Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2017
Excellent product, quick delivery and no problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
This is a review about the recent Met production broadcast live in 2013 which is reflected in this blu-ray release... I dislike most modern productions and thought this would be hammy and not true to the original concept. How wrong I was. Despite, or because of the updating to Las Vegas during the "rat-pack" years, the claustrophobia and horror of the story comes through even more forcibly than usual, well acted and beautifully sung by the amazing Damrau as Gilda and Lucic who makes Rigoletto totaly believable. Beczala as the Duke is up there too but perhaps not in quite such splendid voice as the others. Very good nevertheless. It's conducted with some flair by Mariotti and can be thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2015
A brilliant performance despite it taking place as long ago as 1977. A comparatively young Placido Domingo sang the duke as well as any I've heard and I also thought the Rigoletto was the best I'd seen and Ileana Cotrubas a very good Gilda even though she looked a bit more than 18.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Brilliant DVD with magnificent performances from the cast - a DVD you can watch over & over again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
The whole production is magic.This is what you would experience if
you wre actually there on the night and in the MET.The singers are
top rate and a cast you would not be able to find the equivelent of.I bought this production because of the Baritone Cornel macneil
he had a glorious voice in the sixties and is still excellent in this comlete opera.
As i am from the older generation i appreciate
the singers from the thirties to the seventies.We do not all enjoy the same singers as we have our favourites.This opera production pleased me and i hope it please many others.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2015
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
Brillient
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
I recall a very enjoyable production of Rigoletto many years ago transferred to a Mafioso mob in New York. Here the scene is the Frank Sinatra mob in Las Vegas of the 60s. Generally I do not like modern updates as they rarely work, more often than not the consequence of an excess directorial ego or a low budget but here it works a treat. This positively sparkles. The setting fits the story like a glove. The singing is very good throughout, especially in the minor roles. The Polish tenor Piotr Beczala has done this before in Zurich and here he is even better. Rigoletto is no longer the pathetic figure so often portrayed and has lost his hump but it does not seem to matter and Zeljko Lucic is excellent. Gilds is always hard to cast and although Diana Damrau sings beautifully she is now almost too mature to hold this role visually on a Blu-ray.
The English subtitles have been jazzed up to the English of the 60s and that works perfectly. The costumes are very colourful and Monterone is depicted to great effect as an Arab Sheikh! This is a very successful production. As usual I find the MET Blu-ray discs on the dark side with lower perceived resolution than others. I cannot understand it this time as the displayed bit rate is high but the images are just not as sharp as say Opus Arte.
Despite these few reservations I thoroughly enjoyed this disc. Rigoletto is my favourite Verdi opera and this release does it justice. At the current price it is a steal
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
The opera arrived on time and we had excellent assistance from the supplier. The opera itself, is a favourite, with the very best performers. We are extremely satisfied with this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2007
This performance is typical fare from the Met from the past 30 years - big names in semi-naturalistic settings in a fairly routine production.

The singing is good - but not great - from all the cast; Cornell MacNeil may play Rigoletto with conviction, but it comes across as pantomimic, a comic book portrayal with little subtlety or shading of character. His voice is belted out at a constant forte, which becomes rather wearing, particularly when he occasionally sings off the note. Domingo's youthful Duke is superficial but copes well with the set pieces. Cotrubas' rather mature Gilda is charming but lacks the youthful sparkle the role really needs to be convincing. All the supporting roles are adequately taken, most notably Isola Jones as Maddalena.

The scenery is rather chunky, but at least it reduces the huge arena of the Met stage to an intimate space; the costumes very opulent but a little too shiny and pristine to convince - all very fancy but too self-consciously "stagey" - contrast this with David McVicar's Covent Garden staging which is more earthy and gritty, or the Jonathan Miller ENO Mafia version which adds bite to the story - maybe not as authentic but much more engaging.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)