Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
174
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 9 August 2015
Capturing a significant change in the life cycle of Slipknot this is a thunderous album worthy of your collection. But if you're reading this review you know this already. Instead what can I say... This LP comes on two discs and is a limited RSD release. It is on a clear vinyl and looks stunning on the record player. It also has a beautiful gatefold and the inner sleeves on each disc are in full colour photo montage pockets.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2004
You'll either like Vol. 3, or you won't. It is as simple as that. If what you like about Slipknot, is its hate fuelled aggression, packed with swearing, and shocking lyrics, Vol. 3 is not for you. "Slipknot" and "Iowa" would be your better choice, but Vol. 3 is the new and improved Slipknot. It hides away from the typical nu-metal scene that floods our TV screens. With suprisingly good use of melody, and song structure, and even decent guitar solos, at last! This is what "modern heavy metal" (as metal-mutha from Edinburgh's review, well classified it) should sound like. Definate reflections of Stone Sour, it was like listening to Stone Sour's next album. Though you Murderdolls fans won't find any "Love At First Fright" on Vol. 3. The help of a legendery producer Rick Rubin has saved Slipknot, and many other bands. Slipknot HAVE NOT sold out. Rick now to save Metallica please!!!
gmcourtney2k2 from South Wales review well describes each of the tracks, if you are looking for description on each of the tracks. By the way if you are confused, yes "Don't Get Close" isn't on Vol. 3.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
A Classic Album from this group and a must have.

Great songs and really great to listen to.

I recommend this to anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2004
Slipknot have gone 3-dimensional at last. This album is not just the album of the year - it's the album of your LIFE.
I firmly believe that critics and future musicians alike will be discussing this album 30 years from now. 'Volume 3' is the 'Dark Side of the Moon' for the Maggot generation.
Volume 3 is an eloquent concoction of downright brutality and mellow, moody pieces which hint beautifully at the vulnerable, aching vocal expression of which Corey Taylor is so obviously capable. Vascillating between sweetness and menace, Slipkot fastens your seatbelt and takes you on the ride of you life weather you wanted to be there or not. They will not be ignored.
Hardcore Maggots will be reassured by the merciless, driving pace of song like 'The Blister Exists' 'Three Nil' and 'Welcome'.
However, what is striking about this album is its willingness to explore unfamiliar territory, thanks in part to the influence of producer Rick Rubin and his uncanny knack of enticing artists to stretch out of their comfort zone and produce something truly astounding.
A beautiful example of Slipknots' new-found confidence is in the heart-breaking masterpieces 'Circles' and 'Vermillion Part 2'. The latter being a stripped down acoustic guitar and vocal arrangement that allows us behind the masks to the more delicate aspects of their musical prowess.
As a guitarist I am glad that Jim Root and Mick Thomson have been allowed to 'Take the bit between their teeth' and express themselves fully. These two guys aren't your average black-clad axe men, they're far more gifted than that and at last the world knows it.
So, there's something for everyone here. Shred and screaming for the kids and beautiful melodies and stellar musicianship for the more discerning listener.
The Iowa nine have grown up. Expect them to keep growing for many years to come.
Embrace the change or bail out now - apathy is NOT and option.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2006
When they broke into the music scene with Mate.Feed.Kill.Repeat in 1995, they were written off. When they composed their self-titled album and released it in 1999, they were still not given a heartbeat by critics. Their material simply demanded attention. When 'Iowa' was released in 2001, the world started to fear this beast that was 9 men from Des Moines, Iowa. Finally when Vol.3 - The Subliminal Verses shook the world in 2004, it was time to listen up. Slipknot were never going to lie down and receed due to criticism, they never will.
With more mellow tunes through 'Vermilion Pt.2', 'Circle' and 'Danger - Keep Away' this album only broadened Slipknot's fanbase, while cleverly maintaining their faithful Maggots with heavier tracks such as 'The Blister Exists', 'Three Nil' and 'Pulse Of The Maggots'..stunning work, awesome band, simply
inspirational and courageous. KUDOS SLIPKNOT!!! STAY (Sic)!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2009
My own musical preference is for stuff like Smashing Pumkins, The Pixies, Led Zep, i.e. well off the speed metal radar. The idea of Slipknot and bands of that ilk were a huge turn off to me - I couldn't see myself humming a song by them or liking it much.

I caught the 'Duality' video a few times on Scuzz and as well as being a great video, the song caught me enough to buy this album. I am absolutely shocked at how good this is and how much I like it. 'Before I Forget' is an even better song/video combination than 'Duality' and I'm now a big fan. I don't like their earlier stuff that much (too heavy) and their latest album is not as good as this one (not bad, mind).

Clever lyrics, mega drumming and an all round wire-tight unit. This is now a Desert Island disc for me. Ace.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2005
I was, from the very first time I heard them, a great fan of Slipknot; something new and something old done better than others, Thrash Metal clowns that play and sing memorable lyrics very well - and who make it fun. Even the mindless violence of the album's "Slipknot" and "Iowa" is focused.

