Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
54
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.12+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2015
First of all, a few details about the article (Dutch edition) since at least a previous purchaser was confused. The item I received is a single dvd. There are two parts in it: Treason (Clémence Poésy plays Mary Stuart) and Plot (Robert Carlyle plays James I). Each is 1h45 long. Poésy only appears in Part One, and Carlyle only appears in Part Two. You have to place the cursor on Plot to watch the second part, which might have led to the confusion. And as the texts are in Dutch, this might not be clear.

Part 1 tells the story of Mary Stuart. This story has been told in film before (notably in the classic film with Vanessa Redgrave in the leading role) so there is not much that is new and this rendition could be called "a remake". But Clémence Poésy is so strikingly beautiful but no red-blooded male can but enjoy the film. Her mixed French-Scottish accent is delightful .. and it is not impossible that Mary Stuart, who lived for many years at the French court, might have spoken like this ;-) ... So, great Part 1.

Part 2 deals with James I and The Gunpowder Plot. The Gunpowder Plot is not that central, although it plays an important part ... Instead, the film focuses on how horrible James was as a human being. Physically repulsive, and morally even more so. Fun to watch but a bit too much gore for my liking. Michael Fassbender has a bit part as Guy Fawkes, who is a secondary character and does not speak many lines.

I am not an expert on the period, so cannot judge how historically accurate these two films are, but they are certainly superb entertainment. I think they take a great deal of "artistic liberties" and the characters are black and white: Mary is the perfect heroine, James is the perfect villain. But their intention seems to be to entertain, not to respect historical accuracy.

I take one Star off because the title is misleading. One would expect a film about the Gunpowder Plot. The Gunpowder Plot features only on Part 2 and is only one of its two focuses (the other is Carlyle showing James I as "bad boy, bad boy, bad boy"). And I would not say that Part 1 and Part 2 go together. They are totally separate films, with different casts, and should not have been grouped together as a "series".

All this said, both are great fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Good mini series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
got it today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Exerllant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
i recommend this dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
I like it very much...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Gunpowder, Treason And Plot is a TV mini series. The first half looks at the life of Mary Queen of Scots. We all know the tragic ending - but the rest of the story of her life is well told. There are some massive historical mistakes (?). But all in all well worth watching.

As for the second half the life of King James 1st, not that good. But I have enjoyed this DVD as a good story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2009
Was cheaper to buy this to see Tipping the Velvet than if I had bought just Tipping the velvet on its own.

Tipping the velvet 10/10
Gunpowder, treason and plot 6/10
Franenstein 6/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2005
This production provides viewers with a chance to see historical figures such as Mary Queen of Scots and James I, whom are not featured in many, if any previous films.
The history has been tweaked here and there, as history mostly is when it's adapted on film, but the fundamental story and attitudes of the various characters and plots are easy to follow and make very intriguing viewing.
The cast for the most part are excellent, especially Robert Carlyle as King James I; the one slightly dodgy acting work coming from the actress playing Mary Queen Of Scots, and it's perhaps her performance that leaves the viewer feeling as though it *could* have been better. The sets and costumes are fantastic and up to the BBC's usual high standards.
The DVD is very basic, allowing you to view chapters or which episode you want to see, but not offering any extras.
Overall it's a very watchable and interesting mini-series and I'd recommend it to fans of BBC costume dramas or historical pieces as long as you aren't too picky about the facts!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2005
Despite the rampant insincerity to historical accuracy this is enjoyable, well acted and well written. Clemence Poesy as Mary Queen of Scots is particularly good, and it is her story, making up the first half of dvd, that is the best. She makes a very arresting leading lady. Robert Carlyle as James I is convincingly nauseous. He really is believeable as the creepy, unpleasant king. Kevin McKidd is the other notable standout as the Earl of Bothwell; rough lust at its most believeable.
If you can overlook the annoying historical inaccuracy and appreciate this as well acted, well written drama then much fun will be had from this dvd.
0Comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)