Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
30
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 September 2017
you can under stand the streets of some people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
Classic dvd at a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Amazing quality. Perfect in every way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2017
I didn't realise this was for America...Can't be watched over here. My own fault I guess, I had no idea there was a difference!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2004
"Above the Rim" is an entertaining street drama that focuses around Kyle Lee Watson, an inner-city high school basketball player who shows a lot of promise but lets his own arrogance get the best of him. He won't listen to anybody who offers him advice on how to improve his game, as he thinks that he is the best player ever. He's been hoping that his mad skills are catching a college scout's attention, but he does catch Birdie's eyes when he plays. Birdie is a well known gang leader who offers Kyle the good life so long as he plays on his neighborhood team in a "Shoot-Out" basketball contest that means the world to him. Kyle--being impatient as ever--agrees to join, not seeing the clear danger that is in front of him. A high school security guard with a past knows the danger that Birdie presents, and he is the only who has a chance to get through to Kyle before it is too late.
Not only is this a very good basketball movie, but it is also an intense and character-driven drama centered around the choices that we make in life... and how we have to live with them in the long run. The film has some great performances from Duane Martin, Marlon Wayans and the late Tupac Shakur. Even though everybody is great in their roles, the showstopper is indeed Shakur. He gives a very masterful performance that really sticks out and will stay with you long after the movie is over. My only complaint is the length of the movie. It's true that a movie that runs a little over an hour and a half isn't short, but I think the story and the characters open more possibilities to add on to the movie. I think more opportunities and risks could have been taken to further enrich the story. Still, it is a really good movie that didn't disappoint me.
I really enjoyed "Above the Rim." It may not be flawless, but it definitely does more right than wrong. The characters are what really dominate the movie. Even if you're not a fan of the game, it's still something to check out if you're a fan of character drama. Exciting, intense, conflict-driven and full of heart, "Above the Rim" is a very well done film. -Michael Crane
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2000
This film shows the struggle of a talented kid in a poor community between the seductive lifestyle of drugs, women and fast quick buck$, and the perhaps slower life of college, family and doing whats right.
Tupac has good performance as the villain drug-dealer while Duane Martins is excellent as the aspiring young basketball star.
Perhaps the Soundtrack is more concentrated on than the story line, but this doesn't disappoint and the film comes to a great climax, aided by the music.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2000
A very good film and the action is excellent. Tupac is Tupac, and is excellent. Duane Martin is an excellent player and Marlon Wayans is also good. An essential video for any basketball fan. Soundtrack goes well with the film...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Amazing film, I'm a big fan of basketball movies and this one here with tupac has to be one of the best ones out there right next to coach cater and hurricane catrina!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2000
I can't remember when I have watched a film that was this good. Tupac's performance is fantastic, Marlon Wyans does what he does and Leon put in the best performance of the film. Duane Martin takes the lead role very well in what is a truly superb story about a young basketball star trying to make it to the top. He learns that the easy route offered by Tupac isn't always the best one. I never tire of watching this film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2015
It's an amazing film very interested from beginning to end. Tupac was astonishing with yet another film performance. Best basketball film ever made
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)