Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33

on 23 August 2010
Have only recently discovered the Delays - surfing myspace music - and initially bought their new album, which is excellent, so thought i would delve into their back catalogue. This, their first album, is just as good, but you can see how they have evolved as a band. Long Time Coming did make it into the Top 20 of UK singles chart and you can see why. A well crafted pop song.

Equally as good are the other single releases from the album, Nearer than Heaven and Hey Girl.

This album is well worth a listen. I'm off to see them live on 6 October and looking forward to it. Hopefully, the new album will project them into the spotlight once again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 April 2017
Reminds me a lot of Mew...I've got all their albums but this was my first and the one I play most.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2016
Don't know how I stumbled across this, but its a great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2011
Glorious album full of the kind of music to enliven even the grumpiest sole. Delightful, dreamy, uplifting from start to finish. Buy it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2009
heard the delays for the first time at a crowded house concert (they were actually better that crowded house). This cd is very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 June 2004
Its been a while since I bought something that made me ring all of my music loving mates and tell them about it. I dont know much about these boys but from now on I will be scouring info on them, tour dates, new albums etc. They are amazing.
Beautifull singing and harmonys, floating guitars and the odd steel drum, tracks 1-4 are without a doubt the best on the album with track 4 - Bedroom Scene being a work of genius, you could take elements of the song and make about 4 songs out of it based on the various hooks within it.
With shades of the La's (vocally) but a few octaves higher and melodies that are totally fresh I have to recomend this to anyone who like anything slightly Indie or Rock related, its a WINNER!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 August 2014
Another great CD from The Delays
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 9 August 2015
'Faded Seaside Glamour' by Southampton formed indie band Delays will always be one of my special albums. It was released in 2004, and was this hidden treasure's debut album. Some 11 years later, it now feels like an old friend. The vibrant music here, which is very Britpop-isque in it's style, still has the power to uplift me to this day.

'Faded Seaside Glamour' is a thoroughly 'happy' album, with lush vocals from lead singer Greg Gilbert's vocals, who can sing high, but also with a rasp. The standout track is 'Nearer Than Heaven', which just denied a placing in the UK top 20 when released as a single, and it always reminds me of a bright Summer day. Most of the other songs are just as pleasant, with Delay's angelic harmonies and atmospheric production, this is sugar coated pop music at it's most beautiful. If you're passionate about you're indie music, the mellow 'Stay Where You Are' will give you the chills, and listening to 'Long Time Coming' will feel life affirming. Listening to the acoustic 'No Ending' makes me feel like I'm lying on cotton wool, and 'You Wear The Sun', the best Delays single there never was, lifts my spirits

The Delays are made up of brothers Greg and Aaron Gilbert, who wrote most of the tracks, and Colin Fox and Rowly. They are a band for fans of the likes of The Stone Roses, Peace, and Starsailor, but are also clearly influenced by '60s psychedelic-rock groups like The Byrds, Although, they have always been underrated, if you've just found them, then do not hesitate in buying 'Faded Seaside Glamour'. This is a near perfect pop album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2011
Not one of my collection of several hundred albums has a more spectacular first three tracks than Delays debut Faded Seaside Glamour.

The entrancing combination of jangly guitar pop with Greg Gilbert's gender-stretching vocals makes each track seemingly better than the last.

There is an inevitable lull mid album, but You Wear The Sun and Hey Girl are two of the best pop tracks of their decade, worth of the best of antecedents like the Byrds, the La's, or Crowded House.

It's a album that keeps bringing a smile to my face, and is a worthy introduction to Britain's finest purveyors of hooky singalong pop (yet with an undercurrent of bruised but never despairing romanticism often coming to the surface).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)