Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 December 2004
this is great! it's got all you need from a beginner to expert. chips, felt, cards, stand and rules; all coming in a tin box to keep it together. if you want a poker set then this is what to go for. it makes all the difference playing with proper chips rather than skittles, they seem to last longer as well!! extra chips may be handy though - the poker chips tin by cardinal goes well. with similar chips in looks and wieghts. just look at the other reviews though. this is a great set!!
hope this helps you...
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2005
I actually bought this set elsewhere about 6 months ago, but I'm sure it cost me around £20, so for £10 I think it is excellent value for money.
Whether you are just starting up playing poker or have been playing a while and want a small set for short-handed games up to 5 or 6 players this should do you fine.
You can probably get away with more players if you set the betting structure right, and this is the reason I have always prefered chips without numbers on them such as these.. you can set them to be any denomination that suits the situation.
The 7.5g chips are decent enough quality, and a friend bought about 400 of these chips around 5 or 6 years ago, and we only stopped using them recently because someone bought an 11.5g set, so they should last you for many years.
The cards are decent enough (plastic coated), and should last much longer than your usual 99p cheap pack. I would always recommend buying plastic type cards, they last much longer and will save you money in the long run.
The instructions are very basic, but you can get a decent set of rules for all varieties of poker quite easily online anyway.
The only bad point, was that the green baize you get is pretty much useless. It's so small that you are going to have a hard time trying to find a table it fits, and even then you would only get 2 people on it. Maybe they have updated the set since I bought it, as the baize was quite thick, and would have been better being twice the size and half the thickness, but if it is the same one, in my opinion you might as well chuck it away.
Still, for a tenner, well worth the money if you are looking for a cheap set or present.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2004
Educational in the sense that you really find out who your mates are when you play Poker against them!
This is an excellent set that my mates and I use all the time - there are just the right number of chips for about 6 of us to play and you even get cards and a green felt cloth to look like a real Poker host pro!
A great alternative to a night down the local and gives you cool status to be the one with the proper kit rather than matchsticks!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
This set has made an excellent gift for a family member as a beginner at poker. The set has everything you need to start out but you may find that you need to buy more chips as you get better and raise the stakes.
A problem found with the game (which I am sure was contained to this one set) is that the mat (which is a little on the small side) had clearly had a problem at manufacture. There appeared to be a blade stuck in the fabric with lots of little metal splinters scattered across the mat. These all had to be picked out and the mat doesnt look quite as good as it should now.
However as I said Im sure this is a one off fault.
The game is as Im sure most people know of poker excellent fun and a good night in!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2007
Poker is perhaps my favourite pastime. And this set is fantastic for anyone - beginner or veteran. If you're looking to start playing poker for the first time, this set will do the trick. And its also a great addition to your chips if you've been playing for a while.

The chips seem to be really good quality (for what they are). There's no notation on them, though this is great for putting your own values on... Whether you make them 'reasonable' or in the millions... They come in a rack with 10 columns which each hold 20 chips. It doesn't have a cover to put over the top, so chips can tend to roll around the tin... However, some cling film tends to do the job quite well.

The cards are very average... They lasted around 16 hours or so before getting completely grubby around the edges and bent up. However, don't forget how much the set is - if you're looking for superior quality playing cards, buy some that are built for the job.

The green felt playing mat is pretty pointless... It's nowhere near big enough to cover an average sized table, though is ok for at least placing cards/chips on in the middle of a larger table.

And to top it all off, it all comes in a handy tin. For £[...] you really can't go wrong. [Another word of advice... If you're looking to buy lots of chips, it actually works out cheaper to buy this set over and over again than to buy a bigger set of, say 500 chips, for £[...]. If you bought this set 5 times over (totalling £[...]), you'd get 1000 chips all together!]

Well worth the money.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2004
This has 200 high quality chips and is great fun and a laugh. This is great value for money.It is texas hold em as seen on tv. Why yous should buy this:
-Cheap
-Good quality
-Fun
-If you like a laugh
-Ideal buy for beginners
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2005
I bought this as a Xmas gift for my partner. He enjoys playing online poker and I thought this would be a nice alternative way for him to play. It's very well made and he had great fun with it. I don't really like card games but I enjoyed learning how to play Texas Hold Em with this set.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
This game is excellent! We got it Friday and played both Friday night and Saturday night into the early hours of the morning...the Educational value, is that I can now understand whats happening on the TV poker. Well worth every penny I payed for it. Am going to throw some poker parties now.....can't wait!!!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2005
Great little set.
Bad points
Chips have no denominations on them
Cards are cheap and dont last
Shop around. You can find them for a Tenner.
Good points
Handy tin
Adequate number of chips for 3-4 players
Simple instructions (could be more detailed though)
Loadsa fun - have used it loads - infected all my friends with the Poker bug.
I have bought better Cards (World Poker Tour Cards) seem to be the best around, and i agree.
Party on.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2005
These chips are excellent. Beware of some other chips that may be cheaper but are definately of inferior quality. Myself and a group of friends use these chips regularly and they are excellent.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)