Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£55.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 29 April 2004
Don't judge this album on your first few listens. I'm a big fan of bothmadlib and more so MF Doom, and I was actually slightly dissapointed inthis release at first (tho it has a few standout tracks).
A few weeks later, and some of the other tracks have grown on me and i'mreally feeling this album.
There's a few tracks I skip, but at least 5 absolute classic tracks (whichyou can't say about many albums nowadays) and a handful of pretty decenttracks.
Each track is around 2 minutes long, so don't expect a normal album. It'sone to be played from start to finish (plus the odd skip !).
Pick it up. Within a couple of weeks you'll be loving it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2012
Took a few listens to get into but it is my favourite Doom album along with Born like this,I also have Mm Food but not really feeling it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
arguably dooms best collaboration. well worth a buy even with a relatively short playing time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2006
Very good hip-hop album by the legendary Metal Face and jazz sampling maestro Madlib, two music makers who in their respective roles as MC and producer fly most in the face of popular gangsta/commercial rap. Some say this is Doom's best album, and while i personally prefer Vaudeville Villain, his bizarre and impossibly complex lyrics are really well complemented by some of the best beats Madlib has done yet. Certainly those who enjoyed Lord Quas's timeless "Unseen" album will feel right at home here with the eerie film dialogue clips (rock on Sun-Ra!), haunting jazz loops and overall nicely blunted atmosphere; whilst Quasimoto's first effort was a very laid back album, Doom's influence seems to have given Madlib's production a bit more of a mischievous energetic feel (whilst still being a killer smoke-up album). One thing tho, this album is a definite grower, and stayed ignored for a good couple of weeks by me after the first listen. But give it time and get a feel for what the duo are trying to do, and you will rarely find another hip hop album as fresh or inventive as Madvillainy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2004
some days are just soooo exciting it hurts, ....the two most powerful VILLAINS of the next decade have gotten together to create some more very special moments that can be linked with the straight genius that is MF DOOM! what can i say except that if you,like me?, have spent some of your earthly hours following the pied piper of DOOM on his travels across the last couple of years then you'll probably weep tears of joy when you hear this, so don't think about it anymore, pondering is just pointless at this point! HAND over your hard earned cash & then wait as patiently as possible for the letter box to rattle just days later! it's all good my friends, all good! & if your feeling plucky buy the enhanced version and you'll own a MADVILLAIN video too, it's almost too much is'nt it?? enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2016
Okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2004
The title of my review is simple: The bootleg of this album (or demo or whatever you wanna call it) has been around for some years, and as a collection of half-tracks, it really got a lot of people excited for the finished product. The finished product arrives years later and nobody that heard the demos expected this - one big mess. The demos were dirty and raw, and once tweaked up a bit on production, would have made for one helluva album. Instead, the $-signs must have taken over, as the nervousness of the two megastars involved must have caused this whole re-working of a great album into a shoddy effort. This is a shame, because people would've supported the original release despite downloading it on Kazaa years ago. Everyone wants to get paid, but you two should have known better...
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
Anyone giving this album two stars becasue they downloaded the sample EP too early, deserves to be disappointed. Money-orientated production and notable fame is everything this album isn't. Doom's 'members only' lyrical style is smoother than melted toffee and the musical depth of this album is both interesting and surprising. MF Doom & Madlib have sewn together a jazz/hip-hop patchwork quilt that will raise the eyebrows of even the most doubtful.
As always with a Doom production you are guaranteed clever lyrics and a level of personality that is stylised to some degree, even imitated, but never bettered. This is a real clash of the titans that seemed to have only made a little thud far off in the background of the hiphop world. Absolutely unmissable...
Gets headz nodding everytime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2005
What I really love about this album is the way it resists the temptation to drag the songs on too long. True, some of the skits can get irritating and it lacks soul in places. But if like me you think that hip-hop albums (even some of the classics - I'm looking at you PE) are almost universally too long, this is refreshing as it leaves you gasping for more despite the 22 tracks, the songs don't hang around til they've outstayed their welcome - before you know whats hit you its moved on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
One of the greatest albums of all time by one of the greatest rappers of all time and one of the greatest producers of all time. Madlib + MF DOOM = Confirmed Classic, just like most of DOOM's GOAT discography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)