Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.2 out of 5 stars
33
3.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.92+ £2.03 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 December 2004
To anyone expecting a resurection of the N64 great, I'm afraid you're going to be disappointed with EA's latest offering. Simple as that. But anyone with an open-mind willing to invest a few hours in completing the first few levels of G:RA will be amazed at the return of some of the greatest venues/characters in the bond series.
Okay the winning components may be looped together with some piecemeal and average at best cutscenes but this is more than compensated for by the intense gameplay. Without taking out too much of the surprise, EA have introduced some great enhancements to their bond formula such as the 'Goldeneye' artificial eye, which enables you to see enemies through surfaces (yes very farsight in Perfect Dark!) and deflect enemy bullets and the very sexy weapon handling scheme.
The weapon handling has been made more realistic, as the player can only handle a weapon in each hand or one BFG. This can be frustating at first but the satisfaction of offing enemy troops with both a sawn-off shotgun and machinegun is second to none.
So all in all the game is a winner but like most classic albums will take a couple of plays to really get into. Oh yeah multiplayer is worth 40 notes alone!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2004
I (foolishly) bought this game from a supermarket before reading the reviews on Amazon; when I did check the reviews my heart sank. However, whilst some of the criticisms (ie, those made in the Amazon review) are entirely valid, I still rate this game pretty highly.
Whilst it's nowhere near as ground breaking as the beloved N64 game (of which I am a fanatical fan), it's still a lot of fun. It's smooth to play; the graphics are as good as any I have seen on the PS2; generally it is a very satisfying killfest. The controls - if you change the system from "Precision" to "Classic" - are pleasingly similar to the N64 game. The engine isn't as good, but then which game, apart from "Perfect Dark", does come close? Not many I've played.
And therein lies the key: if you're expecting "proper" Goldeneye, you will be disappointed; but this is the PS2, not the N64, and this game compares well to the likes of Medal Of Honour, I reckon. The "story" is indeed a right load of old nonsense, the multiplayer levels ARE sprawling (and the lack of a radar is a real pain), and the absence of online capability is unforgivable - but 4 player split screen is still a blast.
All in all, as long as you don't have hopes which are too high, this is a great game, a really enjoyable shoot 'em up. I've only played it on easy level and even then it's quite challenging. If the lack of online business puts you off, wait till it comes out on Platinum or buy it 2nd hand. I'm a veteran gamer and I like it - JUST DON'T EXPECT IT TO CHANGE YOUR LIFE LIKE "GOLDENEYE" DID!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2004
There was always alot of talk about this game and an unfortunate amount of hype, reminding me a little of what happened to DRIV3R. From what it was describing itself to be it had a lot to live up to but then again, GTA:San Andreas did the same and turned out exactly what it promised. Do not think that this is the case here, it does for FPS what driv3r did for driving/action games, in other words its very bad.
There is little innovative gameplay and the AI are quite stupid. The feature of being able to trap enemies soon becomes repetitive. The graphics are nowhere near as good as they were meant to be and it has brought great shame upon the original game.
It feels a very rushed game, trying desperately to get it into the shops before christmas. 007:Everything or nothing is in my opinion the best bond game, although it is not a FPS, it is innovative and graphically brilliant. If you are thinking to yourself that its just one persons opinion, i might like it, then thats fine but i do advise strongley that you rent it first before you regret buying it. Killzone has alot more to offer on this front and does it without shame and with style.
Overall i think more thought and more time would have been critical in how this game turned out, it is a pity that they felt that christmas would save this game, obviously they have not had a look at the competition this year. I didnt have anytime to actually save bond at the beginning because he fell almost instantly but if i could have saved him i would have done just so they could make another decent 007 game, hopefully where Bond finishes off Goldeneye once and for all and puts us all out of our misery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2005
I first inserted the Rogue Agent disc into my PS2 a week ago, and although I've been playing it on and off ever since, I'm really not impressed. Really and truly it's just a shoot 'em up/ Platformer. Having been a big fan of the last Bond installment 'Everything or Nothing' I was waiting with baited breath and itching thumbs to get my mits on what I assumed was the next installment.
How wrong could i have been. Where 'Everything or Nothing' required strategy, skill and speed... Rogue Agent requires the user to have the ability to button bash R1 and L1 buttons.
Not a bad game to pass the time; if it's raining, you've completed every other game in your collection and the TV's rubbish, but lets hope the next time the powers that be decide to stick the 007 tag in a game lets hope it deserves the stamp.. Rogue agent doesn't!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Got this and I was hoping that it be good however it's a dissapointing game after all first who you are on this lousy for nothing game is the bad guy which you are killing like henchman's on the way to kill Bond yourself and seeling the likes of Goldfinger & Oddjob on your travels they try to really help you to.

In the gameplay itself is repetion shooting men after men on each other, level you go to the levels have some nice puzzle like shoot a lock off a door or on a floor to open door or you get some strange powers that you need to do on some levels.

As the whole game letting you're life recover is another bad idea why?
Well because Bond games had armour, did they not?
And had no life recover just look at the Goldeneye on N64 that had everything on it to make it a decent game!

Don't waste your money on this shambles game like I did
you will hate everything about it and the annolying storyline to this game
is utter crap too they is only one decent level in it that makes it a
Bond game and that is the first level Fort Knox all other levels are
random not even in the other Bond movies or games.

The only thing I liked is the fun multiplayer shooting your friends all night was pretty fun. So just rent it as you be bored doing the storymode 24/7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2005
I can tell you that although people say that it is not very good, and that there is no depth and it isn't anything like GoldenEye for the N64. It is not trying to be GoldenEye. It is a different game, and it is not a Bond game. Taking this into account, the double weapons idea is very good and the multiplayer is excellent. the unlocks are very good, but the Art-Packs are a waste of time. The single player is not varied, but then that is because its not a Bond game it is straightforward shoot-em-up. Overall I find this game a very good one, with amazingly clever AI, very varied weaponry, and decent multiplayer, even if, for some reason, it is not online in the UK. Overall i would ive this game 8 out of 10.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2008
This is a very good game. This is very hard.But otherwise this is realy fun!!!!!!!The thing I like the most is that you can fire 2 guns at the same time. This casino level is very hard. The bit where you have to get all the volts and where you have to destroy doctor no's aircraft is so so hard I only just completed it. The bit where you have to destroy the normal aircraft is hard. The hardest levels are hong kong and the casino level. The fantastic thing is how fun it is. I recommend you buy this great game. Child wrote this review.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2004
This game is an arcade shooter with no story line or any other angle to it. Made down to a price and in time for Christmas rather than up to a standard.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2007
love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!love it!
this is a cool game you cannot put it in words! for james bonds sake! buy it the best bit i think is that you can watch james bond fall with a helecopter landing on him but thats not the point its so much fun its just as good as from russia with love its heroic and i feel even today with the ps3 and x box 360 it is the best of the best of the best! its cool and GODLIKE! the god of all 1st person shooters.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2005
Golden eye is amazing! The graphics are brilliant, the game play is quick to pick up. The missions are brilliant even if the do go on for 45mins to complete it. It does have its down side thought, like on splitscreen mode u can only play 1v1. Insted of playing p1 and p2 v the computer, which is a bit disopointing.
Overall a good and fun game to play (even if u cant be james bond)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)