Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
75
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 April 2015
I think it's important to note that this was originally a 1942 play, Flare Path, by Terence Rattigan.

Although this version is very fine and contains several excellent performances, the stage play is much tauter, concentrated and emotive. Still, unless and until you get the chance to see a production, this movie will do very well...but read the play text as well!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the County of Wiltshire where I live, there are a number of abandoned old World War two airfields. They are mostly overgrown now. Sometimes you may still find a rusty old nissan hut or a small crumbling stretch of exposed runway. They stand as mute testament to a time when our very shores were threatened by Nazi Germany and we were exposed to the depredations of the Luftwafe. Young men flew into battle from these airfields to protect our freedom. Many never returned. This film is all about them.

The title of the film "The Way to the Stars" is taken from the Latin motto of the RAF. The film was directed by Anthony Asquith and the screenplay was partly written by the great playwright Terence Rattigan, who was well qualified as he served as a Flight Lieutenant in the RAF during the war. It is largely based on his own experiences during that conflict. The film boasts a wonderful cast of great British actors.

The film is set largely around the fictional RAF station of Halfpenny field and the nearby village of Shepley. It is set between 1940 and 1944. John Mills plays a new young Pilot Officer just arrived at the base. He is greeted by a Flight Lieutenant played by Michael Redgrave. The more experienced Redgrave shows the inexperienced Mills the ropes. He is a quick learner and soon becomes the much respected pilot of a Bristol Blenheim. We then watch the characters lives unfold around the air base and the village. We see their loves and the human tragedy when some fail to return from their dangerous missions. We later see the Americans in their Flying Fortresses enter the fray in their ebullient and colourful manner.

Although there is very little in this film to excite the viewer who wants to see lots of action, this in no way lessens the strong impact of the film. The terrible risks and the stresses involved in those perilous missions are well conveyed through the simple human responses to tragic loss. This is told through the servicemen on the base, the villagers of Shepley and the loved ones. The acting is superb. Redgrave and Mills are perfectly cast as the typical RAF Officer of the period, although the handle bar moustaches were sadly lacking. Trevor Howard turns in a brief but effective performance as the young Squadron Leader. This was only his second film role and his first that was credited. Stanley Holloway gives a lovely comic performance as a local wag who props up the bar in the local, and Rosamund John provides a very pretty love interest for Redgrave. That great old British screen veteran Basil Radford provides wonderful support.

The film evokes a very realistic picture of the period, so my Mother tells me, and she should know. This gives it a freshness to this day. On watching the village scenes today it is a bit like looking through a glass darkly to glimpse a more innocent and contented era. All this despite the problems that beset our nation at that time. Those deserted airfields are now a place where phantoms come to brood and mourn. We should not forget the sacrifices that those many young men from the RAF and the USAAF made during our Country's desperate hour of need. This film is a fitting elegy to their memory. The film is worthy of the full restoration package, but until that time this will have to suffice. Highly recommended.
11 Comment| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2016
A true classic of the war years, this is really good if you view it through those glasses. Certainly it plays to stereotypes and messages but it's not always cardboard cutouts. Toddy, and her relationships with the various patrons who come through her hotel, is a really great character. The stresses and unrelenting nature of war take their toll rather than being glossed over and even the brash characters have softness and depth. Above all though, it's another fantastic John Mills film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
The title is obviously taken from the Latin motto of the RAF. This is an excellent movie about relationships in World War 2 when an airman's life could go out like a candle. Michael Redgrave is superb, as he invariably is on the screen, as the doomed flight-lieutenant. John Mills personifies the stiff upper-lipped patriot (cf. Scott of the Antarctic) whose relationship with Renee Asherson is frowned on by Joyce Carey (she also starred in Brief Encounter with Stanley Holloway). Rosamund John, who runs the hotel, falls victim to the consequences of a pilot's career, and it was touching to see her comparing notes with the new American pilot (Canadian actor Douglas Montgomery). There were some mawkish moments, as when Redgrave's poem to 'Johnny' is posthumously read out by Mills, but also some nice touches, as when the young Jean Simmons on her film debut sings ' Let him go, let him tarry'. I wouldn't rate this as the best war film I've ever seen, but it is eminently watchable
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 June 2011
Sappy, melodramatic and dated at times, but also very well done, and emotionally
understated enough that the sappiness doesn't take over the experience.

The film traces 4 years in the life of a UK Air Force base during WW II (1940-1944). An
interesting approach to a war film, in that the camera never shows battle, never leaves the
ground, but focuses on the lives of the fliers, their officers, and their women. That can lead
to a certain soap opera quality, but also to a film that doesn't feel quite like any other war film I've seen.

The acting is mostly top notch (Michael Redgrave, in particular), although some of
the many characters fall into caricature.

But the film isn't afraid to kill off major characters, and deal with the emotional consequences.
Some of the most interesting and moving scenes are how the men deal with losses with almost
complete suppression of emotion - which feels very honest.

Also, there's some real fun had with the differences between the British fliers, and the US troops
who join them in 1942.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
This is a very moving and involving movie. It is easy to dismiss this sort of film as 'stiff upper lip' fodder but social mores have changed vastly and we are lucky to live relatively comfortable, peaceful lives, not facing death on a daily basis. It does, to its credit, try to show the emotional toll on the John Mills character and not just wave a flag. And Rosamund John is adorable as 'Toddy', who runs the local hotel. Lovely stuff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2008
A very good example of the genre. Great characters and I particularly liked the interaction between the British and the Americans.
However I was a bit disapointed with the quality of the DVD, the sound was good but the pictures were almost smudgy in appearance.
11 Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
Another old friend - I first saw this in the autumn of 1945. It's a very powerful and moving film with a great cast, and I believe the first appearance on film of Jean Simmons, singing for once. It deals with life round an airfield as the war moves on, with moments of warmth and tragedy. I was surprised to find it so affecting when seeing it again after more than 50 years.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2015
Although a bit soppy in places the sentiment say everything about war. Brilliantly acted and yet another superb British WW2 film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2011
I have seen this film many times on a sunday afternoon when they used to play them in the 60s and 70s. I am so happy to finally own it on DVD.

The acting was superb with everything so subtle and understated, which used to be so British. I loved the touching poetry which seemed to be the only acceptable way to express deep sadness, eloquently. The American service men seemed so modern in their positive go get 'em attitude. The difference in culture was palpable. I suppose since then the Brits have become more American. The wartime fears about getting too involved emotionally were sensitively portrayed by John Mills, always a fine actor. The classic moaning harridan, who started every complaint with "Now you know I never complain, but ..." was a nice cultural reference of how people were supposed to behave and that they had to excuse themselves if they did not.

Not only was this film interesting on an entertainment level with a good story and subtle characterization but also from an historical point of view, particularly from the ever-so-fashionable social historical side.

I thoroughly recomend it.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)