Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
27
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2004
Unlike the entire music press I was pretty happy with "Have You Fed The Fish", there were some classic singles and a overall feel of an artist on a roll.
Sadly "One Plus One Is One" is rather subdued and meandering, there is nothing that grates and this is far better than other blander,bigger selling solo artists but still it misses the spark of his earlier efforts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2004
Badly Drawn Boy gives us another fantastic album. He didn't just write it for people to call it crap! I love BDB's music because no-one else does anything like it - it is completely unique. His past albums are great - this is no exception.
If you don't like music that is a bit on the weird side, why don't you find someone else to listen to, for god's sake? I think that the people who gave this 1 star are total bloody nutters! BDB offers inspiration for budding musicians like me, or is just great to listen to! I would reccommend this to
anyone who doesn't like the boring pop music. My favourite songs are Takes the Glory, Four Leaf Clover, Easy Love and, of course, One Plus One is One. The mixture of different instruments and effects is good in all of the songs.
Overall, a fantastic album. Full of interesting ideas that BDB has managed to dream up. GET IT NOW!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2004
Now before i bought this album i had only really heard BDB on the film about a boy. Normally i prefer american rock music such as Matchbox 20, Counting Crows, Dave Matthews and Bruce Springsteen. Now when i saw one plus one is one on offer i thought id have a listen and to my amazement i would say this is a contender for album of the year. Having about 7 really catchy songs on personal favourties include, year of the rat, fewer words. and logic of a friend. Even on the weaker songs BDB offer something different to other bands such as small piano solo's etc. Ive found this is one album where i really feel ive got my money's worth and im so happy ive bought it go out and buy u won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2015
LOVE IT. BUY IT...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
An album i've been waiting for since Christmas and it didn't dissappoint. Much in the same vein as "The Hour Of Bewilderbeast", and totally different to "Have You Fed The Fish?", both of which were amazing albums in my opinion. It is mainly about coming back to his roots and still has the little "intermission" parts which characterise his almost 'clumsy' and dazzling talent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2016
All fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2004
The steady decline in quality from brilliant Bewilderbeast, by way of decent if uninspiring 'About a Boy' to the decidedly thin 'Have You Fed the Fish' continues with this frankly dreadful album.
After reading several gushing reviews I purchased this latest Badly Drawn album and I'm afraid its a desperate disappointment.
Words like mediocrity, ingratiating, anodyne, and above all Dull all spring to mind. To be fair 'Year of the rat' is a reasonable pop song if you like that sort of thing and don't mind a choir of children appearing to add a totally uncalled for layer of schmaltz over the whole affair.
But lets not forget that Badly Drawn Boy's first album was a refreshing blast of innovation packed with an extraordinary and unique blend of classic pop melodies, quirky oddities and dry humour; his followw up had at least three bona fide pop songs, and even the drab 'have you fed the fish' had a couple of great songs. Now the hat wearing Mancunian wants us to buy his albums on the strength of one decent track (hence the title?) with the rest of the album an all too knowing attempt to ingratiate himself with reviewers and sycophantic journalists.
Perhaps its just his audience have become middle aged and i have not yet...or perhaps he's just succeeded in fooling the critics into believing this adds up to something more than it is.
don't be fooled. Buy 'Year of the Rat' the single when it comes out or wait for the inevitable Best of Badly Drawn Boy which can't be far off...but vote with your wallets and don't buy this. perhaps Badly Drawn Boy will pay attention and return to what made him the unique talent he was.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)