Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
14
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 7 May 2004
Firstly I would like to say that i have read numerous reviews about 'The Neon God,' many of which were written in the first 24hrs of it's release. The majority of reviews have been written in a positive light but i honestly believe that to give a truly accurate account of this record you have to listen to it over a certain period of time to appreciate how superb this piece of work is.
This is Blackie at his best. I have to agree that it is very difficult not to compare this record with The Crimson Idol, but it stands up well on it's own, and does the difficult job of improving on it's predecessor.
Listening to comments on the poor production is becoming tedious. The base and drums do take a back seat a little but i believe this has been orchestred purposley and does no harm to the final product.
Darrell Roberts guitar playing is excellent and Blackie's vocals are superb. Buy this record, it rocks.
Being a Wasp fan for over fifteen years my opinion is that this could be Wasp's masterpiece. I'll wait for part 2 before i make my final decision.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 March 2017
The late '90s and early 2000s were an interesting period for shock rockers W.A.S.P.. The band went from embracing their shock tactics on KFD, moved onto the party orientated Helldorado and moved quickly into more serious territories with Dying For The World.

Well when that tour was out of the way, W.A.S.P. main man Blackie Lawless announced a two part album to be released in 2004 titled The Neon God. The album is a double concept record based on the rise and fall of a character called Jesse who discovers the ability to read minds and manipulate people.

When The Neon God Part 1 came out, the album was received with mixed praise. Some people did not enjoy the concept, found that the album was essentially biting off more than you can chew. Others felt that the songs on the record were top quality and enjoyed it despite its faults. As a W.A.S.P. fan, I was one of the latter and I enjoy re-visiting this album to this day.

With songs like Sister Sadie (And The Black Habits) and Asylum #9 under their belts, W.A.S.P. had the most energetic and creative sound in years. The playing was top notch with Frankie Banali, Mike Duda and Darrell Roberts pulling out all the stops as they rock the hell out of the fourteen song track list. Blackie Lawless himself puts out a lot of great vocal sections, the highlight being the finale The Raging Storm. On this number, Lawless hits some extremely passionate high notes, some of the highest he has ever hit.

The over all concept of the album sort of falls flat on its backside, this isn't helped by the strange production choices. The drums have a very big echoing sound that leaves them very much in the background, the guitars sound extremely thin and it just sounds a little awkward to my ears. Despite this complaint, it is still far from the worst that W.A.S.P. have sounded.

This album is definitely worth buying for fans of W.A.S.P. and general completionists. It has some great songs on there, has a good amount of momentum that makes the record a very easy one to listen to. Unfortunately both this and the sequel are now out of print, if you want a copy you will have to pay high prices.

Published by Steven Lornie of Demonszone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2004
this album completly took my breath away. i'd already fallen in love with crimson idol (and the rest)and blackie's voice and was very excited to hear that the boys were going to be releasing a new album. i had tears in my eyes when it finished and was sat staring with my mouth wide open - i was speechless! i thought crimson was fantastic but this is phenomenal! its difficult to pinpoint my favourite song but if i really have to choose it would have to be "what i'll never find" - and its even better live. darrell roberts is a guitar god! blackie, mike, frankie (stet cos he's playing on the tour)and darrell are all living legends in my opinion and should be treated as so. this album has converted some of the biggest pop (yuck!) fans i know and truely deserves my five stars. im eagerly awaiting part 2. blackie, you rock! \m/
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2004
Okay I'll admit I had high hopes for this album. Anything less than awesome and I was going to be disappointed. Let's just say I'm not disappointed! The album is drawn from previous outings such as The Crimson Idol and the last 2 albums. Production values could be higher and at times the album does sound a little muddy , however...
The album does NOT suffer from any weak tracks and several storming tracks. The beginning feels confusing, but it soon settles down quickly to the WASP that we all know and love! Particular attention should be paid to Asylum #, What I can never have (possibly WASP's greatest EVER popwer ballad), Sister Sadie and Raging Storm.
Although comparisons will be made between this and The Crimson Idol, The Neon God stands on it's own as a powerful acheivement and we can only hope that part 2 mirrors and improves on what we have here.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2004
In listening to this new record, it really hits me: Blackie Lawless mustbe the single most underrated artist alive.
I have always been a WASPfan and I have enjoyed a musical journey with them starting from the timesof the more fun recklessness of 'WASP' and 'The Last Command' to the moreserious and thought provoking 'Headless' and 'The Crimson Idol'.
Whether you are a WASP fan or have never listened to them before, if youare looking for an album that will become an instant classic in yourcollection you must buy this release.
'The Neon God' will take you on a journey through the life of Jesse Slane,a boy who since very early on is exposed to the more cruel realities oflife. He loses his father at age 6 and his mother, who becomes a drugaddict, doesn't want to deal with him so she gives him up to a religiousorphanage where he is abused and mistreated for years.
After he manages to escape he goes out into the world trying to findmeaning to his life. Along the way he will become in touch with goodinfluences and with not so good ones, which will in the end determinewhich path he chooses in life...
Blackie Lawless is a master storyteller and you will find yourself feelingfor this character as if he was a real life person. The sounds of therecord vary from explosive relentless hard rock, to gut wrenching balladsthat will stop you dead on your track. Not a bad song in this album. Thelyrics are well written and thought provoking (I was speechless at anotherreviewers comment that the lyrics in this album make no sense), and aremasterfully matched to the story and tempo of each song.
Overall this album is a masterpiece. A collection of songs and sounds thatwill rock your bones but that will unequivocally stimulate you intellectas well. You must not miss it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2004
Well, having read a few reviews about this album, but making the effort to go and see the boys in Bradford before buying, I have to say, this is an amzing piece of work.
i think people who spend more time going on about the production sound etc etc are completely missing the point, stop criticising and start listening, i have been playing this CD for a few days now, and I can honestly say it gets better with every listen. The raw emotion in Blackies Voice has not waned over the years, he has to be one of the few that has matured with age, and yet lost none of the passion.
I could warble on about this for hours, but all I can say is, BUY IT!!! YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2004
I saw wasp in manchester before buying this album, when i saw them and they played some of the new material i was blown away. I bought this album and heard the rest. This is one of the greatest albums i have in my collection keeping in mind i have all of the Iron Maiden records.
BUY THIS CD YOUR LIFE DEPENDS ON IT!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2004
fantastic!!!!
Blackie lawless back to his best.
its a roller coasterof hard fast rock,quite diffrent to other wasp abulms.
its great tohear blackie at his best joined by frankie banali on drums,
from thevery intro and into the second track(why i am here) it is puremetal.
once again fantastic....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2004
Having spent countless hours listening to Blackies creations in the past Ihad pretty high expectations for this new album, since it is supposed tobe another concept album in the style of the highly successful "Thecrimson Idol". If you are looking for the standard 10 song rock album youwill probably not like the Neon God at first. The music is constantlychanging style, rhytm and length so that you never know when one song endsand another begins. All perfectly mixed with a story, just as disturbingas it is seductive. This album will never reach the top of the chartssimply because most people don't have enough patience to understand it. Iam sure that the Neon god will be with me for many years to come, becauseit is way too complex to ever grow tired of. A better chorus on XTC Ridersand it would have gotten 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2005
I'm a great fan of Crimson Idol, so I wanted to like this album but I'm afraid found it disappointing. Only 4 Tracks stand out for me, What I'll never Find, The Running Man, XTC Rider, Raging Storm.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)