Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
85
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2016
A comedy classic from the writer of Seinfeld. I always end up laughing out loud at the scrapes and cringe-y situations that Larry gets himself in to. I'm working my way through all the series and when I get to the end I don't know what I'll do with myself, probably start again from the beginning! Highly recommend this comedy genius :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Well - if you haven't seen curb you're in for a treat. Brilliantly cringeworthy antics will keep you laughing from behind the cushions on the edge of your seat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2017
Not my kind of thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Really funny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Love Larry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2004
If you caught CYE on BBC2 or 3 you'll already be a huge fan, if you didn't then without doubt you need to buy this DVD.
The 'character' Larry David, played by the co-creator and writer of Seinfield, Larry David, is a great comic creation. He is irritable, bad tempered, painfully honest and impatient to the nth degree and in every episode is the grand architect of his own downfall...but played with such skill by the real Larry David that you can't help but root for him.
He insults and offends people where ever he goes - random people in the street...shop workers...waiters...basically anyone he bumps into - not because he sets out to do so but because he can't seem to stop himself. He always starts out with the best of intentions but the situations that follow descend into anarchy...always hilarious. His desperate chase to get to the front of the queue at the doctor's, wrestling some poor woman to the ground in the process is the funniest thing I've seen in years.
CYE is total, improvised brilliance, with an excellent cast, fab cameos, totally bizarre and politically incorrect scenarios (Incest Survivors group anyone?) and the best few hours you could possibly spend in front of the TV screen.
I dare anyone not to love this show...the US are already on series four so there is plenty to look forward to. It's simply the best thing on TV right now.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2005
Missed this series when it came out on TV, but managed to catch up thanks to a friends' recommendation. Larry David (LD) brings a level of (cynical) realism to life in LA. Obviously affluent (mainly due to the successes of Seinfeld), he maintains a down to earth attitude. The story lines are fairly simple, but some of the situations (mainly self manufactured) he finds himself in test's both his and his (very understanding) wifes resolve.
Parts where he gets mistaken for a tramp in an upmarket jewellery store, and ends up fighting in the foyer with his best friend, and getting caught watching his managers porn collection by his managers parents in his managers house are classics!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Am in love with Larry David, so probably biased, adore this show, won't be everyone's sense of humour. I enjoy the improvisational premise of the show, it's a fresh way to work and enjoy Larry's outlines for scenes. Will be buying all the series although seen them all before, enjoy returning to them as they make me happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
Larry David is the lesser-known co-creator of legendary sitcom, Seinfeld, opting to remain behind the screen while the other co-creator, Jerry Seinfeld, played the lead role against Jason Alexander (who played George Constanza, the Larry David-esque role). After a successful one-hour special for HBO where Larry David plays himself in a exaggerated reality of his pseudo-celebrity lifestyle, offending friends and avoiding awkward scenarios, David begin to develop 'Curb your Enthusiasm', a half hour sitcom which would embrace the relaxed rules on content and vulgarity that HBO provided.

Larry David plays himself, with echoes of the George Constanza character from Seinfeld. The ten episodes that comprise of Season One mostly feature David, with his best friend/agent, Jeff, as he gets into socially awkward scrapes which normally culminate in an embarrassing climax. The show is set in LA and focuses on the celebrity lifestyle that Larry has with appearances from famous faces (playing themselves) such as: Ted Danson, Mary Steenburgen and Richard Lewis.

The ten episodes and my scores for each are below:

1. The Pants Tent - (8/10)
2. Ted and Mary - (8/10)
3. Porno Gil - (9/10)
4. The Bracelet - (5/10)
5. Interior Decorator - (9/10)
6. The Wire - (9/10)
7. AAMCO - (5/10)
8. Beloved Aunt - (8/10)
9. Affirmative Action - (7/10)
10. The Group - (7/10)

Out of these initial ten episodes, I would recommend, 'Interior Decorator' where Larry falls foul of a waiting room policy and parking fees. I also enjoy, 'The Wire', purely for the infuriating performance displayed by Larry's creepy neighbour who blackmails him into arranging a 'meet and greet' with Seinfeld star, Julia Louis-Dreyfus. The actor is so good at making you want to sock him one!

The most iconic of these episodes is 'Beloved Aunt' where Larry is tasked with writing the obituary for his wife's deceased aunt, only to find that the newspaper have replaced a key letter in the word 'aunt' transforming it into a four-letter curse word that is guaranteed to offend.

There are a few dud episodes, such as 'AAMCO' and 'The Bracelet', but these are only bad in comparison to the well-crafted comedy narratives of the others. With Curb Your Enthusiasm, Larry David managed to make the same genre-shaping changes that people attributed to his work on Seinfeld. The use of improvisation on certain scenes makes the show seem more realistic and gives it a documentary style feel, without the actual documentary framing device used in BBC comedies, The Office or The Thick of It.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2004
Forget The Office !
If that superb series can win two Golden Globes, then this wonderful American comedy series featuring the unique talents of writer and star Larry David who helped create Seinfeld is worthy of even greater awards.
The DVD features the first series of ten episodes plus an hour long feature that introduced the idea and paves the way for the brilliant comedy that followed. Together with an interview with Larry David it is a marvellous buy and I recommend it highly.
Larry David stumbles from one disastrous and embarrassing encounter to another, and what is unique about the series, is that most of the dialogue is improvised and therefore it really is like peeping in at somebody`s life with mouth wide open at what is taking place. Language and content are often quite near the mark, and if we in the UK ever consider that British television is brave, then sample what HBO has the courage to show.
These ten episodes are all of the highest calibre, but I particularly recommend `Beloved Aunt` which contains an obituary with the most unfortunate typing error you will ever encounter !
This show is now being shown on BBC, and it is fairly new to me. Don`t wait to bump into it that way...buy this first series and I guarantee you will be hooked. The added bonus as if any were required, is the lack of a cackling audience. This adds to the authenticity of the situations and the brilliance of all the actors together with the superb David make the whole production unforgettable.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)