Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2017
Not to expectations
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2006
This is the most definative best of collection of Teddy Pendergrass available..it's a great compolation featuring most of the mans great tracks and more!! i say most because there are a couple of glaring ommisions from this set,there's a few too many 90's tracks on here which was never teddys best decade,thosee tracks are largely bland and not a patch on his 70's and 80's work,i guess the complier was going for a broad selection but why tracks like "Set Me Free" and more notably the stomper "You can't hide from yourself" both from his 70's philly soul period are not on here is a mystery !! they are essential tedy tracks,thats why i've knocked a star off. Still this is still goo and the best best of to date though maybe one day we'll get a complete anthology.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2005
What can I say? This should be in every self respecting RnB/Soul fans collection. I feel sad that it is not so cool for guys to sing anymore. Everyone tries to opt out and make a rap song. These hits were from the time when rap was undeground and there were many great singers about. Adults, buy this and educate your kids or alternatively; kids, buy this CD and educate yourself in how great music was once made.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
From the opening chords of "Love TKO" to the final notes of "So Sad The Song" you realise you are in the presence of the true soul master. Forget Viagra this is truely seduction in plastic.
A must for soul collection.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
From 1973 – 1979 Teddy Pendergrass was arguably the No 1 soul singer. You instantly recognise the voice – the unique slow delivery with elements of Barry White and Otis Redding thrown in. Of course you could say Pendergrass was fortunate to get many of Gamble and Huffs’s best songs, but I’m sure they weren’t going to be dished out to just anybody. The Harold Melvin tracks seem to combine changes of tempo with space that allows Pendergrass to ad-lib and put emphasis on the essential message. Great songs delivered by a fine singer. “The Whole Town’s Laughing At Me”, ironically not written by Gamble & Huff, is possibly the greatest song of them all. I can’t think of a better lost love song.

In 2011 Tom Moulton remixed many of the great Philly songs. I think I’m in a minority when I say I wasn’t entirely convinced by TM’s treatment of the precious goods. Reservations aside, it’s great to hear extended play featuring the fantastic Philly house musicians combined with signature guitar and orchestral sounds. Obviously, TP features on the record and it’s clear that Tom Moulton holds him in the highest regard.

Teddy Pendergrass is one of the reasons I grew to love American black music. The older I get, the more I find myself listening to 1970’s funk and soul. I feel happy when I hear this stuff and it doesn’t change when Teddy’s talking about love as only he can.

RH
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2006
I was lucky enough to know about Teddy P's music whilst still a teenager. Teddy P caused me to set the bar very high in my romantic expectations, beccause I firmly believe that if a brother can put such thoughts to music then surely it can be put into action. I love every single track in this collection, in fact I love all of Teddy P's music. I have fond childhood memories of waking up to "wake up everybody". Come on people buy this collection and listen to something worthwhile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
I have always been a fan of Teddy and so have nothing bad to say about his songs
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
What an amazing voice and the quality of music which compliments is outstanding.
Simply sexy, smooth and a great album for those who are discovering Teddy Pedergrass.
An album of songs which will stand it's time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
This album is everything you could ask from the late great Teddy Pendergrass , in my opinion he rates in the best three soul singers
of all time that include the great Luther Vandross and Ali Woodson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
I have to agree with all the reviews, there is nothing more to say about this legend, besides forget about the blue pill guys as well as viagra, not only you destroying your health and mind but listening to this cd will make gain a peace of mind as well as making your woman happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)