Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
34
4.1 out of 5 stars
History Of Football The Beautiful Game [2002] [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 October 2016
THOUGHTFUL..TICK..EARNEST..TICK..A GOOD EFFORT BUT A BIT BEHIND THE TIMES..COULD HAVE DONE WITH MORE MEAT AND DEEPER ANALYSIS THAN A PO FACED RETELLING OF THE HEADLINES. STILL..ITS A SOLID START FOR AVID STUDY OF OUR BEAUTIFUL GAME OVER THE AGES. PROPS TO ZAIRE..HONDURAS AND EL SALVADOR FOR SUCH FULL ON 1970's DEDICATION TO CALCIO. I GREW UP AS A BOY ON THE BUBBLEGUM CARDS FROM THE 1982 WORLD CUP; THE PARTICIPANTS THEN APPEAR TO BE MORE DIVERSE THAN TODAY. MORE ON HAITI- ANOTHER GREAT WORLD CUP STORY- AND WEST AFRICA- THE REAL POWERHOUSE OF THE GAME TODAY IN TERMS OF EXPORTING PLAYERS- WOULD HAVE BEEN BE NICE.
AT LAST THE STORY OF THE BEAUTIFUL GAME IS NOT THE OVER REHASHED CLAIMS OF THE TWO-TIME SEVENTIES FINALIST NATION THAT FAILED TO WIN THE WORLD CUP.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
My boyfriend loved it!!! He has been watching it over and over. Awesome footage of historical matches!! Best gift ever
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2010
Ironically, there is so much to see here that I struggle to find the time to watch it! From what I have seen thus far I can tell that i'll be engrossed in every minute of it. I think the football purist will enjoy this video the most; If you're after a quick-fire compilation of tricks and skills then go to Youtube. As for me I am a lover oh history and sagas, seeing what an impact the beautiful game has had on people, and the impact that people have had on the game itself.

Highly recommended for all football fabatics!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2004
We have all heard this criticism of the beautiful game from those who refuse to appreciate the subtly of the skill and that decibel defying silence when the ball hits the net.
As a game football has ignored language barriers, geographical distance and political opposition & hindrance.
This 7 disc box set covers every possible moment of the games history - from being a spiritual past time in china to rules being drafted by English public schools via worldwide cultural revolution.
A perfect package which gives a better understanding to where the game has come from and acts as a platform for where it might evolve to in the future.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
It is interesting but not very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
looking for a xmas gift for my uncle, who loves sports, footie in particular. this looks like something he will love. arrived promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
Good quality but got bored watching it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2017
Present for a football fanatic. I'm sure it was total junk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
It was my mistake as I know overseas soccer is called football but what a drag to receive the wrong sport to give as a Christmas gift. Alas, still looking for the History of FOOTBALL...
44 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Good present for a footy enthusiast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)