Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 February 2013
Apparently, that was a genuine music press review from when this album first came out, 40 years ago. Just the four words. As a witty cheap shot, I suppose it's brilliant in its way. As a review, it couldn't be further from the truth.

Lee Hazelwood's poetry is like Kerouac with all the pretentiousness boiled out. What's left is a solid residue of hard-won lapidary insights from a hard-lived life out on the road. Musically, the songs are rough-edged easy-listening with a country accent, but it's the lyrics that anchor the songs to life as it's really lived.

Other reviewers have called this disc a grower, and I couldn't agree more. These are songs of understated craft, and once they're under your skin they'll stay with you.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
What can I say - I love this Guy's voice and this CD is just excellent listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Good but I miss Nancy. Without her, Lee is like peaches without cream.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2017
Lee Hazlewood is so under rated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Both the albums reissued here are amongst Lee Hazlewood's best - 1973's 'Poet, Fool Or Bum' and 1977's 'Back On The Street Again' - and if nothing else great value! Musicwise, it's what you'd expect from the first album's opener 'Poet, Fool Or Bum' with it's echoes of 'Summer Wine', through to covers - Leonard Cohen's, and a pretty superlative version of Tom Waits' 'Martha', and not forgetting Lee's own tunes - the aforementioned title track, 'Kari', the 'Performer', and 'I Think I'm Coming Down'.
The second album's highlights have to be the wonderfully laconic and archetypal Lee Hazlewood - 'Suddenly Tennessee', 'Dolly And Hawkeye' - which sounds like it should've been written by Nick Cave, and the frankly horny country-funk of 'Your Thunder And Your Lightning'. As well as pretty much of the songs. A wonderful package - and with extensive sleeve notes which give a good overview of what the late great Barton Lee Hazlewood was up to post-Nancy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
Whatever your thoughts are on Lee Hazlewood you can't help admiring this guy and his music, it's so unique and such a dam pleasure to listen to. I have a number of his cd's, and vinyl from the sixties, and I get such enjoyment just sitting back and listening to his laid back style and this cd is no exception... 21 tracks of pure magic from Lee Hazlewood... there's just no one to do it better !! If you're a Lee fan and you haven't got this one then you're missing out on something real good.
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
Ah Lee, wonderful drawl, wonderfully twisted mind - a great twofer of his solo material - good value and once you start listening you'll be hooked - from straight down country rambling to psychedelic western. You'll even forgive him the mousatche.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2013
usual Lee Hazlewood quality; will appeal to all fans of this charismatic individual. Being an ardent fan I would advise any admirer to listen to this offering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
I've listened to Lee Hazelwood and Nancy Sinatra songs for years and always enjoyed their quirky, off beat sound. Keen to hear Lee's solo work, l bought this album expecting more of the same. And l wasn't let down. Lee can write and deliver some great tracks and there are quite a few here. My favourite, feathers, is as good as anything l have heard and will get even the harshest critic humming along to its cracking tune.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2015
Absolutely delighted with this cd.Can,t get enough of it.It is played every week.Every song is fantastic.Price was sooo cheap,didn't think it was going to up to much.The only complaint is....that the songs keep going through your head....even when your not playing the cd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)