Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
58
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 July 2015
One of the best side ones in songwriting history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2016
Come on guys - it's just great. No surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Not as gopod as I remembered it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2008
1967 and Dylan had disappeared.A motorcycle accident which was real enough but nowhere near as serious as the music press were making out.So nothing that year except Greatest Hits 2.In the peak year of psychedelia Dylan admitted he knew little about it.
1968 and a new album called John Wesley Hardin.At the same time Manfred Mann,Jonathan King and the Brian Augur Trinity were hitting with Dylan songs he seemingly had never recorded.You were reading about something called The Basement Tapes where 3 dozen songs had been recorded by him with The Band-the musicians he'd used on stage who were rightfully pissed off with being booed every night.In 1968 the Band cut their own first album
However this collection of songs was shelved in favor of a stripped down acoustic album of songs with religious overtones and with a sleeve note which made no sense.
And to be honest you needed a book to understand most of the songs.Matter of fact nowadays with the Encyclopedias but in the 70s there were Dylan experts who decided the songs were about whatever they said whether Dylan agreed or not.As I went out one morning was particularly difficult with its namecheck for somebody called Tom Payne but then so were the Blonde On Blonde songs until we learned that Dylan had invented his own drugs imagery!"Your railroad gate I just can't jump it" referred to a vein in the arm for injecting heroin!
The Basement Tapes would come out in the 70s after other Dylan albums which have never been off the catalog-just one was missed and thats the seqel to Self Portrait.
Today JWH can be seen as the beginnings of Americana but at the time you somehow wished the Basement Tapes had been out first then this one.Which of course makes no difference anyway to the new generation of fans
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2011
This is one of those albums everyone should have, Dylan caters for all tastes. An excellent piece of musical MAGIC. Enjoy!.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
Thsi is a great album. I've had it on vinyl since it was released and thought that now I'd have a CD too ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Had an original vinyl of this and because of tracks had been looking to replace for a number of years. Quality album as far as I am concerned. Even to the extent now have two cd copies of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Just what I wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2014
If you've never heard this album before - then you don't know what you're missing. Purchased it in vinyl when it was first released and played it until its completely worn out. Brilliant CD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2015
'I dreamed I Saw St. Augustine', 'I'll Be Your Baby, Tonight' and 'All Along The Watchtower' are stand-out tracks. The rest are quite poor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)