Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
3
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2004
The first time I listened to this album the eskimo beats came in, totally original and interesting, which compliments the beautiful cold street lyrics that Wiley (and other members of Roll Deep) spit. All around great album, has the crazy beats equaling to the ones of Dizzee Rascals. A very different album, but I would only suggest buying it if you have an open mind for music. For most UK Street-life, and MC/garage lovers, this is a must buy. As I am making this a realistic review, I will make bad points as well as good, as the album isn't perfect (as near to it, as it is), it's a little dissapointing that Raskit (Dizzee Rascal) didn't make an appearance is and also a little suprising. And I think he could of easily had 20 tracks, (like interludes "Avalanche, Ice Rink" are actual beats that Raskit and Wiley have MC'ed over), and maybe some faster lyrics wouldn't hurt, as he is more than capable. A must buy for people rolling deeper.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2004
A really fantatsic album which will easily weather the Dizzee Rascalcomparsions coming its way. Taking similar elements to Boy In Da Corner,this album outstrips that album completley in terms of the music. Anyonewith even a passing interest in modern music should get this albumstraight away in order to hear a true chapter in British music beingwritten. Wiley manages to combine the stabbing chords of acid house andSquarepusher/Autechre electronica with grubby breaks and gut shreddingbreaks. It is almost so cutting edge it's avant garde and surelyrepresents one of the most exciting scenes since early punk. His MCing ismore comparable with Mike Skinner than the fierce social commentary ofDizzee Rascal, but he holds his own well particularly on the brilliantGoin' Mad. I challenge you to hear this track and not get goose bumps. Hopefully Wiley's sound won't get entirely swallowed up by the mainstreamas often happens with true mavericks, but either way he has produced oneof the best debuts albums for years. Go get it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2004
To be honest I'm somewhat let down with Wiley's album. After hearing him on 'Boy In Da Corner' and some freestyles, I found out that he was releasing an album, so based on that I bought it.
I do think he's a wicked MC but... there's something missing in this album. Most of the songs on the album are really good but even then, they aren't spectacular and get a bit repetitive. Judging from he's freestyles and Boy In Da Corner he's a much more 'capable' MC, he just doesn't seem to use it all that much on the album, which is really a shame considering that album could have been fantastic. I'm not hating here, I'm being honest, I think Wiley's a wicked MC... its just this album doesn't reflect it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Introspective lyrics that anyone can relate to laid over beats that are a hybrid of garage and the type of sounds you'd expect to hear bumping out of a Sega mega drive, all the while executed with Wiley's characteristic punchy flow . Well worth a purchase for anyone interested in the origins of grime or British music in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2004
just got wileys new album and i have to say it is wicked. its verydifferent to what i expected as it is far more hip/hop influenced than ithought it would be. his underground tracks (with the exception of 'igloo'which is incorporated into 'wat u call it') like icerink,eskimo andavalanche are confined to intros probably as the record label thought theywere too obscure for a commercial album.
they are some claqssic tracks on the album such as 'treddin on thin ice','goin mad', 'special girl', 'got somebody. its pretty different to dizzeerascals album as it is way more mellow and commercial which isntnecessarily a bad thing and its still very cutting edge compared toeverything else on the market.
this is a must buy for all urban fans and i suggest everyone gets it cozwiley, dizzee and roll deep are the future of uk black music so go out andsupport real talent instead of buying justin timberlake, 50 cent and otheramerican junk.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2006
This is a must have cd This was Wileys first cd.Wiley is SICK!!!!!!!!People are calling this hiphop and urban and stuff the musics called GRIME!

Buy this cd wileys flows are big.

If you are a Wiley fan then you have to buy Wiley -Da 2nd Phaze this is his second album.Also wiley has released Tunnel Vision 1,2,3 and 4 and 5 are coming out very soon.Wiley is taking the Tunnel Vision to vol 10.

And if you dont no Wiley has been signed to the Big Dada label and Wiley is releasing a new Album which should be out early next year.And if yo want to get hold of wileys other cds send me a message and i tell where you can get them from cos Amazon does not stock these cds.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2004
Nice album wileys made here, nothing amazing - just nice. When compared to be in da corner this album is average although they do sound very similar.
Some nice beats in 'doorways' and 'reasons' with some catchy lyrics but......
....the main problem with this album is that it lacks any decent guest apperances (wheres dizzee?)and therefore leaves wiley going the whole album solo. He's a wicked rapper and even manages some lyrical content, but just doesnt create ne thing stunnin. Im being a bit harsh basically because i expected more, because he haz made better tunes.
Buy it if ur a garage fan
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2015
The item is in a very good condition . I'm happy to have it .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2015
Great item great seller 5 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2005
wiley's album is average at best but again quite good for the uk hip hop/ urban scene as the popularit of the uk scene is getting bigger by the day due to Mtv base, Channel U and Ben TV are just a few tv channels that are promoting uk hip hop.
the standout tracks are pies, tredding on thin ice, wo do u call it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)