Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2004
I always thought that Diana Krall was nice to listen to, but with nothingextra that made me buy any records of her. That was until I saw and heardher Live in Paris DVD, where the Canadian singer stepped out from theformer slick and almost icy approach and delivered that extra. Suddenlyyou could feel the warmth in her voice, her ultra sensual charisma camethrough with full force - I was hooked. Still feel though that her albumsare too polished for my taste, I stick with the fantastic live DVD.
Now Mrs Krall has made a studio album that connects to the feeling on theLive DVD. The musical setting is much more intimate than on her previousalbums. Basically you have one tight band, where the two most impressivemusicians to my ears are Anthony Wilson on guitar and Christian McBride onbass. Diana Krall herself sings like a goddess and plays a very goodpiano. The songs are a mix of jazz, blues and pop, with a more rootsyfeeling than her usual repertoire. There are also a mixture of covers andoriginal songs. The originals are all written by Diana Krall and ElvisCostello, though Costello has only contributed to the music on themajestic title track, otherwise he has stuck to the words. There is anatural flow to the song sequence on the album and the originals stand upvery good to the covers.
There are in my opinion no weak songs on the album, and my favourites(today) are the title track (Krall/Costello) and Temptation (TomWaits).
Audiowise the album is very good recorded and produced. The SACD layeradds that extra HiFi dimension with crispy treble and a deep and tightbass. But the real winner here is clearly the multichannel mix. Diana'svocal is placed in the front channels and center and all instruments arespread in all channels in a rather aggressive but still very tasteful way.In my opinion a perfect 5.1 mix, compared to i.e. Norah Jones Come awaywith Me which has a very wimpy 5.1 mix. The only negative to say about thesound quality is that from time to time you can hear some harschness tothe s-sounds.
Highly recommendable!!
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
i did have this album on normal cd and was very happy with it, but when i saw a sacd version i just had to get it, and boy what a difference. diana kralls skills on her piano are all there along with the rest of her talented ensemble, it really is a beautiful album not one single duffer song on it, i just love playing it as christian Mcbrides double bass really brings the joy of jazz with his skill, very highly reccomended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2004
Just to start by saying that SACD and DVD audio in 5.1 surround just take Krall to another Level, a huge difference in sound, emotion and musical experience, I should think greater than the move from mono to stereo ! (If that is , you have some half decent equipment, which is quite important).
This Album scores 5 stars on Sound Quality on the 5.1 mix, only because the recording is so good, and only for that reason. I will forgive the few minor issues, which would have normally dropped the rating slightly.
The first 4 tracks are excellent, track 4 Temptation is great, tracks 5/6/7/8 drop off slightly in the middle, then picking up again with an awesome track 9, from there the tracks just level off to the end.
If there were enough half decent SACD/DVDa (5.1) discs around I could be more critical, but there are not, so the only issue I have with this (and its pretty serious for the music engineers) is that on quite a few of the tracks they have place some of the instruments BEHIND THE LISTENER. This almost suggests that the Tracks were not recorded as a 5.1 mix. Maybe their cheap way of selling multichannel is to split a recording up into front and rear channels, ............not quite the spirit !
Its really wierd at first when you have Krall singing at you from the front, and a guitar playing right behind your head ! Takes some getting use to.
However not forgiving this at all, I would still say that the SACD was worth the money for tracks 4 and 9 ALONE!!! Everything else is a bonus.. If you have some serious equipment, turn the sound up on these two, and they will take you away !
Love Scenes in DVDa is a SUPERB recording (and recorded correctly), and the Live in Paris DVD is just amazing considering you get both the concert and a DTS 5.1 track which is extrememly good. These two are not to be missed !
Sorry, I have given up on normal audio CDs now ! Just do not compare !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2015
This is a review for the SACD version of the CD.
I'm listening to it right now and I continue to be impressed by its sound clarity, musicality and sound separation through the 5:1 speaker system.
The pure sounds of Krall's voice, the piano, guitar and bass coming at me through the speakers - close my eyes and I am enjoying a personalised concert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2011
This review refers to the SACD version of the album. This is as good as it gets. Recorded and produced in order to achieve superb high resolution audio quality in surround sound, Diana Krall has never sounded so smooth and s-o-o-o good. If you love her Live in Paris show as much as I do (I have that one on DVD and it is just as exceptional), this SACD contains just more of the same beautiful voice, beautiful piano playing and beautiful sounding (and highly respected) jazz musicians!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2015
This is probably the CD I listen to more than any other. The rich warmth of Krall's voice and playing is coupled with an immaculate recording and production. When the SA-CD layer is played on quality surround sound equipment you are caressed all over by the music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Girl in the Other Room," (2004) by Canadian born jazz singer/pianist Diana Krall, represents a departure and new beginning for her: she leaves behind the Great American Songbook, to work with more modern, personal material, covering songs by Tom Waits, Mose Allison, and Joni Mitchell, in addition to writing several more with her husband, the outstanding British singer/musician Elvis Costello. Furthermore, this CD comes to us as an enhanced SACD: it'll give you wonderful sound if you've the equipment for it.

Krall, who was awarded a scholarship to Boston's prestigious Berklee College of Music, won the 2002 Best Jazz Vocalist Grammy for Live In Paris. Overheard elevator conversations seem to indicate that that record's been most popular among her listeners; it swings more. However, as Krall has continued to work with her long-time producer, Tommy LiPuma, (she gets a co producer credit with him on this album), some of "The Girl," can be found to swing equally well. Other tracks give us glimpses of emotional depths that, reserved Canadian that the singer undoubtedly is, she hasn't chosen to reveal to us until now. Guess we should thank Mr. Costello, possibly the littlest Costellos, for that.

On much of the disk, Krall is backed by her long-term collaborators in rhythm, Jeff Hamilton on drums and bassist John Clayton. She gets further support from drummer Peter Erskine, bassist John Christian McBride; and guitarist Anthony Wilson. Drummer Terri Lynne Carrington and Neil Larson also sit in on Hammond B-3 for one cut. "The thing about Diana is her musicianship," Al Schmitt recently told the Los Angeles Times. "More than most singers, she knows what's right for her, and she knows how to make it happen musically." Just listen to two collaborations with Costello, the title track and "Departure Bay." Or a Bonnie Raitt favorite, "Love Me Like a Man," written by folk/bluesman Chris Smither, and note the Duke Ellington salute in its final chorus.

This girl is cooking with gas these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2014
This is a good example of daring to be different. It almost succeeds in being very special but not quite. 'Narrow Daylight' is a superb track. Maybe something in the production is lacking that leaves some tracks sounding a tad lifeless. None the less it is both an interesting and rewarding listen in the right circumstances. I guess it is literarily mood music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Love this SACD, Diana's voice and music is a pleasure to listen to. This also one of the best SACD I own. I recently bought a pair of Spendor D7 speakers and she come alive on them! Simply wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
very nice album,but I can not understand all the fuss about the mix i have heard better and to be fair its not that sensational against a normal cd or dvd audio
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)