Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
39
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.24+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 September 2013
Supergrass have always been one of my favourite bands to emerge from the heyday of Britpop, and they managed to stick around and have hit singles for longer than most.

This decade-spanning compilation is most essential in any good indie music collection. Riding high on hits, it's quite incredible when you think of just how much quality music the three lads, led by cool frontman Gaz Coombes, made whilst they were still so young. The songs aren't in chronological order, but in an order which is pleasing to the listener.

From the evergreen student anthem 'Alright', the classic and exhilarating 'Caught by the Fuss'' and the brilliant 'Pumping On Your Stero', the album is great fun from start to finish. As time went on, the material matured, but the boys' energy remained, 'Sun Hits The Sky' was an excellent rock ballad, and the equally brilliant 'Moving' has lyrics which really speak to me. It's a shame that Supergrass aren't as well respected as Oasis and Blur, but I don't think the band ever took their music all that seriously anyway. They did however manage to successfully go from '90s Britpop to sound just as modern as any indie rock band in 2004, the year of this album's release.

Despite their many hits, Supergrass aren't just a singles band, I think that their studio albums are just as consistently brilliant, so if you'd never bought one before, hopefully one listen of 'Supergrass is 10' will encourage you to do so.

Note: There is also a DVD equivalent of the greatest hits CD avaiable here: Supergrass: Supergrass Is 10 - The Best Of Supergrass 1994-2004 [DVD], which is the perfect visual package for fans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2008
Gaz Coombes and pals had it made. A number one album with their critically acclaimed debut 'I Should Coco' and a top 3 single with the perennial 'Alright'. As an incredibly tight three piece they made a big, big sound and received consistently rave reviews for their live shows.
Over the years Supergrass's star may have diminished somewhat - they are probably more Radio 2 now than Radio 1 - but a recent support slot at Wembley Stadium with the Foo Fighters ably proved that the band can still pull out all the stops when required.
This compilation is a couple of years old now but, with the recent high profile Wembley gigs and their own well recieved shows keeping the group in the public eye, there has never been a better time to revist the singles that kept us smiling through the 90's and into the naughties.
'Alright', 'Caught By The Fuzz' and 'Richard The 3rd' fizz with the energy of invention and youth - recorded quickly with minimal overdubs - all three big hit singles and deservedly so. Less in-thrall to the Beatles and Kinks than peers Oasis and Blur, Supergrass threw in lashings of attitude, a pinch of Jam, Pavement, Undertones and The Who. Everything was 3 minutes or less and melody and chorus ruled.
Their second long player 'In It For The Money' showed greater maturity and added ballads to the mix, 60's beat group pop and orchestration. 'Going Out', 'Sun Hits The Sky' and the lovely 'Late In The Day' all made the top 20 and highlighted Gaz Coombes expressive voice and the bands impressive musical versatility.
Whilst these tracks may represent Supergrass's zennith there was still much to enjoy during the latter part of the 90's and 00's - 'Moving' is possibly the funkiest and greatest single they released, 'Grace' a flab free belter and 'Pumping On Your Stereo' a cheeky throwback to 'Alright' with a wonderful video.
Supergrass are often overlooked in the grand scheme of things, but they continue to release impressive new music, remain signed to a major label and still all look 12 (even though now in their 30's).
If you like your home grown Powerpop, and are only casually aware of Supergrass's output, then this compilation is a great introduction to their singular adventures.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2005
Wow. Ten years. From their glory days with 'I Should Coco', all about being a young adult to 'In It For The Money'-where hard rock was all the rage-the self-titled 'Supergrass', were dark and turbulent mature times were in Supergrass' minds-to the funky sounds of 'Life On Other Planets'. This incorporates all their best bits and compresses it into one CD, worth any amout of cash. It starts with 'Caught By The Fuzz', rockin' and rollin' on with 'Pumping On Your Stereo' and 'Alright' to carry on. Then we take a break with 'Moving', them get thrown back in the deep end of rock with 'Richard III' and 'Grace'. Then it comes to another slow halt with 'Late In The Day' and 'Seen The Light', then a never ending barrage of rock comes in-'Mansize Rooster', 'Sun Hits The Sky', the brand new and incredibly funky 'Kiss Of Life', 'Mary', 'Going Out', 'Lenny' and the new and dark, menacing 'Bullet'. Then we have some more gentle stuff with 'It's Not Me', and then go back with 'Rush Hour Soul' and 'Strange Ones'. Finally, Supergrass are so generous they throw in some bonus tracks for you-'Lose It', 'Time' and 'Wait For The Sun'-and then it's over. You just have to play it again, and that's the great thing about it, it's just simply addictive.
Track Listing
1. Caught By The Fuzz
2. Pumping On Your Stereo
3. Alright
4. Moving
5. Richard III
6. Grace
7. Late In The Day
8. Seen The Light
9. Mansize Rooster
10. Sun Hits The Sky
11. Kiss Of Life
12. Mary
13. Going Out
14. Lenny
15. Bullet
16. It's Not Me
17. Rush Hour Soul
18. Strange Ones
19. Lose It
20. Time
21. Wait For The Sun
In one phrase-Absolutely Fantastic!!!
5/5
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
I had to use that title. Should have had a song called "5 star review". Loads of good to alright songs, and a few great songs. Nothing bad at all here. Upbeat britpop. Maybe they should've done that tv series with Spielberg after all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2006
If you are like I am and feel Supergrass are the most undervalued group in the British music scene then your suspicions will be confirmed by this breathtaking compilation album of their first 10 years together.
I saw them at a music festival in Spain a few years ago and was instantly won over. I didn´t realise quite how many great songs they´d written.
