Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2004
Scars was a hugely popular work of art, but this, to me, is even better. Slightly more melodic, but just as heavy - PERFECTION. And by the way, I was able to convert the tracks into MP3s using Roxio Easy CD Creator, I had no problems at all.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2006
Without a doubt, Redefine is one of the greatest rock albums of the last few years, and probably the best 'nu-metal' album ever recorded. Seriously, that's not an exaggeration.
Whereas bands such as Saliva (with the exception of the excellent Every Six Seconds - the only metal album that comes close to this one in terms of quality, in my opinion) have tried and failed miserably at humble, emotional nu-core, Soil continue to defy the rules of Metal by actually finding MORE things to write songs about AND writing better songs than their preceding ones. This has never happened before in metal music because a lot of the time the bands are happy just to sing about what the other bands are singing about, for that reason - which eventually leads to the breakdown of ideas and lack of any substance within the genre. Soil, however, sing about what they want to sing about. Even when the same subjects are being sung about by their peers, you know it wouldn't matter if they were or not.
For example, many bands got on the bandwagon of writing songs about the late Dave Williams of Drowning Pool fame (and by the way, Sinner completes the top three of the greatest nu-metal albums ever recorded), and not one of them sounded sincere. Soil's song Remember, on the other hand, sounds completely real - the lyrics are not the standard of some of their songs, and perhaps a bit cheesy (which is forgivable when you're upset about something), but the music is sublime and really hard-hitting. Whereas this song would have come across pretentious by any other band, Soil have treated it like any other song and in doing so have absolutely flawlessly prevailed.
Other standout tracks are Pride, Redefine (another excellent nu-metal ballad - yeah, that's right), and Deny Me, but in all honesty there are no bad tracks. It's a superb offering, and for the first time in metal history, present or future, there is a group of people that are 100% original in what they do.
In other words, Soil achieve everything that Nickelback will never be able to achieve, and without even trying to. Fantastic stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2007
when i first heard halo (taken from scars), i thoguht it was absolutely amazing. i went on to buy the album and that was equally as incredible, but redefine is even better!

not much has changed in terms of vocals or musical style, but it's somehow even better than the previous release. there are visible influences throughout the album, from older metal such as metallica all the way through to the newer generations, with drowning pool and sometimes even korn..

my favourite tracks are pride, redefine and remember.

this is a must-have for anyone who liked scars, soil or this genre in general (fans of drowning pool,maybe more recent machine head and suchlike...)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2004
you must buy this!!!
it is much more complete than major label debut "scars" - packing old school riffs and melody to combine with massive choruses and intelligent lyrics to create a modern metal masterpeice...take title track "redefine" - wierd intro leading to acoustic guitars then WHAM! the catchy old school riff hits you in the face, grips and refuses to let go.
There are absolutely no fillers on this record and this is why i recomend it to you.....it is totally convincing and melodic and heavy. YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
Redefine is a must have for any Hard Rock, Post Grunge fan kicking offwith Pride and the title track "Redefine," two of the cleanest cuts ofmetal meat to ever peel from the post-grunge femur. Both feature flat,cutting guitar riffs boiling over stomping percussion; vocalist RyanMcCombs seems to tear out, chew up, and ultimately swallow the sinewyremains of his own Adam's apple. The tracks belong in that post-grungehall of heroes alongside Saliva's "Click Click Boom" and Drowning Pool's"Bodies," songs that transcended genre cliché with brute force and realgroove. (SOiL make a point of remembering Drowning Pool's Dave Williams intheir liners.) The remainder of Redefine can't fully sustain its initialenergy. But while Soil pay heavy dues to Alice in Chains ("SomethingReal") and Korn ("Cross My Heart," "Love Hate Game") throughout, McCombsand guitarists Shaun Glass and Adam Zadel consistently generate their ownbrand of caustic heat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2014
I had never heard of Soil until i heard their rendition of Black Betty on KERRANG Radio , ( throttle Junkies ) Great band , original stuff with hints of xcellence .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2004
This album is the follow up the the SCARS album which was, and still is, an awesome metal album which every fan of the genre should have in their collection. This album is also very good but not quite as good as theirt previous effort. Some tracks are better than others but i won't specify which ones as everyone has their own taste. all i can do is strongly recommend this album, most people will not be disapointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Arrived on time, no problems. Ideal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2004
SOiL spring back in to action with their follow up to their 2001 release "scars" and your sure not to be disappointed with this one
pride:hard hitting anthem some people say could be the next halo9/10
redefine:first single off the album and if you listen to it you sure know why 10/10
can you heal me:really good song Ryan McCombs shows lots of emotion and heart with this song and with outhers 9/10
cross my heart:good song not my favourite 9/10
Suffering:favourite song on the album simply amazing song 10/10
Remember:this song dedicated to dave williams and what a dedication to him 10/10
deny me:this song describes life for some people "every time i get one foot up you tear it down knock it down tear it down"10/10
something real:good song nothing compared to suffering or pride but still good9/10
say you will:it is an ok song def not the best8.5/10
love hate game:catchy song 9/10
obsession:really good song great way to end a great album with a great song9/5
so overall absolutly amazing album if you r a fan of metal buy it if you r not a fan of metal buy it every1 will like this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2004
This is a great album, but buyers be warned:
This album will PLAY on a PC (not a Mac) but you cannot convert it into MP3's for use on your MP3 player. The CD comes with its own player software which it loads onto your PC to play the CD.
There is no way that I am aware of that you can put this onto an MP3 player, which really sucks for those of us that legally buy all our music but prefer MP3 players to walkmans.
Its a decent album though, much like the first. Give it a try but beware the playing problems!
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)