Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 1 October 2016
👍🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
What a shame I am not very I.T. savvy. I didnot realise that I would have difficulty playingthe DVD. None of the equipment in our house would play this DVD so I still don't know what my grandsons think of it!!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
I grew up watching TMNT (or TMHT as it was known in the United Kingdom, due to TV censors claiming the word "Ninja" had too many violent conotations), and was delighted when the DVD release of the original series was announced.

This release features the entire first season from 1987. This can be a little misleading, as the first season only consisted of 5 episodes: "Turtle Tracks", "Enter the Shredder", "A Thing About Rats", "Hot-Rodding Teenagers From Dimension X" and "Shredder and Splintered". Over the course of these episodes, we see many Turtles favourites introduced; Shredder, Krang, April O'Neil, Bebop and Rocksteady, even minor characters like General Tragg that were known best for their action figure counterparts!

To compensate for the short first season, a bonus four episodes from 1996's Season 10 (which never made it to British TV screens) are included: "The Beginning of the End", "The Return of Dregg", "Monster From Dimension X" and "The Day the Earth Disappeared". While these episodes are quite interesting to watch from the perspective as someone who only saw the first couple of seasons of the show as a child, they don't have the same magic that the old episodes had; the animation looks a lot cheaper, like many modern cartoons, and much of the humour from earlier episodes is absent.

Unfortunately, there are no documentaries about the cultural impact the show had or anything along those lines, which would have been very interesting. The only bonus features are the extra episodes.

I personally hadn't seen the first couple of episodes until buying this set, since the craze reached my school a few episodes in. I'd seen "How It All Began" (fellow Turtles fans of my generation will probably be able to remember this early 90s VHS release!) which combined clips of the first couple of episodes to explain the origin of the Turtles. An interesting note about the first season is that the episodes follow a linear storyline, and the episodes are sequential (some taking place directly after the events at the end of the previous episode).

The DVD picture quality is good. The quality is crisp, considering it is a cartoon from 1987. Some imperfections can be seen fairly frequently, though this is probably due to the age of the cartoons and the quality of the original broadcasts and not due to poor production values, as the 1996 episodes are much crisper quality. Sound has the slight imperfections that you'd expect from a cartoon from the 80s, and is completely listenable.

Menus are excellent, featuring great airbrushed art very typical of original Turtles merchandise and artwork from the late 80s and early 90s.

The DVD comes in a case within a foil-enhanced cardboard sleeve featuring some great artwork of the Turtles emerging from the sewer in the airbrushed glory of 1980s, cartoon New York. This is the most attractive of any of the DVD releases so far. Artwork quality on subsequent releases decreased significantly.

A fantastic trip down memory lane, and well worth the price!
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2004
The first entire season of the Teenage Mutant Hero/Ninja Turtles!!

ok, 3 stars becuase the episodes are fab quality, and I highly recommend this to any fans of the old toon. BUT (and thats a capital but!!) the "complete first season" means the first 5 episodes. Which is bad, most sets like this have 10+ episodes, or at least 2 discs, but nevermind. Getting an "entire season boxset" you'd expect more than five episodes... Also the bonus features are kinda weird, they have random episodes from the 10th season which just don't fit in, I thought they'd either not bother with extras or at elast save season 10 for a season 10 boxset.

Oh, and this is not a boxset, this is a little cardboard cover with a normal dvd case inside it.

The only reason this gets 3 is because they are classic episodes, and I want more!!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2008
A good dvd. This is how it all started and introduces all the main characters.

Being a massive turtle this was a must have. I'd buy this along with volume 2 however as this does have only four episodes. But that is reflected in the price.

I haven't bothered with the bonus episodes as these are from series 10 and I like to watch things in order.

Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Great dvd. I did have to change the dvd option on my pc to watch it but that was my mistake. Fast delivery. Great price. Would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
was very disappointed with this just for the fact it is for usa use did not know this please can this be made clearer
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
It only plays on a couple of videos as I think it is an american copy. But my 4 year old grandson loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2015
dissapointed as selled on uk amazon but only plays in american stay away if u from uk
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2016
Doesn't deserve even 1 star and it didn't work bit of a xmas let down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)