Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
45
4.1 out of 5 stars
Intermission [DVD] [2003]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 August 2017
If you need to set aside any offence you may take at strong language or moments of uncompromising nastiness, please do and you'll find this a true feast of comedy, dark as it is. Mark O'Rowe's screenplay has a simple scenario at its heart - John and Deirdre's "intermission" from their relationship - but the end of the break comes about through a colourful collection of characters who become connected in a series of suitably bizarre coincidences and fateful complications. Colin Farrell is the disturbingly convincing angry crim with a penchant for domestic gadgets for a "normal" future he's going the wrong way about achieving (watch to the very end to hear him sing "I Fought the Law" - great voice); Colm Meaney plays the cop with a penchant for Celtic mysticism who acts as if he's in a Scorsese movie; add to these the force of mischief in the shape of a wee toerag with a red jacket, and various oddities to do with brown sauce, some unwanted facial hair and a masked heist which goes wrong (though it does allow for a long, mesmerising take on the Murphy blue eyes in the passenger seat of the getaway car!) and we can enjoy a wonderfully absurd view of all the things people do to dress up their mundane lives, and in John's case their clumsiness in trying to undo mistakes, but, as Shirley Henderson's Sally says, "you've got to persevere" and we're happy for the intermission to end well. I loved the documentary style of filming at times (all in keeping with the title and narrative) and the A-list Irish actors performing in their natural accents, and while the comedy of this movie is a bit of a guilty pleasure, surely it makes the case for the need for such humour in our mundane lives!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
‘Intermission’ is one of those films that should have been huge and yet somehow never really achieved its true potential. Many people call it ‘the Irish Trainspotting’ and I can sort of see where they’re coming from. However, it’s not quite as bleak as Trainspotting, relying more on everyday folk and the relationship troubles they get into. Plus the odd armed robbery thrown in there for good measure.

When I sat my girlfriend down and made her watch it, she said that it was good, but could have been better if it was a little more focused. I guess that’s fair criticism. It is a little all over the place here and there. It relies on numerous characters and storylines, all coming together in the end. And, like any story with multiple characters, not all get the screen time they deserve to fully flesh them out. You have your stars like Cillian Murphy and Kelly MacDonald leading the way (and Colin Farrell is kind of there as a marketing ploy as he’s featured heavily in the film’s marketing, yet only really appears in the form of an extended cameo – not to say he isn’t fun and evil all at the same time!).

Intermission isn’t a family film. It’s comedy as its blackest. All the humour is derived from ‘adult’ situations and there are plenty of scenes that you wouldn’t want to watch with your mother. I think it’s definitely an underrated little gem. Yes, it has a few flaws, but all its jokes seemed to hit their targets where I was concerned and I’ll continue to sit everyone I know down and force them to watch it for many years to come.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2004
I rate this movie up with the likes of the Commitments and the Snapper or The Van.....however its a bit sharper than all of those. The sheer wit of it propels it as my favourite film of 2003. Its a must see for those with a dry sense of humour. Brilliant.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2004
This film was a little hard to get into as it had several story lines going on at once. However everything became clear when they all merged together. Classic Irish film with all the colourful language you would expect from the gritty working class people the film portrayed. I have Irish roots and I feel the film was an accurate and non stereotypical view. Well worth a view ****
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Everybody want to find his way - the film is all about it.
It was a little bit hard to understand, mainly Colin Farrel (English is a learned language is for me) but it 's OK with subtitles.
S. Henderson is so great and I was weeping during the last scene between K. MacDonald and C. Murphy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2004
When i first heard about Intermission i did not think it would be my kind of film. However when i watched the film i was pleasantly suprised. The film is about several different people, showing their stories and they all entwine with one anothers. It is a funny film, but also involves love, romance, heartache, violence and A LOT of swearing. There is a very good cast within the film, making it worthwhile to see. However it does have bad language used throughtout the film, if this isn't your thing i wouldn't advise it. Otherwise a definite must see!!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2006
Just watched this film. Brilliant. If u want a laugh from a film and ur not squemish buy this. I dont know where these negative reviewers have came from, u shouldnt buy this film if you dont like a laugh with plenty of humour thrown in! i just sent about 10 text messages after id watched this to let my friends know about this film.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2004
I loved this film. As a Dubliner born and bred, but now living in the UK, it was great to see real Dublin people portrayed on screen, warts and all. And, for a change, Southside Dubliners (my side of the city). Made me feel homesick, the accents were mainly authentic, its nice to hear people speak with the same accent as yourself. However, if bad language bothers you (it doesn't bother me in the least)then this film might not be for you. Me, I thought it was brilliant. 5 stars!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2004
An interesting little movie that takes place in the days spanning acouple's 'Intermission' or breakup. Collin Farrell, Cillian Murphy andColm Meaney do wonderful jobs in their respective roles. I wouldrecommend this film to all Farrell fans and all foreign film buffs.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2006
Set in real & gritty part of dublin, where you won't find many green fields and fiddlers. You'll know within 5 mins whether you will like this film or not. The film is about the lives of several dubliners who come together as part of a daring bank heist. The humour is dark and witty, and language is course. If your expecting Irish 'Craic' you will be dissappointed, but if your looking for a black comedy, with a few OhMyGod moments, then this is the film for you! Colin farrell's best role, but Colm Meaney steals the show.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)