Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
Too Bad You're Beautiful
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 28 June 2003
This album is a must for anyone with a love of hardcore post harcore and emo. I simply cant stop listening to it normally i would find a full hardcore album hard going to get through in one sitting but this album has something for everyone enough screaming and tons of melodic guitar parts. It kinda makes me think of Iron Maiden jamming with a hardcore band and an emo band for aome strange reason. acoustic track chloroform perfume is one of the stand out tracks for me as well as the harder stuff like take her to the music store buy this cd you wont be dissapointed
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 February 2002
from autumn to ashes take you through a rollercoaster or emotions. Taking harcore metal sounds to there peak and then twisting it into melody. Songs like chloroform perfume allow from autumn to ashes to express a emotional and softer sound. Others like eulogy for an angel twist hard vocal grunts and melody to give a an awesome song. This band mix's emements of heavy,death metal with melody. ITs an eye opener to a brutal sound which kicks all your senses into overdrive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2003
Ground breaking?
Worth a listen?
Most definately.
From Autumn to Ashes are a rare band. Not rare in the sound that they produce, but in the thought and passinon that has obviously been put into this disc. It is a hardcore record in today's sense of the word, although melodic in places with dual vocalists who seem to work together very well, and what seems to be technical musical ability.
The band, in my opinion, innovate in terms of their clever use of the spoken word. The fourth track on the album is a minutes worth of genius, seriously powerful and angry. The clever uses of movie sound bites also seems to add a depth that is lacking in many records produced in this loosely definable genre.
This is a record for fans of Hondo Maclean, Poison The Well, Thrice, Glassjaw and perhaps even Funeral For a Friend. Buy this album only if you know you can handle, and enjoy, something much harder and agressive than Brand New, Taking Back Sunday or The Used. Otherwise you will be disappointed. But if you can, you will be surprised to hear a record that is good without being great, and innovative without being groundbreaking, which seems to be all one can ask for in what is rapidly becoming a depressingly stagnant genre. Seriously worth a listen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2003
Wow, not since Deftones 'Adrenaline', The Rise's 'Signal To Noise', AtTheDrive-In's 'RofC' and Earthtone 9 (all lp's) was I so moved listening to a post-hardcore album. My musical tastes vary massively and i am a purveyor of death/grind metal (fast & intense), noise soundscapes (you can't get more extreme), post-rock (immensly moving) and post hardcore (also immensly moving). I laugh in the face of critics who dismiss this album because its too soft. Sure it isn't the hardest thing out there but its not a competition, this immensly moving and as hard as it needs to be to get the message across.
The music ranges from out and out hardcore reminiscent of Johnny Truant to emo/hardcore like Earthtone9 or ATD-I through to the odd pure emo track (think a sophisticated & unwatered down Incubus). I really can't get enough of this album and all the tracks are great, there is no filler. I recommend it to anybody who likes the other bands i've mentioned and to people who like hardcore but want an emotional angle. When i say emotional, Yes, I do mean singing, but not the type of nu-metal singing that made Fear Factory so laughable in their last few lp's, I mean heartfelt real rock singing.
This post-hardcore genre as its labelled is going from strength to strength and is a very intelligent genre. FATA label Ferret is constantly pushing out great new talent and they should all be checked out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2004
I bought this album after hearing just one song - Chlorofom Perfume (which by the way is the most intense, heart wrenching song I have ever heard). I never listened to hardcore (or emocore, whatever) before, so I was in for a bit of a shock and quickly replaced the CD with Saves The Day's In Reverie. However, after about 6 months this CD has finally grown on me, and it's brilliant.
'Reflections' and "Short Stories With Tragic Endings' are like epic adventures rather than mere 'songs'. Lyrically, this album excells. Even if the CD broke I would be contempt just reading the lyrics. ie:
"Creation imperfect, Do you defy this? Could you and your swollen ego fit into my master plan for failure?"
In a nut shell, this album is hard and fast to satisfy the most hardcore nutters ever, while still being accessable enough for dashboard confessional fanboys looking for something more respectable. *cough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2005
I only discovered this album/band 3 months ago when I heard the track "Take her to the music store." I was hooked instantly, bought this the band's first album and within a week could'nt wait to hear more from the band. This is essential listening, from the furious opener "The royal crown vs blue duchess" to impossibly catchy "The switch" "cherry kiss" and "Take her to the music store."
Don't pass this off as emo fodder, this has more in common with th mighty Poison The Well than Funeral For A Friend, yet has some of the (Iron Maiden inspired?) melodic elements of the latter. Powerful, promising stuff indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 April 2004
I have to admit that when I bought this album and listened to it, my headwas pounding by the end of it with all the screaming. However, I gave itanother chance and if you actually listen to the lyrics and hear *past*the music, then...wow.
My favourite song of the album is Short StoriesWith Tragic Endings, which has actually made me cry on a few emooccasions. It's one of the most beautiful songs I've ever heard.
There's not really a weak song on the whole album though.
So, give it a try, at first you may think that it's nothing more than aband making alot of noise, but give it a chance and I'm sure you'll startto love it after a while!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2004
This is a great album. It has so many different elements, from the epic riffs of "Capeside Rock" to the beautiful semi-acoustic melodies of "Chloroform Perfume". The way the music moves from one genre to another is phenomenal. There is not a bad track on the album, and even the spoken word piece "Mercury Rising" is an inspired piece of originality. This album stretches the boundaries of "emo" or whatever you want to call it. The track "Short Stories With Tragic Endings" is one of the most beautifully epic songs of any genre.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2004
An absolutly amazing piece of work.
Take her to the Music store was the fist track i heard and made me need this record, and believe me you *NEED* this record...
Theres not a bad song on there. It takes you on an incredibly journey from start to finish, ending in one of the most original tracks of our time, 'short stories with tragic endings'.
Cant wait for the new album!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2002
Not bad for a debut ... yeah right. I havent heard a debut this good since deftones released adrenaline. This band is what makes the underground look great and main-stream look poor. Tracks like "cherry kiss" and "capeside rock" are hard and great but the best track on the album has to be "short stories with tragic endings". This song is great because its like two or three different kinds of music put together. It starts with hardcore screamin and then moves into alternative style singin that shows that this band isnt afraid to try things new and break the mold. A great band with a great album that i recomend to everyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)