Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
192
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 March 2015
In brief: such a bad film, I've already listed this for resale on a popular second-hand website.

At length: perhaps it's because I recently read the book this is based on; perhaps its because I've already seen (and loved) Michael Mann's "Manhunter"; perhaps it's because I recently watched the excellent, "The Silence of the Lambs". Perhaps it's a combination of all three. Either way, I found this film to be utter rubbish. Edward Norton's Will Graham had no pathos at all. Anthony Hopkins was over-used, and his Lector seemed a poor caricature of his first portrayal. Ralph Fiennes had no menace at all. This version of the film is very faithful to the text of the book (with some odd lapses that seemed to do nothing but favour stereotypes and clichés over the rounded characters of the book), but still somehow lost all the urgency and tension that give the book its edge. I felt absolutely no sense of horror, or any tension, at any point. I found the score intrusive and quite childish in its implementation. It's as though the score had to work overtime to compensate for an otherwise complete lack of tension or horror.

Don't buy this unless you're a completist.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2003
The Silence of the Lambs is my second favourite film of all time and the other two movies have grown around the outstanding success of the first movie. Neither of the movies to follow the Demme masterpiece, either the sequel in Hannibal or prequel in Red Dragon are as powerful or good as Lambs.
Each film comes with 2 discs, DTS sound in some cases and the second disc contains a wealth of special features, some of the best I believe there is out there.
This trilogy (not including the original Red Dragon, Manhunter) will be one of the most talked about trilogies for years to come and I recommend that if you are a fan of the psychological thriller market you purchase the box set, not least for the beautiful way they're presented.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 30 January 2013
It's got everything you want in a movie the "real" Hannibal Lector" (Hopkins) some notable and respected actors such as Ralph Fiennes, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Emily Watson, and Harvey Keitel.

For me it just didn't work out from the word go.
Edward Norton (clearly miscast here) falls a long way short of William Petersen's performance who genuinely does come across as a man who's wrestling with his mind, Norton just seems to be bashing along with the script and can't convey the mental anguish that Petersen did so well.

If we bypass the Hannibal Lecter element (ie Hopkins in the role he defined as his own) Has to be said in my view Brian Cox was an excellent Dr. Lecter in his own right (a bit more menacing and outwardly manipulative) That aside the Lecter part is not a huge one in this film (not compared to silence of the lambs this is a minor role in this story) Next to the "tooth fairy" Again I respect Ralph Fiennes for his attempt at the role but he's really not half as scary or downright freaky as Tom Noonan was.

Even the reporter "Freddie Lounds" Played by Hoffman v Stephen Lang in Manhunter. There is an important scene where the tooth fairly is torturing "Freddie" (the well known teeth one) Hoffman doesn't really seem that scared, his performance pales badly to Land who is genuinely terrified in his voice and actions in the original.

I could go through the entire cast list and sadly say Red Dragon V Manhunter performances just don't stack up very well for Red Dragon. Norton just seems to be there for the pay cheque without ever really getting into Graham's role in a way he should, his acting looks cheesy and pale against Petersen and this is the lead role for the movie. Even Emily Watson who I usually like in her performances fails to really shine here.

I'm not going to blame the cast entirely though, because I think part of the problem is that this film works "much better" as a Michael Mann movie than it does a Brett Ratner one. I personally think Mann is one of the more interesting director's out there, some feel his work is a bit overly dramatic/stylised and overly themed in both audio and visuals. (take your pick of his films such as Mohicans and Heat etc) But at least he "has some style" and guts to put up something that's going to leave you with a lasting impression (I would argue both films noted there are good ones) v Ratner's rather hmm CV which includes mostly comedies such as "Rush hour" (decent but this ain't no comedy film) and an X men film.

Ratner lacks vision, pace and the ability to make this film the edgy thriller and excellent story it is. Mann is a tough act to follow at times (like him or not he is unique in his style) Despite the mostly good cast he's come across as simply going through the motions as a director. He can't get the edge and performances out of the cast he should do and the film suffers for that.

Interestingly the Cinematographer for both is the well known Dante Spinotti, very unique in his style. Even here I have to say his work stands out more on the original than the new version. It's far from bad in the new version but those wonderful angles and static shots in Manhunter are not there in Red Dragon to the same degree. Audio wise again leaving the 80's theme aside I felt the music in Manhunter was a lot more on the pulse and appropriate for the story.

In my view Red Dragon fails to live up to expectations, the cast appears to have turned up for the cheque and don't really have their hearts in the production. They lack the sharp performances of the original cast who across the board outperform their modern equivalents hands down. If you're in any doubts about this, then I would suggest a viewing of Manhunter..put aside the Mann style aspects and you've basically got far better acting and a much more intense telling of this story. The superb ending in Manhunter with the final showdown and Graham pumping bullets into the tooth fairy is a utterly convincing and has you on the edge of your seat. In contrast Red Dragon ends with the bang of a lightly dressed salad that's been left out for days (ie it's limp and unexciting) Watch both movies back to back it's hard to even sit through Red Dragon (sadly)

Red Dragon pales compared to it's 80's cousin. Disappointing considering the potential here
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2008
So was Dino de Laurentis short of cash? Doubtful. Was he trying to recoup money lost on the box office failure of Manhunter, Michael Mann's superior version from 1986? Possibly. Did he feel that Mann's version lacked artistic integrity and wanted to improve on it? Very doubtful but if he did, he was utterley misguided. Or did he simply want to line up all the Leckter based films in order to complete the set with Anthony Hopkins? I doubt that too.

