Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
27
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 December 2004
In my mind, music can make a good film great, and perhaps this is the case with the Kill Bill films. Tarantino is a genius with his soundtracks and Kill Bill 2 is no exception.
Although the dialogue in the CD can become a little annoying when you're expecting great music, I would recommend this album to anyone who even vaguely enjoyed the film. I bought it on impulse and it was probably the best music purchase I made in the last six months.
Diverse and engrossing, the tracks vary from western American schmooze with a manic, menacing edge ('Can't Hardly Stand It') to a desperate and surreal version of 'She's Not There'. However, I'd have to say my favourite track is 'Malaguena Salerosa', a lively and memorable hispanic track which cannot fail to remind me of the end of the film. Personally, after I've listened to it, I always want to hear it again.
Other tracks to enjoy include 'Tu Mira', a sexy, flamenco-sounding song with a sinister beginning and an incredible voice throughout, and the very frightening and threatening 'A Silhouette of Doom'.
All in all, this album is filled with beautiful, thoughtful misery, sexy hispanic vibes and a few hints of violence and loneliness. A great way to recall the film and even develop your taste into new music. Just a shame we have to listen to David Carradine and Uma Thurman quite so often. Still, even that can be enjoyable. I don't often skip 'The Legend of Pai Mei'.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
Outside the context of the film, the music is in the main uninspiring. Two or three tracks stand out as exceptional, but £5.99 is a lot to pay for them. Tracks are not available for individual download (or weren't when I made my purchase last week).

All in all, unless you are desperate for the flamenco tracks, my advice is "don't bother" with this. Wait until tracks are available for individual download.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2004
Unbelieveably, this is actually better than the first Kill Bill sound track. The mix of music is wonderful and gives you lots of ideas for future music purchases.
A good CD for in the car, but also as background music when you've got friends round. It creates a great mood.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2004
Never before have i sat in a cinema and been in absolute awe of a film soundtrack, until now. Infact the soundtrack Kill Bill volume 2 to me has to be one of the best things about the film (well apart from the coffin scene and Pai Mei). The first proper track is the tune from the opening credits and is very strong, although i have never heard of the artist 'Shivaree' before.
Again like the first soundtrack of the Kill Bill series there is a track by Charlie Feathers, infact another rock-a-billy obscure number which doensn't really fit with the rest of the ST.
The highlights of the ST include the Johnny Cash song 'A Satisfied Mind' which unbelievably clear and a very philisophical meaning to it, pure class. The other highlight is the three tracks from Enno Morricone, famous for spaghetti western soundtracks such as 'Once upon a time in america' the songs contained here aren't his most famous work but are absolute gems, 'Il Tramanto' is beutiful and yet only just over a minute long, 'A Silouette of Doom' builds from start to finish and u have to listen to every note like it was a word, and thridly there is 'L'Arena' which has to be the most gorgeous piece of music i have heard in a long time, it is unbelievably rousing (even to me, the rock lover!) and needs playing every day!
In conclusion this ST is a must have, infact you needn't have seen the film to appreciate the quality compiled by Tarantino.
This is a no brainer desicion to buy!
Enjoy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
The songs on this album, unlike processed pop, show a variety that keeps the listener interested throughout. The tracks range from vocal dialogue, to instrumentals, and to both english and foreign singing. Even with such a range, the overall flow of the album is held together by the common mellow and meaningful feel. Of course by mellow I certainly don't mean dull, but rather that it's not really going to hype you up. What it will do is make you listen and listen intently. 'A Satisfied Mind' is a perfect example, as the lyrics are powerful and flow deep.

If you own and like the soundtrack for the first Kill Bill, I would recommend that you buy this album. Although there are some really strong tracks in the first album, the overall quality is better in the second. 'The Legend of Pai Mei' is a nicely placed vocal extract from the film that really helps you to visualise the scene and is followed by Ennio Morricone's 'L'Arena' whose melodies send shivers down my spine every time. The album finishes (excluding the bonus track) with Meiko Kaji's powerful voice, whose words you don't need to understand to enjoy. This is no doubt a much stronger finish than the strange sound effects in the first album.

