Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
87
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2012
This was a gift for my husband which arrived very quickly. He was very happy as he had been looking for it in the highstreet shops but couldn't find it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
An amazing DVD telling the true facts about the siege of Malta. My husband has read the book and loved getting this DVD for Christmas.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Jack Hawkins and Alec Guinness... need one say more? A clever script and given great emotional depth by Jack Hawkins.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Having just read the book Fortress Malta the film was very good but not as good as the book.Good scenes of Valetta.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This is a very good purchase, and would recommend it to anyone. well worth the money, and a real bargain.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I'm a huge fan of Ealing films; they made some real classics - but this is not one of them. Even if they didn't and couldn't (This was 40's / early 50's cinema) achieve a high degree of realism; many of their films still carried an emotional truth, or a truth of the heart that somehow captured the best of Englishness. Their war films, for all the phoniness and RADA trained lovelies playing 'Corkney gels', 'kerryin' orn an' all thet', still captured something of value and a spirit that we could recognise behind the propaganda. Usually, a decency and essential values still shone through and a correct tone was struck.

The one star rating here is for the newsreel and documentary footage of Malta in wartime, and for the fact that at least many of the scenes were actually filmed in Malta. This footage and location shooting is the only glue which holds this bad Airfix model together. It completely fails to tell the story adequately, even given the limitations of a two hour film and the production values of the period. It's almost a betrayal of what the people of Malta went through. Alec Guinness, as brilliant as he was in Bridge Over The River Kwai, is as awful in this, betraying no emotion or any evidence of acting or involvement whatsoever. Jack Hawkins, although a fine actor, plays Jack Hawkins, and the rest of the cast is mostly the usual round-up of tally-ho Charlies and chocks away. I think the very first line of the screenplay sets the tone for the rest of the film: "If there's a doctor in the house, could he please come to the stage door."

I think there's a new film in the making but I suspect that it will be the usual parade of British acting aristocracy and those born into the purple dynasty of the English theatre. I hope I'm wrong because the wonderful people of Malta deserve so much more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
Bought this dvd for my wife as she had just returned from Malta.Very pleased as this film highlighted the wartime experiences of the Maltese.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
It was an interesting film, but having reecently visied Malta I was hoping to see more of the island in the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
I get all the old DVD's for my mum she is malteese and she is missing Malta and love seeing the film
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2016
Cracking good film and captures the spirit of the truly heroic stand during WWII of this remarkable island and it's inhabitants.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)