Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
73
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£15.99+ £0.99 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2016
A classic for my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
Being a huge Chaplin fan it was only natural that I would progress onto Buster! He was an amazing ahtletic performer and mesmerizing to look at and this film does not disappoint. "The General" is the name of the train that Buster spends most of the film on trying to rescue the girl that hes loves. It shows Busters ability for great stunt work whilst of course never showing any emotion on his face but the action speaks volumes. For me I prefer watching Buster in films such as "College", not only because you get to see his wonderful physique but his quirkiness! The remastered restored version of "General" is wonderful and the extras see Buster a little older but candid and unscripted. I certainly will be watching more Buster Keaton in future and for all silent movie fans this film is a great addition to your dvd collection alongside Chaplin of course.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2013
One of Buster Keaton's better known films, made in 1926, and very much a complete work. This story is set during the American Civil war, and Keaton is the engineer on a train called `The General', working for the Confederates. As he is not in the army, his true love, Annabel, believes him to be a coward. When the train is captured by Union soldiers, who also kidnap Annabel, Keaton's character Johnnie Gray, gets the chance to show that he is as brave as the next man, by saving his beloved train, and the girl he adores. There are some great sight gags, a fair deal of slapstick, and some very impressive stunts. Buster Keaton steals the film, alongside the grand old train. Better than Chaplin, with a proper story, and not a custard pie in sight. This is what film was made for; timeless, and truly accessible to anyone, anywhere.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Definitely worth getting this Cinema Club version rather than the endless nastily cobbled together ones I've seen from cheapo box sets.

The original film is well transferred. Plays at a suitable speed and has delightful music and clear captions. And it's still very funny. Astonishingly so really.

Much of the extras are kind of missable but there is an extraordinary documentary of Buster making a comedy short in the sixties which is more revealing of the dreadful disregard that was meted out to him by the time he was a senior citizen.

This DVD made my Christmas. Just be sure it is this version you go for rather than any cut price one. The difference is like those soundalike LPs you used to get from Woolworths in the 70s. Flippin' awful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2017
Great original comedy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2015
very well enhanced ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
I first saw this silent film in Symphony Hall when the CBSO orchestra were playing live background music. The audience were, almost literally, rolling in the aisles at the humour. Keaton, who performed all his own stunts, plays an ordinary man who seizes control of steam engine called 'The General' to prevent it falling into the hands of the enemy during the American civil war. To see him jump from the top of the engine towards an obstruction on a bridge, miss, and dive straight between the tracks and into the river below reduced me to tears of laughter, which is why I bought the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
This movie has it all -- hilarious predicaments for the hero and heroine, a backdrop of authentic landscapes and technology of the Civil War era, outstanding camera work and a riveting plot based on a real escapade. I have watched it many times, and see some new detail in the background (or some previously overlooked piece of subtle humor) almost every time. I did not actually view this particular purchase; it was sent as a gift to a retired railroad engineer in Germany. He and his wife found it hilarious and spellbinding, as I'd hoped they would.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
Classic film from the late great buster keaton. loved this & all his other films as a kid & now as a forty year old adult. They still make me laugh as much now as they did the first time I seen them. just go's to show you dont need fancy special effects or even dialog to make great timeless movies. WELL RECOMMENDED WHY NOT COLLECT THE ALL...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2015
Thank ypu
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)