Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 June 2004
My anticipation for this album was not mis-spent! Although I have been a fan of this band for many years, never have I been so happy with the results of what the band have been able to produce here. Each track demonstrates how far this band have evolved: Having taken more laid-back approach which at first may deter some of their fans from the heydays of the Brit-Pop era, underneath they are the same band with intelligent and thought provoking lyrics, smooth as silk vocals and the odd kick-ass moment that sends that shiver down your spine. . .
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 September 2004
Echobelly's last album "People are Expensive" marked a move towards a more delicate sound, different from their early, so-called "Brit-pop" image. With "Gravity Pulls", they have moved a step further, crafting a gentle, melodic album focusing on spiritual rather than global issues.
It's a shame that people feel the need to compare the band's early work with their recent output and "choose a side". For me, both styles are just as good, and it's the music coupled with Sonya's beautiful voice and knack with a lyric that makes the band so memorable. The title track is one of the most beautiful songs they have ever produced, hypnotic and lilting. For me it conjures up images of lying in the back of an open-top car, looking up at the blue sky. The lyrics on this song are especially lovely ("Satellites fall away every time I close my eyes..."), and like much of the album seem deceptively simple at first.
Other highlights are the lovely "Djinn" and the delicate, piano-led "Strangely Drawn". The album closes with the spooky, "All Tomorrow Brings". If this album was produced by a new band it would make people sit up and notice - sadly Echobelly's "britpop" tag seems to prevent them from getting the audience they deserve.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2004
It's a shame that press lost interest in Echobelly and that most people either think they don't play anymore or they're only reminded as one of the so many britpop bands.
After the album "Lustra", the music of Echobelly took a different direction.
The new album, "Gravity Pulls" is the album of maturity, of serenity. Produced by Ian Grimble (Travis), it shows the best songs Echobelly have ever written. The voice of Sonya is pure, clear and it melts perfectly with the ethereal guitars and light programming. Some songs are hypnotic (Big Sky Mind, Djinn, Gravity Pulls) and others are perfect pop songs (You started a fire..., To get me thru the good times).
A beautiful and mind-blowing album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2004
That is how highly I rate this album! I find it hard to choose my favourite Echobelly album-either this or everyone's got one. Both are brilliant albums.
Music isn't as good today as it was during the Britpop period. It has gotten very bland and dull. Thank god Echobelly are still making classic albums.
Without doubt best album since the Millenium and of all time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
I have been a fan of Echobelly since 1994, my favourite album being the debut. This album is of a completely different style to what the band were doing in the mid-90's, less bouncy and more dreamy. However, what remains is still a class band who are simply changing their style a bit..what all good bands do when they've been around a while, surely? This album has some of the most beautiful songs the band have recorded in their career ("To get me through the good times", and the amazing "Strangely drawn"), and some brilliant hooks ("You started a fire...", "One in a million"), and i think that anyone who buys this with an open mind will really enjoy it. I highly recommend this album.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2007
Echobelly have been on such an amazing musical and spiritual journey since their first release. This album, their 5th displays a soundscape which is multi dimensional. As previously stated, it is dreamy, spiritual and melodically soothing. Sonya's voice is as beautiful as ever - I'm yet to hear a voice as seductively beautiful, yet vulnerable. It envelopes you and sonically caresses you. Glenn's guitar is as powerful as ever - the power chords are still there but more gentle these days. Standout tracks;
Gravity Pulls
To Get Me Thru The Good Times
A Good Day
What You Deserve
All Tomorrow Brings

If you are unfamiliar with the work of Echobelly, give this a try. I personally prefer the first two albums, where the sound was rockier and angrier, but i do love aspects of their latter albums as well. This is certainly recommended !!!! I just wish the British media could champion their cause more, as they certainly deserve it !!

Rating = 4/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2007
Stumbled across this recently unaware that Echobelly had released anything since the 90's. This in my opinion is their best yet and it puzzles me why the band aren't given more publicity when you compare it to the trash we have to put up with nowadays! If your a fan of the bands older stuff give this album a try you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
With all the nonsense when it came to music in 2004....the long forgotten Echobelly who found their major success in 1996, put out an album on their own independent label that was completely ignored by everyone except long time listeners.

The fact their last two records didn't do much didn't help, so they really were relying on their first two albums to bring this one to attention.

Its a good album, it may even be their best, there is a mix of all of Echobellys sounds across their first 4 albums here as well as more relaxed but focused at the same time, song writing.

It isn't really like their first two though, if you are thinking "loud guitar driven songs" but this album is very good, ridiculously overlooked it should of been much more popular, and I am glad they put it out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Better than their best of compilation for sure. Tracks like strangely drawn are beautiful simple songs, sure they may not be as well known as other bands of the time but i really rate this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2004
This is the first Echobelly CD that I have not enjoyed.It is an over-produced, multi-layered`wall of sound`(without Phil Spectors `touch`).Most of the tracks are very samey and mundane,with few highs to enliven proceedings,and the backing is uniformly boring and unappealing.Only "Big Sky Mind" shows initial promise,but it soon goes nowhere."A Good Day"does at least remind me of the old Echobelly.I`m sorry, but the material on this CD is a waste of a `voice` and proven ability.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)