Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£36.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2016
I bought this on vinyl, when it originally came out. I can remember they being the NeXT big thing after Marillion, but Things did not turn out that way, if you compare fame and fortune.
BUT, this is still a very good album, and I was pleasently surprised that it didn`t sound dated.
Mmmm, I think i will put it on again:)!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 September 2003
On the whole a difficult album to judge in that the material varies quite widely in quality. However, I've given it four stars mainly due to the quite astonishing track 'Atlantis' which, in many ways, has perhaps every ingredient for a towering,symphonic prog song: banks of mellotron-like keys, other-wordly theme (as befits the piece), an epic sense of scale and an indefinable sense of timelessness. I've played this track periodically over the years and it has never failed to 'take me there'. As you might expect with 'Yes's old producer production values are good. The other tracks I should add are in some cases very good too - but to my mind do not compare to 'Atlantis'. Buy it if you're the kind of person who might consider IQ, Marillion, Jadis etc.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
I remember seeing this five piece from the Granite City in the early 1980's,and how mightily impressed I was with their musicianship and theatrics,I recall the lead singer EUAN LOWSON taking on the persona of the "SENTINEL",totally bonkers!...but great stuff nonetheless.The album itself sounds almost live,a very deliberate act,as THE SENTINEL was intended to be replicated note perfect in its entirety as a stageshow.From start to finish THE SENTINEL fails to disapoint,the incredible music and apocalyptic lyrics draws you into a mythical world ( which really is a parallel to this world during the Cold War) which is forewarned by the mysterious "SENTINEL" of impending doom and its aftermath. Its almost 30 years since the release of THE SENTINEL and from its release has always been one of my favoutite albums of all-time,a true Progressive Rock classic. THE SENTINEL by PALLAS, a 5* star album if there ever was one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2007
On first listening, it'll sound like any other Marillion-esque Prog band of the 80's. And then it grabs you. The track 'EastWest' is where it starts. Mellotron and Bass pedal... Oh my God! Absolutely fantastic! An absolute (lost) classic.

Get this, then get the DVD of 'The Blinding Darkness' and you'll see them do it live.

This really is an important Prog album of the 1980's. Don't miss out.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2010
If you believe all you read on various music websites, the original release of The Sentinel was a compromise effort between a concept album and a pop album. Various producers who were originally behind the band's vision lost interest part way through and left the endevour floundering. The Atlantis Suite was originally a live stage performance that Pallas wanted to commit to studio vinyl, but commercial interests meant subduing the vision with a few catchy radio-friendly numbers. Here at last the whole caboodle has been compiled for the official CD release, gathering together released and unreleased cuts from those bumpy studio sessions. So both albums are here, the album Pallas wanted and the album the music industry bosses wanted, and also some BBC recordings thrown in for good measure - I never thought I would ever say Thank You to Tommy Vance and the Friday Rock Show.

For those who love sophisticated prog concept albums this is a feast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
In the early 1980s this sort of music was frowned upon, to the extent that the LP release was something of a compromise between the band's "Atlantis Suite", a set of extended tracks derived from a live performance piece, and the interference of the record company brass who wanted shorter potential hit single tracks, after the fashion of big-hit rock bands like Rainbow. Producer Eddie Offord (of Yes notoriety) is reported to have abandoned the mission part way through the recording sessions, meaning that the scratched together assortment of tracks on the original release had a slightly mismanaged sound about them when taken as a whole. However, considered individually each track was a phenomenon in its own right, establishing Pallas's trademark big drama sound across a range of song styles.

This latterday re-issue brings together the original album along with a handful of additional tracks put down in raw form during the recording sessions, but never produced and refined to the same elevated standard. You can hear what they might have been, but they are in fact highly enjoyable as they stand.

A little bit of history here, together with superb album artwork by Patrick Woodroffe (he of Dave Greenslade fame). Had the music industry been a little more forward looking in the early 1980s this album would have gone far and jumped the band to superstardom; instead they half-heartedly recorded a second poor album and then disbanded for a dozen or so years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
This masterful concept album shows prog-rockers Pallas at their best. The band's style resembles early Marillion, with over-blown keyboards, heavy bass lines and soaring guitar. The album tells the story of how mankind repeatedly tears itself apart with global warfare and how the Atlantis machine is developed to aid man in such times. The songs are well structured and, mostly, punchy. The opening trio of Shock Treatment, Cut and Run and Arrive Alive are high velocity rockers which get the album of to a great start. Whilst the album sags a little in the middle (Eastwest, March on Atlantis), the trilogy of Heart Attack, Atlantis and the majestic Ark of Infinity close it brilliantly. Accepting that Pallaa could never rival Marillion in terms of musicianship, this is still a very good album and one I would recommend to anyone who enjoys good progressive rock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Finally got around to getting a digital version of this. It's stood the test of time pretty well. Great musicianship. I always thought Pallas suffered a bit at the time, with comparisons to Marillion et al., but i think this album was never going to appeal to the wider "pop/rock" audience, as it is truly in the fantasy/sci-fi genre. Production could've been better, Eddie Offord must have been past his best. But a great album, and the B-sides are a great addition, as i think Eastwest & Heart Attack are as good as anything that made the original LP. Worth Getting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
The band started out playing a tour of medium size concert halls but suited the more intimate clubs and halls.This was my fave album of early 80's new wave of British prog,just ahead of Twelfth Night and Marillion releases.The album has no weak links with songs that worked on the live circuit,the audience sing-a-longs & clap along to the drumbeat one as well as just listen along to the fine music.If "Heaven & Earth"left you cold this year and you yearn for classic Prog,check this out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2011
I had this album on vinal since 84, the music seems a bit dated now but if you like collecting prog rock this is a must.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)