I was impressed by the early stuff I´d heard like the riotous, "Caught ny the fuzz," and the refreshingly catchy,"Man size Rooster," on a Peel session back in 94. In between I lost track of what they were up to.
Listening to this is like catching up with an old friend.
You end up tapping your feet to "Grace," or jumping up and down on your bed to the likes of,"Richard III," or one of me and my mates favourite songs,"Strange Ones."
Perhaps Supergrass lack the bite or the emotional pull or other bands but they make up for this in sheer fun. They are surprisingly gifted and versatile musically and are never boring with their musical compositions . They use effects and keyboards really effectively on a number of tracks such as,"Mary." "Lose it," is another stomper. Compilation albums are usually uneven but what I like about this is that the tracks fit nicely together and that there has clearly been some thought put into this.
I think Supergrass are great and this album really shows their musical depth. I liken them to a modern day Kinks, great songs with a sense of fun.
I´d like to think that in twenty years time students in university halls will be having wild parties with this pumping away on the stereo,
Dave, Argentina
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2004
This is not an album of new songs but in fact a collection of all the singles that they have released over the course of their music careers and when you listen you think wow what a collection of singles they have actually produced! Currently this album has hit the UK album charts at number 4 which shows they still mean business. With songs like 'pumping on your stereo' and 'alright' this album has the right mixture of sing-a-long pop mixed with indie anthems. All those people out there who think that Supergrass are a bona-fida indie band and that's what made them last 10 years I disagree with, personally I think it's the fun loving Britpop that makes them so successful today.
The band is made up of Gaz Coombes - lead vocals & guitar, Danny Goffee - Drums & Vocals, Mick Quinn - Bass & Vocals, and Rob Coombes on the Keyboard. They came together to form Supergrass in 1994 and soon became very successful and over the years as they continued to churn out hit after hit, the public started to take them for granted not noticing what fantastic music they were still making. It is hard to understand how this band ended up so under-rated while bands such as oasis and blur were flying through the Britpop scene with such success. This could be put down to the facts that even though they are highly talented they still know how to laugh at themselves.
All the once loved but now forgotten hits are there, 'Alright', 'Moving', 'Late in the day' and of course the more recent hit 'Grace' this is the perfect album for chilling out, kicking back and remembering what summer is all about. The single released and made for this album 'Kiss of Life' is a great funky piece of pop which gives across a different side to the usual comical fun-loving face that Supergrass are most well known for. With a grand total of 21 songs it's a sure thing that your getting value for your money, so whether you want to relive the good old days or you have never listened to Supergrass and you fancy a refreshing change this is the album for you!
All that is left to say is raise your glasses here is to another 10 years, Cheers Supergrass!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
This album is brilliant from start to finish. If this is your first Supergrass album, like it was mine, then you won't be dissapointed. The album clearly shows how Supergrass's sound have matured over time, starting with Caught by the Fuzz and the almost infamous Alright (you'll have definatly heard this) then moving on to songs like Late in the day and Sun hits the sky which are well written rock ballards. As the album progresses they experiment more with the keyboards & new sounds and even use a Theramin in Richard III.
Songs to look out for: All of them!!
The more you listen to it the more you realise how amazing these guys are, so stop wasting your time reading this and go buy it!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
Having been a fan of Supergrass over the years it still amazes me to see so many excellent tracks on one album. As its been said in other reviews, they've refused to sell out and have always concentrated on doing what they do best - writing and playing (especially live) brilliant pop / rock songs. From start to finish the greatest hits album is a tribute to ten years in the business and there's not a duff track among them. For those who have the albums, like all greatest hits compilations, there's not much to draw you in, but if you've never really experienced the bands music this is a great intro, featuring all the classics and I guarantee will be in your car stereo throughout the months ahead. Essential!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 June 2005
Speaking as someone who spent much of his student life in the late 90s going to indie clubs and alternative nights, this kind of album comes as a godsend. I slot it alongside Ace A's and Killer B's by Dodgy, Intergalactic Sonic 7s from Ash, Singles 93-03 by Chemical Brothers, and Going for Gold by Shed 7. In other words its a classic collection of singles for all those people who forgot/couldn't afford to buy the original albums when they were released. Consequently you don't get the songs of dubious quality and you are left with gems like "Moving", "Sun hits the Sky" and "Alright". It's also a very long album, so its good value for money.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
The number of catchy tunes on this album is almost embarrassing! I've never understood why Supergrass have always been so underrated (and contemporaries Blur and Oasis so overrated). Perhaps it's due to the fact that these guys still refuse to take themselves too seriously, despite their talents.
Could this herald a Supergrass resurgence? I think is has, in part. I've read more than a few sniffy reviews that have declared them "passe", yet when I listen to the likes of Jet, Keane et al I hear nothing remotely in the same class, except for The White Stripes, perhaps.
If they can follow this with another good album, they might finally achieve what they have always promised. Whatever happens, they can rest assured that people will be buying these tunes for many years to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)