Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop now New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
349
4.2 out of 5 stars
Colour: Multi|Change
Price:£12.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2004
It's strange, all the things we consider unimportant. After all, isn't a torch a torch?
This one is so simple yet so robust and functional. Very tough and turned on/off and focused by rotating the lens end of the unit. The batteries last well due to the small yet bright-for- the-size bulb (spare included in end cap). In addition to focusing, the torch features a 'candle mode': unscrew the lens end completely, turn it glass downwards and insert the base of the torch into it -- and the exposed bulb gives a small but reasonable general lighting effect. Probably also quite good for candle-lit suppers in a mobile home/caravan, not that I've ever tried it.
Bearing in mind that this is a rather small torch working on two small batteries (i.e. not a floodlight), it is a reliable friend whose simple yet impressive functionality is elegance itself. If you're looking for something small to keep on your person, or stow in a car or caravan, or indeed use as a small inspection torch thanks to the adjustable focus, you'll be delighted. It's a pleasure to use, and it's surprising that there's so much good to find in a mere little torch.
Also makes a great business gift!
11 Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
I bought one of these twenty years ago, and I am surprised they are still on sale when LED torches are so much better. Its maximum light level is 2.3 lumens, whereas modern competitors do 80+ lumens, also on one AAA battery, such as
 ThruNite Ti 2 Flashlight, Cree XP-G2 LED, 81 lumen, OP reflector, Waterproof to IPX-8(blue)
I used it for years but when the bulb blew yet again (it has replaceable bulbs, whereas LEDs just keep on going) I threw it away and treated myself to something better. The Thrunite linked above also has a low power mode that is brighter than the Maglite and runs for about ten times as long. It is a similar price, smaller, more waterproof, and thirty times as much light comes out on full power. There are plenty of cheaper and tinier alternatives too if you're not wedded to the AAA battery. Your mobile phone might put out more light than this too!

Incandescent lightbulbs in this day and age: just say no.
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2008
I bought one of these along with its bigger brother the 2D Torch. It comes nowhere the larger version in performance but it's not meant to. If you need a torch to attach to your keys or bag then this torch is for you. Ideal for close work and is very durable, it even comes with a battery and keyring attachment!
I would prefer a switch on the body rather than the twist action on the lens. Otherwise it is hard to fault. You may find you'll be so impressed with the quality you will want the bigger torch for the house!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2005
I thought oh oh when seeing how small and portable it was but then tested it out and discovered its better than 3 other torches i have bought and used that were bigger and with on/off rubbish switches that kept turning themselves on while in your pocket.This one here is impressive in contrast to them and only needs one battery at a time.Very good.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
No point writing a long review, it is overpriced and underpowered.

A mobile phone torch app will output more light then this feeble attempt at a torch, Manufacturer should have used a LED optic at the very least I mean the cost is peanuts.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
Very good light as you would expect from Maglite. I bought from them as they are a very well known company for making good sturdy torches. I was not disappointed. Shockproof and waterproof and not a bad light source from something so small. Good for finding keyholes or navigating abit of unlit street or even going for walks (althought a bigger torch would be more suited).
It is perfect for putting on your keyring like I have with mine so you always have it to hand. Comes with a nice little box and a spare bulb in the other end of the torch. Would definitely recommend.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2010
Bought this little torch to wear on a lanyard around my neck when camping, hiking, etc. I've been using it for over a year now. This is a robust item that throws a beam of light which can be altered by simply twisting the bezel. However, the quality of the light source is very poor compared with other similar products on the market for under a tenner (LED's are so much better). The beam is a dull yellow/orange colour and very disappointing compared with more modern technology. I have £1.00 keyring lights which are much brighter and give a more useful 'white' light. Plus, battery life is poor. Comes with small lanyard and decent quality AAA battery and a very durable case. Comes with a nice little presentation case which is attractive if you're considerng offering it as a gift to someone. Given poor light quality I would not buy this item again and can see this product becoming redundant in very near future due to better quality products for similar price. Despite this, it is still a useful accessory to have as it has a multitude of uses around the house and also outdoors. Better than nothing but poor value for money nowadays.
22 Comments| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2012
I got a lot of use out of this little torch, because finding the right key/keyhole any light is good! However, I expected a lot better from Maglite.

Style:
Love the Style. Really nice design, simple operation. Its not much bigger than the AAA battery it contains.

Build:
The build quality is the best "feature" of the light. Mine was excellent. It did feel like it would last forever. Can't fault it.

Finish:
Maglite opted for level 2 annodisation (rather than level 3) so the surface scratches when in a pocket with keys. I recommend getting the silver colour as the silver doesn't show this up as badly.

Light:
This is what lets it down, and the reason I gave it such a low score (it is the reason you buy it!). The light is terrible. Maglite still haven't moved away from incandescent bulbs! In the world of LEDs, this is pretty pathetic. I got a £5 set of aluminium lights from the petrol station, and although terrible build quality the AAA light in the set was about 100x brighter - as it has an LED bulb. Even the tiny watch battery lights that came with the set were at least 10x brighter! The only advantage is that its a natural (yellow) light rather than blue/purple/white of cheaper LEDs. The brightness is just awful. You can use it to pick the right key and get it the right way up in a lock 2 feet away from your face, but don't hope to find your footing in the dark or find something in a dark room - its just too dim. Check out some photos of the beam in a comparison of AAA lights [...]l - search for "maglite" to get to the right section). You can see how bad it is compared to the competition!

Battery life:
As it has an incandescent bulb the batteries don't last that long. Mine ran out in about 2 months of light use. Considering LEDs with much brighter lights can last a lot longer its very short.

Conclusion:
Its such a let down. For a similar price you can get something like the Fenix E01 that has level 3 annodisation and a decent LED lght. For much less you can get a better, no-brand LED light from a petrol station or supermarket. Even the tiny watch-battery lights you can get for £1 will be brighter and probably last longer due to using an LED.
33 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
It's a genuine Maglite Solitaire AAA in a display box, with a duracell battery, key ring and the standard Maglite warranty, for half the price you would expect to pay for an identical product in the shops. The grey colour is quite stylish too, a kind of dark silver - I'd describe it as 'gun-metal' grey.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
I bought this in 1998 and the bulb has only just run out! in January 2013...

find another torch where you can say that! these a built to last! I can make a single battery last months of quite frequent use. The torch is very small but great to put on your keyring and it's been a very reliable friend since 98'
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here