Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£17.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 June 2004
I kept my fingers crossed that this album would not be repeat of Scars, and it definately is not! We are finally back to Gary's best stuff, Blues with a powerful rock edge. I have read reviews where Gary has said that this is probably his rawest album yet, and I can definitely agree.
If you liked some of Gary's earlier songs such as Pretty Woman which had a heavy Blues Guitar sound mixed with some good semi-overdriven guitar then you are in for a treat. This particular album includes a lot of "Wah Wah pedal" guitar including one track, "Tell Me Woman" which has both Wah Wah and Slide - sounds strange but it really works well!
All in all I am not even slightly disappointed with this album and would recommend it to anyone who liked Still Got The Blues, Back To The Blues, etc.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
Those who are familiar with the work of guitarist extraordinaire Gary Moore usually have a fair idea what to expect from one of his albums. When the title of that album is “Power of the Blues”, any remaining doubts are dispelled. You know what you’re going to get, and you won’t be disappointed.
The title track kicks off the album much as it means to go on. Loud, snarling, nasty, distorted, unmistakably Gary Moore, and that is just his voice. The guitar playing is even more extreme. Add in the powerful, towering bass from Bob Daisley and thundering drums from former Primal Scream stick-man Darren Mooney and you have the perfect compliment for Moore’s wonderful balls out, blazing guitar style.
There are ten tracks in all, and apart from a couple of Willie Dixon and Percy Mayfield songs, they are mostly the work of Moore and his band. The quality of writing is such that you’d be hard to tell which are originals and which are covers. All of the songs are strong, even before they are given the full-blown Les Paul treatment, yet he proves time and time again that he can ease back on the throttle when he needs to. The words on the ballad “Torn Inside” in particular are moving and poignant. But when you buy a Gary Moore album, it’s the guitar that is the main attraction, and even on this song with it’s refined and melodic soloing, you can still feel the power.
It reminds me of a story I read about how Eric Clapton got his characteristic overdriven guitar sound on the Bluesbreakers album way back in 1966. It seems he wound it up to gig volume and simply moved it away from the mike. Moore seems to have adopted the same technique, or at least it sounds like he’s playing at full whack at the other end of a stadium.
Overall, the standard of playing on this album ranks along side his very best work. “Power of the Blues” helps bolster his already formidable reputation as one of the finest exponents of the electric guitar around today. If you like his style, you’ll love this album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2004
Great cd. Excellent vocal and guitar work.If you like good raw blues get this cd.Great sound .
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2004
What an awesome CD....it doesn't get any better than this if you're a fan of blues-rock. It's an insult to compare him to Vai in any way - Moore's got more tone, taste and chops than Vai, Satriani or any other of those "look at me, I can play fast" guitarists you can name. This is the real deal folks - thanks Gary for the killer disc...I needed this!!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2004
I have got this CD, and then read some of the reviews one of which is more like a 'book' well over the top.
I am not into this 'Vai' vs everybody else, I have seen Gary Moore in concert on the Scars tour and it was awesome blues music - the only moan being it seemed a short gig set list only about 12 or 13 songs - he gets on stage does the gig and goodnight, and I think that is the same about any CD of his which is released there is only about 10 tracks - which is a shame - but I have read he has had a recurring hand injury and had to cancel some gigs this year.
But for under a tenner you should order a copy from amazon, listen to it and make your own decision, I think it is a return to his bluesy stuff rather than experimental rock fusion - try not to compare with other players which is not easy for many people.
This new CD has a great feel about it plenty of blues and some rock it is powerful and does what it says on the label says.
I won't go through each track as that has been done already - but as I said - to compare Gary with Vai is silly they have different styles, as have most of the blues players ie Clapton, Green, Gallagher, and so on.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2005
If you worship at the Cream altar of Clapton-Bruce-Baker then you must buy this album. After the disappointment of 'Scars', it places Gary Moore back at the forefront of British rock blues. Some of the guitar solos rival Clapton at his best in the 1970's.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2007
This is certainly a power blues and is what Gary Moore does best. Whilst he can be superbly melodic blues he can also rock out as he does during his live performance where his true energy gets released. Standout tracks Memory Pain and Theres a hole are superb with the others well nested around them.

A real punchy rocker

Get it cranked up for best results.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
If you like Gary Moore you will love this, blues rock at its best in my humble opinion, could listen forever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2016
Classic blues rock from a legend who left us too soon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2006
In amongst the 13 Gary Moore albums I've currently got, this one doesn't get a lot of play, but I stuck it on last night and was pleasantly surpised.

Like most of Gary's albums since Still Got the Blues, this doesn't have the same overall high standard the debut had, but it does still contain some quite exceptional performances.

Great guitar tone, some really aggresive solos, and less of the minor key ballads that usually crop up on his albums.

Well worth getting!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here