. Remained true to the bible, although a little back to front but worked in really well detailing Joseph's background. Well done to the Director. I would recommend this to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here