Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2014
Words fail me, to even utter them after hearing this! I have heard Greek Orthodox music in various Churches that are very, very emotive (given the right atmosphere). However, the ethereal atmospheres created by this music, can 'elevate' you in the depths of yourself, given a bit of time to get used to the surrealistic tonalities.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This CD is an exquisite selection of beautifully performed and recorded compositions by John Tavener.
His music is inspiring. Choral music as well as instrumental features, with a particularly glorious use of the cello, played by Steven Isserlis for whom it was actually written.
Fantastic value for money....................just buy it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
What a sad loss to the world was John Tavener. There is much to love in his music, though there are some 'screeches' I'd rather edit out.

This collection is excellent and I am happy to have his music played by different people and here a range of interpretations.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
I wanted to be introduced to Tavener's work ,and to be honest I think I would be better listening to a complete work rather than these selected pieces.However the reproduction was fine,clear and crisp.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This CD is just beautiful. If you need time on your own to reflect on life just put your feet up and listen to this.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
Excellent recording - but I prefer the version of 'Song for Athene' which uses the organ too- - that's on 'The John Taverner Collection' - it's more atmospheric.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 January 2014
Underrated composer and died far too early. His song for Athena at Diana's funeral is just mind boggling and moving.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2015
I recently heard a Tavener piece of music and it really gripped me, particularly the slight dis-chords he introduces. Probably not an album to listen to in one go as it can get a little repetitive. However haunting choral music which is very emotional. Good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This was a wonderful CD. The music on it was perfectly performed and most moving. It holds one in a stillness that empties the mind and fills the soul. A staggering achievement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2016
I found the changes in volume throughout the recording annoying
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)