Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 14 February 2013
This is quite possibly the best £3 you will ever spend. 'The Music Box' is peerlessly brilliant and endlessly re-watchable, and on its own is worth ten times the price of the DVD. But there's more! 'Hog Wild' is a hoot, 'Busy Bodies' likewise, and 'Dirty Work' is perfect if you want to torture your OCD partner. 'The Finishing Touch' and 'Double Whoopee' complete a bumper package of wall-to-wall laughs. Having the option of the colour versions is a fantastic bonus on this DVD: purists will always prefer the black and white originals, but the colour has been well executed and actually brings a fresh new dimension to these timeless classics.

If you don't know Laurel and Hardy, this is the perfect place to start. If you're already a fan.. why don't you already have this?? Either way, you can order this DVD with complete confidence. It's 100% comedy genius.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2014
These movies are all on the disc in the original black and white. But most of them are also on the disc in a coloured version.
And yes! it is noticeable that the colours are added, but one quickly forgets this.

A few favourites are here: 'A chump at Oxford' is of course one of their best sound movies, the silent film at the sawmill I remember fondly from my childhood, likewise the also silent one where they are trying to build a house. The films have been significantly improved with a few very good sound effects.

So if you are a nostalgic hard boiled conservative, you can watch them in black and white, turn off the sound and maybe hire a piano player like they had in the cinema theatres in the old days.

But if you simply wish to be entertained as well as possible, just turn on the sound and watch them in colour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2015
I got this DVD for a couple of quid and what a bargain! L&H are frickin' hilarious and I found myself laughing out loud several times while watching this. This selection contains the classic short 'Music Box' which is worth having alone. There are a couple of silent shorts too. I don't know why they offer superfluous colourised versions of L&H as they only really serve as a bit of a distraction from the comedy action - great comedy doesn't need irrelevant tinkering with!
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2013
Again these were to replace old video versions of Laurel and Hardy bits we had, just great to have. Had'nt realised you got two versions versions of each clip, one in black and white and one in colour, but maybe I didn't read things properly. But Laurel and Hardy just terrific.Great service.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2018
Excellent purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2009
These shorts are real classics, and contain some of the best Laurel & Hardy sequences of all time. The Music Box, in particular, is perfectly suited to the antics of Stan and Ollie and this short film shows off their talents particularly well. But in addition to great comedy which in my view has never been equalled, these short films provide a fascinating glimpse back into a time which now seems long ago, when pleasures were simpler and the world was a less complex place. Altogether a charming, delightfully funny series of shorts by the greatest comedians of the 20th century.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2015
Arrived on time, I laughed from beginning to end and then watched it again, can still see the paintbrush stuck to Ollies chin, hilarious, a definite must for all Laurel & Hardy fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2011
This edition of Laurel & Hardy is the finest I have come across. The images are sharp and fresh, and the sound quality is bright and clear. What a treat. I was accustomed to inferior renditions before, those published by Hallmark. Sheer debauchery that. Poor sound, images that would flicker. Bloody poor. If you want a good laugh, and it only costs a few quid, this is what you want. The stellar piece is a short called THE MUSIC BOX. L&H attempt to haul a piano up a myriad walk of steps, and the process is simply hilarious! Other shorts include: BUSY BODIES, DOUBLE WHOOPEE, HOG WILD, DIRTY WORK, THE FINISHING TOUCH and HATS OFF (HATS OFF consists of photo stills only, as the work has been lost). I don't believe comedy gets any better than Hollywood in the 1930's, the gilded age it was, and this recording does it justice. With all what's with the world these days, we all need a good hardy, shall I say it, Laurel and Hardy, laugh? Best of British!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 October 2017
Really love this DVD. If anyone is in need of a good laugh, this is the remedy. I enjoyed watching it so much, I took it to my elderly mother and she never stopped laughing all the way through! A real tonic! Would thoroughly recommend to others!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2018
Fantastic laurel and hardy had me in fits of laughter .watched them loads of times still.make me laugh9
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse