Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2017
Listened to it lots on Spotify before buying - worth having on CD for the better quality sound and to pay my way to the artist. I love it and plan to get From Sleep next.

If you've not heard it, it's beautiful orchestral melody - fairly simple repetitive melodies which evolve. Some may sound familiar as it's made it's way on to movie soundtracks and other places on TV. There are narrated sections in and around the music and sound effects which add to the atmosphere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 December 2015
Music of the spheres: the sound of pulsing synthesisers, fragments of melody from cellos and violins, found sound and narrated segments conjoined to produce a sonorous, hauntingly other -worldly experience. This is a melding of classical meets New Age meets electronica and will find favour according to how you enjoy the prospect of this sort of ‘cross-over’. For me, the project works because there is enough musical substance and inventiveness going on to warrant giving it serious listening time. This is not a ‘cut and paste’ exercise but a thoughtful mixing of seemingly disparate musical elements to create a flowing evocation of moods, mostly of the melancholic kind. In another guise this album could pass for a film- noir soundtrack.

To get the most from this album- be prepared to give it time. Listen to it late at night for full effect.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Beautiful music at its best. Mr Richter really knows how to set a mood and allow the music to shine through. I thought the fully orchestrated piece at the end was stunning and had me really moved. Recommend this to music lovers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
One word "Brilliant"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2009
I bought this on Vinyl having already purchased it on CD. You can hear snippets of the tracks from various websites (Y@@@ube etc) though i'd guess if you're reading this review you know what to expect. Modern day composing using technology and tradition, this album offers the lot.. delicated chamber pieces to futuristic pieces. It is very relaxing and therapeutic and I would wholeheartedy recommend this guy's work to anyone.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2006
Like Memoryhouse, Max Richter's sadly deleted first CD, this album is suffused with a forlorn melancholia. The quotes from Franz Kafka (beautifully read by Tilda Swinton), compound the feeling that this is a nostalgic homage to the lost world of East European cultures that were shattered by Stalinist purges and Nazi pogroms. The standout track, 'The Shadow Journal', is impossibly beautiful, distilling the album's sense of loss into an achingly sad refrain for violin and, suprisingly, a jay!

Small but perfectly formed.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2017
As a 40 something predominantly bored of pop and rock music and finding myself listening to more and more movie soundtracks I came across Max Richter and the hauntingly beautiful On the Nature of Daylight as featured in the Soundtrack to the Movie Arrival.
This led me to this album which I streamed for a while before purchasing the vinyl.
As others said, best listened to late at night there is no better way to relax.
I would also recommend the album From Sleep which will be my next purchase before I delve any further.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2005
I can't recommend this album highly enough. The 4th track, Shadow Journal, is possibly one of the most beautiful pieces of music I've ever heard. Difficult to define or put into a category but I'll make a stab at it by calling it a mixture of classical, electronica and ambient/chill out. Simply stunning. £12 very well spent..
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2010
this music was used on the TV drama DIVe, the linking of the passages to the story line was in my opinion superb, The arrangement caught the mood exactly, and listening to the cd on its own does not dissapoint, well worth a listen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
From all the five star reviews here on Amazon, my expectations turned out to be too high for this album. Tracks 1, 2 and 11 are very good. The rest of the songs aren't bad, but for the most part they start off promising and then fail to go anywhere. The clicking type writer is overused and distracts more than it adds.

Along a similar vein, I believe fans of tracks 1, 2 and 11 will be much better served by Brian Eno's "The Pearl" or "Music for Airports", Harold Budd's "Perhaps", Goldmund's "Corduroy Road" (available for download on iTunes), Arvo Pärt's "Alina" or "Miserere", Peter Gabriel's "Passion", or Hauschka's "Ferndorf".
11 Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)