Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
Upwards [New Version]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 15 October 2003
Hailing from South London, this is Ty's second album and has been chilling out large numbers of people who like their hip hop to be intelligent! It's got serious vibes.
Mega dj, Norman Jay MBE has been plugging this album for ages and rightly so, it's fantastic!
Music to Fly 2 is one of the most honest and beautiful tunes of the year and this album is refreshing,soothing and uplifting.
If you want something to groove to or just lounge around to with brains, this is the album for you!
Ty makes most of the rappers you hear in the charts seem crass and unsophisticated, BUY THIS!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2003
I got the opportunity to see Ty preview some of the tracks from
this album at the Big Chill, which included a full live band and
special guest singers. When you listen to tracks like "Groovement"
and "Wait A Minute" they aren't only hip hop tracks but they take
influences from every musical direction. Lyrically Ty raps with
a sense of rhythm and deep understanding for human nature.
Without resorting to "show biz hip hop antics" Ty speaks like
it is. What moves me so much about this LP to even take the
time to write a review is that it sounds fresh every time I put it
on. It's an lp you can relate to if you like straight hip hop, soul
jazz, funk, Afro-Latin dub reggae cause in some way all those
things are in there. Plus "Wait A Minute" is worthy of having
some super remix for the more uk underground scene - ala
west London sound.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2005
What's not to love? A rapper who, on the opening track, namechecks Oona King (!) and replaces the 'm*therf*cker' you come to expect from hip-hop with 'oh my goodness'. Beautiful, sunshiney, funky beats and sounds sampled from all over. Ty is from Brixton but raps about the world as he sees it without ever resorting to ghetto posturing, although you sense his life has been pretty unusual. And, as if you needed another reason, Roots Manuva makes guest appearances.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2004
Not being a big fan of UK Hip Hop [Apart from Roots Manuva], I was a bit skeptical at buying this album. I went for it anyway after hearing the original mix of 'Oh You Wnat More' which also features Roots Manuva on it. The first time I listened to it I was pleasantly suprised at what I heard. Being british hip hop I thought the beats would be poorly produced but from start to finish this album ranks up there with a lot of other excellent hip hop albums I own. Ty keeps it real and a lot of his joints relate to everyday life on the dark streets, but adds a few comical aspects to them. Not only does the album sound good but an added bonus is the remixes featured at the end of the album. 'Oh You Want More?' is remixed twice, the refix [The joint that is released] vibes on an indian style and the best joints on the album are remixed too.
If you are a bit skeptical about UK hip hop I urge you to buy this album as I believe it borders on the lines of U.S. Beats, UK lyrics. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2003
“This album is a modern day classic. Why? Three words. Entertaining. Enlightening. Enduring…. At the risk of being boring and predictable, I’ll spell it out for you – this is a C-L-A-S-S-I-C.” – Blues & Soul
“One of the outstanding collections of hip hop music you’re likely to hear this year.” - Echoes
“Set to become one of the must-have long players of 2003” – IDJ
“One of the albums of the year? I’d say so” – Undercover
“Upwards pushes for a top 5 place in end-of-year lists. Reaction should simply say, Ty – thank you.” - DMC Update
“Ty is in a league of his own” - New Nation
“One of the best” – The Voice
“Hot like an oven” - Knowledge
"Clocking in at just under an hour, 'Upwards' eschews the usual advances of overblown noodling, rubbish skits, lessons in self-indulgence and duff filler in favour of lacing the listener with that old fashioned remedy of hot track after hot track." - Hip Hop Connection, Album of the Month
"A breath of fresh air" - The Sunday Times
“Big Dada… are too damn good for this mediocre age. For the last few years, they’ve been releasing the most consistently fascinating British records of our generation, and Ty’s Upwards is the latest. A crush of psychedelic nu-skool and mashed-up visions of an alternative black history of British pop… consider Upwards an album that doesn’t just reconfigure itself every moment, it’s a record that makes you rethink how pop works. Shame on the rap game when it lets Ty stay underground. This man’s a star” – Bang
“Upwards is exactly what it says – uplifting” – Ice
“Ty heralds a whole new landscape in urban sound” – Touch
“Ty’s got a voice that it’s difficult to get sick of” – Hot Press

PRESS FOR “UPWARDS”
“Both reflective and exceedingly honest… not a lifestyle album, but one about life, love and friendship” – The Voice
“Lyrically he is light yeers ahead of most of his peers, and the prodcution is a technicolour fusion of electronic and organic elements.” – Music Week
“A genuine wise man of rap” – DJ
“Rare groove, ragga, soul, UK garage and straight up rap collide on this very British, very good hip hop album. Ty’s aimed for the stars and he’s hit the sun. Dope, geez.” – Loaded
“Instantly accessible, endlessly rewarding and absolutely essential” – BBC DNA Collective
“Hip hop without any overblown ego telling you how it is. It’s refreshing to hear an artist whose main preoccupation is not telling you how much they have and how they deserve it more than you do” – Future Music
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2004
I saw Ty live in Regents Park yesterday, he played a lot of stuff from this album. Even better was the fact there was a live band doing the beats. I have listened to pretty much the whole album now and I'd say its definately a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2003
Ty's album, Upwards, is a pleasant change to other rap as it blends an array of different types of music into one cd. As well as this the lyrics are strong, funny, fluent and not to mention orignal. Instead of the gangster approach of most hiphop artist Ty remains strong to his roots and his own style. He has also included little bits about England that you can relate to, unlike other British artists who have a tendancy to relate more to America. The beats are strong with touchs of every type of music such as soul, funk and jazz which spice up the album giving it a strong and distinct flavor. The thing that I like most about the album is you can sit back and listen to it from begining to end with out skipping a track. A great album well worth buying...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2003
Taking the experiences and music in his environment Ty has created an album which has a truly unique style and takes Hip Hop on to another level. Its got a distincly "UK" flavour and it tastes damn fine!. 'Wait a Minute' , 'Groovement' and 'The Willing' stand out and show off Ty's superior steez and musical abilities! The message and the melody in 'Rain' hurts oh so sweetly - an all time classic! and This album is "fresh" , funny , uplifting, positive and stinks of funk!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)