This album, however, comes as a bit of a revelation; it was clearly designed for a more commercial market (hence no "Parental Guidance - Explicit Material" warning), but this hasn't quite had the effect one might think. It didn't cause them to trip hopelessly into the same abyss of self-parody as other bands over the years, nor has it watered them down for a more discerning pallet. No, this album has Vol.3, (Subliminal Verses) given the band an opportunity to put forward a very well presented album that loses nothing of their nihilistic world-hate but with a newer perspective, he album kicks into gear with their usual crescendo and sets of in style with such songs as The Blister Exists, Three Nil, Duality Pulse Of The Maggots and Virus Of Life and -

STOP EVERYRTHING: WHAT HAS JUST HAPPENED TO SLIPKNOT - Vermillion is a beautifully sung song, so different from its contemporaries, it is a sad love song, a song of loss and hope; it is proof that music is an evolutionary process and that, unlike so many bands before them, Slipknot do have the talent and capacity for change. I loved their previous albums, so angry and vital, and can assure you that this is a compliment to them both.

This is a very well presented album; lyrically and musically more evolved, but still containing the true essence of Slipknot, the wild and vital element that makes the band so unique and so much better than their contemporaries.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2004
having just finished listening to this album about 20 times already im going to be reviewing each track:
1-prelude 3.0:totally different knot dont expect a rage fuelled opener like 742617000027 or (515) this is a far more matured and melodic knot sounds at times like tool it remnds me aswell of pink floyd.5 stars
2-the blister exists:total knot style song definately my favourite from this album percussion heavy song clearly defined instruments, and the marching snare drum is awesome.5 stars
3-three nil: rage fuelled song typical knot again good song. 4 stars
4-duality: weve all heard it, definately the single of the album ,out of all the album this reminds me of the old knot the most, very melodic chorus. 5 stars
5-opium of the people: i love this song, catchy chorus kinda reminds me of iowa's the shape if rick rubin had his hands on it first. nice guitar work. 5 stars
6-circle: this is where the old knot sound has left the building more like a slipknot unplugged song! acoustic knot who woulda thought it. but still has the slipknot sound with its creepy sound effects to open and close again another pink floyd feel love the string work. 5 stars
7-welcome: reminds me of iowa and s/t rolled into one maybe its me but i feel as if this reminds me of mudvayne's internal primates forever with slipknots style thrown in(i.e percussion, samples and guitar work). 4.5 stars
8-vermillion: i love this song very gothic, different knot again very melodic best chorus from slipknot ive heard, nice solo. 5 stars
9-pulse of the maggots: another war type feel song, heavy metal definately.craig and sid shine on this song. 5 stars
10-before i forget: different knot again very melodic chorus has a punky feel. 4 stars
11-vermilion part 2: kinda reminds of incubus's mexico,obviously another acoustic but again very good. 5 stars
12-the nameless: this is a masterpiece from the knot its amazing brutal as hell then corey goes into an acapella sounding like a chorus from an unreleased backstreet boys song then back into brutality knot,percussion is amazing, its a different knot but a masterpiece none the less. 5 stars
13-the virus life: feels again like a pink floyd for a new generation with marilyn manson onboard, very good percussion you can hear shawn and chris amaizngly on this song, every member shines. 5 stars
14-danger keeps away: can i say pink floyd again! the knot take us on a journey knot style. 4 stars
this album is a masterpiece you will grow to like or like straight away this album, its amazing who woulda thought a band who wrote a song as brutal as surfacing write a song as brutal and psychaldelic as this this is a journey from beginning to end, hats off again to rick rubin for another masterpiece for his walls. and the best slipknot album yet. the man with the beard is definately the missing touch to what coulda been slipknot day 1, 5 star album *****
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2004
Being a musician Slipknot rank as a weird band when it comes to playability. I have all the Knot's albums including MFKR but ever since I picked up their debut in early 2000 they have started to fade from choice mainly being that it just all sounded to much. I wanted solo', acoustic peices, black metal drumming and the melody which Corey experimented with Stone Sour. None the less I had to buy the album the day it came out, Just like I had done with Iowa. So I did, To my suprise the music had evolved.
Its a real instrumental album which kick starts with Melody, awsome lyrics and just Slipknot showing the world that they really talented.
The solo's kick arse, The acoustic work is sheer genius and the drumming is phanominal!!
Simple as, this is a great instrumental album and I recomend it to every guitarist who enjoys his metal!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2004
Two years in the making, but worth every second. Radio friendly songs such as Duality and Pulse Of The Maggots ensure to create a whole new army of maggots, with songs such as Vermilion Pt 2 and Circle confusing, but never disappointing. Slipknot's most experimental album to date, also their best. Tracks like The Nameless go back to the old Slipknot style, with catchy melodic choruses thrown in, just to show the strength of Taylor's voice. Ripping guitars and pounding drums, this is Slipknot at their best, showing not only their ability to continue what they are good at, but also to progress to a different, more mature level.
The (sic)ness has returned, and it doesn't look like it'll be going away any time soon.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)