Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 9 October 2017
Arrived safely and quickly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 August 2003
Here it is, South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone bring you their debut feature Cannibal:The musical. An excellent, hilarious, often gobsmacking musical originally released by the wonderful Troma team. The musical numbers are stunning, you won't resist singing along. The gore is extreme, you will literally be sitting there wondering if it was from the same movie and the set pieces and costumes are great, considering it's miniscule budget. So just watch and enjoy. Shpadoinkle!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2005
If you love Matt Stone and Trey Parker then you should have this already in your collection along with all their other work! People always seem unsure when I tell them the title but its not disgusting all the way through and the gory bits are so comedy! Definitely one of my favourite films!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 November 2003
OMG! Forget Evil Dead, Cannibal the Musical has become one of my favourite movies ever! I have to admit, I'm having a bit of a Trey Parker faze at the moment, but you'll understand why when you watch this film.
Cannibal! is Parker and Stone's first full length movie and was filmed while they were still at univresity (Parker, in fact, got kicked out for this as he was spending too much time making the movie and not enough studying!) It was made after the pair made a short "trailer" in their film making class for the movie and a few friends liked the idea so much they pressured the pair to actually make the full movie.
Parker wrote all the songs himself, as with the South Park movie, so you can tell it'll be amazing! From "On Top Of You", a beautiful, melancolic ballard to his horse, to the hilarious "Let's Make a Snowman", I guarantee you will be singing hooks from various songs for a while. I drove my friends crazy with the chorus of "On Top Of You" for a good three weeks.
The movie is hilarious slapstick and true Parker/Stone at it's best. Give it a go. You will love it, I promise!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 July 2017
This is not great. Its basically a musical comedy horror about this cannibal. I didn't enjoy it very much. The acting is just over-the-top in the extreme, but something about it just didn't make it all that appealing to me. Its made by the people who made South Park, so you expect crudeness galore, an we do get it. The gore is really quite fake. Don't go into this film thinking that its going to be a gorefest, because it isn't. Its more of a black comedy musical than anything else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2001
I'm not especially a fan of South Park, but this film had me chuckling for days: a spot-on pastiche of feelgood Oklahama-style musicals, with genuinely catchy songs; a strange combination of an innocently juvenile style combined with gross-out horror special effects; and various anachronisms and bizarre elements such as the tribe of Japanese Indians...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 November 2000
This film is probrably my all time favourite. Not only is it funny, but the characters are thorougly endearing and I seriously really loved the songs! I wasn't really a South Park fan until I stumbled across this film when Channel 4 showed it a while back, and then I appreciated the humour and talent of Trey Parker. I recommend this film!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2000
One of the funniest films ever. The songs are hilarious. Much better than South park
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 October 2000
This film is halarious, you start off thinking ur what's this; and then you spend the rest of the time in stitches or singing halariously stupid songs like those off of south park! so let's build a snowman!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 October 2007
When Trey Parker made Cannibal the Musical, he was still a student. However, the film has developed a loyal and vocal fan-base who see past it's flaws and self-indulgence whilst other people just seem puzzled by the whole thing. The subject matter, a musical based around the real life cannibalism trial of 19th century US prospector Alferd Packer, doesn't really help there.

Trey Parker, along with college buddy Matt Stone who is also present here, went on to become the creators of South Park and movies such as Orgazmo and Team America. The film's popularity grew with the pair's profile which is partly why it enjoys the cult status it does today. The actual quality of the product is good for the youth and inexperience of its creators, and creatively there's a consistency here and the uniqueness of the product makes it rather special. The music is very well written and the tunes surprisingly catchy, and the general air of silliness is endearing rather than annoying thanks. There's a lot of glimpses of the partnership that would spawn one of the longest-running animated sitcoms of all time, and there's loads to enjoy in this film. There are those who cannot see past its flaws, but if you're a fan of the humour (and music!) of Parker and Stone, you'll love this film. For others, if you're not attracted by the absurdity of the concept, it's probably not for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)