More likely he just wanted to make more money from those who would pay to see yet another inferior remake. Yes, that must be it. Many who saw Manhunter fail to recognise it as an exceptionally well crafted piece of film-making and comparisons to it are inevitable. Certainly Red Dragon is an acceptable piece of entertainment when viewed as a stand-alone piece, but in comparison to Manhunter it is considerably inferior. Mann has a strong visual style which uses composition and colour to great effect and the use of music is considered without becoming overwhelming. The director here, Brett Ratner, offers nothing special in the way of style, attempting to emulate the feel of Silence of the Lambs and frequently the music gets in the way of any intended suspense. It is interesting to note, however, that the same cinematographer, Dante Spinotti, worked on both films.

Anthony Hopkins is beginning to look tired in his role as Leckter although the depth that he gave the role in Silence of the Lambs made for a truly frightening character. I always preferred Brain Cox (although his was hardly a starring role), but he had the power to chill, something which Hopkins' Leckter does not. Edward Norton is here badly miscast and while he is a fine actor who is always watchable, here he looks too young and fresh to make the Will Graham character convincing as someone who is able to 'get inside the head' of the killer, something that in the story he has done to the point of being seriously psychologically affected by it. Norton coasts easily through the role, as does Harvey Keitel and while Ralph Fiennes offers up an acceptable killer with a deranged psyche, he pales agains Tom Noonan's Dollarhyde from the earlier film. Noonan was terrifying as the killer yet he evoked sympathy, a synthesis which serves to disturb the viewer far more than any graphic murders which thankfully we were spared. This was especially evident in the bedroom scene following Reba's seduction. The scene with the tiger, incredibly poignant in Manhunter, simply falls flat here, as does the moment of revelation when Graham finally places the last piece with the film canister labels. This sense of flatness pervades the whole film.

Red Dragon does however, include fragments of Dollarhyde's past. This was fairly extensive in the book and non existant in Mann's film (again, Noonan's performance made it unnecessary), but here it simply provides a convenient way for Graham to extricate himself from the situation which precedes the final showdown, itself made predictable at a point much earlier in the film. And of course, in the way of Fatal Attraction we have the now well overused false ending but don't worry, I haven't spoilt anything, you'll be expecting it.

The story itself is generally much the same as in the earlier film but lacks everything which made that film special. If you've not seen Manhunter, Red Dragon is standard serial killer fare: see it then watch the original. If you have seen the earlier version, don't bother.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2012
It's hard not to watch Red Dragon without making comparisons to Manhunter, Hollywood's first stab at Red Dragon by Thomas Harris. Brett Ratner's direction is uninspiring and functional rather than thrilling and something that should be genuinely exciting, like the realisation of who Red Dragon is, is treated matter-of-factly. Contrast this with Michael Mann's inspired direction of the earlier version. It's predecessor Manhunter hangs heavily over the proceedings like a black veil, the actors seem unsure of what to do, knowing in all probability that they are participating in an inferior piece of cinema. There is definitely an element of taking the money and running from everyone involved. Edward Norton is miscast as Will Graham but he isn't the only problem because with every familiar set-up it's difficult not to compare and contrast to it's superior ancestor. Edward Norton is inferior to William F Petersen, Harvey Kietel is inferior to Dennis Farina, Ralph Fiennes is inferior to Tom Noonan, Philip Seymour Hoffman is inferior to Stephen Lang, Emily Watson is inferior to Joan Allen and even Anthony Hopkins is inferior to Brian Cox. And what of Anthony Hopkin's Hannibal Lector, the reason the film was made in the first place? Lector was always a hokey villain but Hopkin's Lector has turned into an old ham with all the menace of a new born puppy. The few new scenes like the attack on Will Graham add little to the story and only add running time to a film that's too long anyway. Poor and pointless, it's a film to be avoided.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 9 July 2007
This is a little better than I expected. It may be closer to the book (which I have not read) but its not as good as Manhunter, and its a big drop in quality from the under-rated Hannibal and it certainly doesn't stand up to any comparison with Silence of the Lambs. However, the cast are good and there are some chilling moments, but good as the cast are, Ralph Fiennes is just not scary compared with Tom Noonans performance in Manhunter.
My advice if you want to buy one version of the Red Dragon story is to buy Manhunter. If you really must see this version, rent both this and Manhunter and only then if you prefer Red Dragon buy it.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Good film. But I think the title is misleading. Fans of dragons, Ed Norton, or the colour 'red' will be disappointed. Fans of nutcase serial killer maniacs will enjoy this. Extra points for being on the antiquated and outmoded "DvD" format!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
This was a completely pointless film which entirely lacks the style and tension of Michael Mann's brilliant 'Manhunter'. The very good cast try their best, but it doesn't look right and it doesn't sound right. 'Manhunter' was an 80's film - and it looks it - but it remains a classic and in a different league to this venture.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This box set is so good! they all come in a really jazzy gift box which is nice and eye catching. the three films are ace anyway and on top of that you get three bonus discs with extra footage on them and loads of other cool stuff! I would really recommend this product. Enjoy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Why?
Its drab,dull and lifeless, great actors are wasted here, they appear lacking enthusiasm or interest, simply going through the motions.
To be fair it doesn't help that there is little or no drive to the movie, when it should get moving and involve you with the chase it becomes bogged down and drawn out, when it should have more suspense its rushed and ruined.
Brett Ratner did a great job with Rush Hour 1 & 2 which he directed before this but is he really suited to this kind of movie?
Sadly it would seem not.
Although we all know its a remake to cash in on Mr Lecter's character i suggest we buy the book instead, you can get the double book of this AND Silence of the lambs for 1p on here!! Now that's something really worth getting your teeth into.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.39

Need customer service? Click here