All in all, Quentin Tarantino and Robert Rodriguez (whom Tarantino accepted as a guest to aid in choosing the film score and whose band 'Chingon' contributes the song 'Malaguena Salerosa'. If you enjoy this song, be sure to check out the soundtrack for 'Once Upon A Time In Mexico' which shows off Rodriguez's talents as a singer-songwriter) combine well to form a brilliant soundtrack.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2004
This album is a great addition to any one who likes Tarantino films, collects soundtracks or just likes listening to good, may i say again 'cool' music. Ennio Morrocone's 'l arena' is a beautiful song, and Johnny Cash's version of 'a Stratisfied mind is mesmerising'. Great sound bites from the film. A great addition to one great album. Not one bad song on a Tarantino soundtrack...again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
A Great sound by tarentino dryed by explicit lyrics extract from movie sequences.
His movies where based on mythics tracks including every simple sense you could understant in each scene he want you believe in.
The others half were made by actors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
I was itching to order this as soon as it appeared on Amazon, after thecracking first album, and I haven't been disappointed!
Volume 2 takesus away from Japan and into a more Tex Mex theme. After a few words fromThe Bride, we kick off with the sultry Goodnight Moon, that wouldn't soundout of place on the Pulp Fiction soundtrack. Thanks to some fantasticEnnio Morricone selections we have a more thoughtful album - think thebest spaghetti westerns. L'Arena's slow build up from a whistle to acrescendo is amazing, and fits perfectly with the scene in the film. TuMira is a wailing, repeating flamenco chant of unrequited love, whichyou'll either love or hate. Charlie Feathers returns this time with aplodding (in a good way) cowboy song, and is joined the man in blackhimself Johnny Cash with the introspective A Satisfied Mind.
Supplyingthe funk this time are the short The Chase and Summertime Killer, tracksthat I can only imagine driving insanely fast to!
The track that really throws you is Malcolm McLaren's About Her, arendition of The Zombies' She's Not There. It doesn't fit in with eitherof the soundtracks, but that's not to say it isn't welcome. You'll besinging along by the second verse.
We return back to Tarantinolandwith the jubilant Malaguena Salerosa, and after whipping us up into aMexican frenzy we are calmed back down to the closer, Urami Bushi, aBond-esque torch song about a woman holding a grudge against a lover,which is quite fitting don't you think?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2004
Tarantino has become the name for 'mainstream cult' movies, not just forhis directoral skills, but for his meticulous attention to detail on everyfacet of his production. This of course includes the music, andsoundtracks to films such as Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs have becomeas iconised as the films themselves.
The Kill Bill Volumes mark a return to the world of film-making forTarantino after some barren years, and are true to the form of hisprevious films. The Kill Bill Vol.1 soundtrack was fantastic in every way.Truly, they do not make soundtracks like that much these days, and Vol.2is thankfully more of the same. This is not to say that the music becomesdull or repetetive, due to the variety of music there is something foreveryone.
There are some fantastic tracks on this album. 'Malaguena Salerosa' is afantastic fast-paced latin song with a rich melody, in the vein of theGypsy Kings, 'Il Tramonto' is classic Morricone in every way and needs nointroduction.
'A Satisfied Mind' by the great Johnny Cash makes awelcome appearance as do some great Japanese synth/crossover peices suchas 'Urami Bushi' by Meiko Kaji.
You should know by now what to expect when you buy the soundtrack to aTarantino film and this one doesn't let the side down.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2004
Having just seen "Kill Bill Volume 2" I was utterly astounded, not only bythe standard of the "second half of the fourth film by Quentin Tarantino"but also by the unwavering standard of soundtrack in face of such largechanges, thematically, in the second half of the film. The melancholychords and country and western tunes a group of masterpieces from a groupof composers undoubtedly headed by the great Ennio Morrocone fit not only,perfectly, in one of the graetest revenge films of our time, but equallywell in the comfort of your bedroom or car. Indeed we may be about towitness a renaisance for Morrocone, and for Tarantino alike, and I canonly hope justice is done by, as happened with the good, the bad and theugly in the late 60s, any one of these great songs going to the top of thesingles chart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)