Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
37
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.76+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 November 2003
Will brings his talent back to the airwaves, and he's very welcome indeed. Obviously, if you're not a fan of pop music then you're probably going to be in the wrong place, but 'pop' is still short for 'popular' (remember?) and I'm sure that this song will be.
Will's voice and emotion are the two winners on this record. He brings a great deal of the latter to the lyrics, as well as his voice's own unique quality, which is just as well really as, as far as lyrics go, there just aren't that many of them (much of the song is repeated). Get past this - and the song isn't particularly long, so it's scarcely a bother in any case - and you have a lovely, touching and deeply moving song. The apparent simplicity of its construction is deceptive, I think.
It is nice to hear another ballad from Will; far from being a stereotyped performer, it is simply something which he does incredibly well. It is also not a typical ballad, as it is stronger than usual. The tune is delectable, the sound is polished and production excellent as always. The song is hauntingly good. In all, I'd say that it is a package that is well worth buying (even if you *don't* do so twice!), you won't regret it - when he's still going strong in 50 years' time, and you bump into him outside one of his concerts at Wembley, you can ask him to sign it for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2003
Let's clear one thing up - I do not like pop music in the traditional sense, no, no, but this is far more than a pop song. It's a refreshing change to hear such a brilliantly written song on the airwaves, with someone who can...wait for it...actually sing!! It's hauntingly beautiful, and can't fail to send shivers down your spine when the middle 8 kicks in...this is just a truly stunning ballad.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2003
I've never been his greatest fan, but with "Leave Right Now" Will Young has forced me and others like me to sit up and pay attention. Though delicate and simple in its verses, Will doesn't shy from showing us his great vocal talent in a somewhat soaring chorus. In fact, the vocals are so beautiful that one almost forgets to listen to the lyrics - lyrics which are slightly more complex and meaningful than the "baby, baby, baby" culture we have grown accustomed to recently.
Stands head and shoulders above other offerings at this time of the season, as Will Young emerges as the only person with any talent to come out of reality TV disasters. You could almost forgive and forget...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
Fans of this exceptionally talented young man have been eagerly awaiting his return from the writing and recording of his new album. What a return!! 'Leave right now' is a beautifuly haunting track which shows Will's voice at it's very best, the heart-rending lyrics are delivered with such emotion and clarity that it leaves you wanting more! If this is indicitive of the new material from Will Young then I can see him being around for a very long time!
Well done Will! You really are a SUPERSTAR!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2003
Fantastic new single from last years pop idol, which really shows off Mr Youngs vocal talents to the max. Starts slow and builds gradually, and is very catchy.
Excellent video which looks to have been shot in one go - try to see it if you can.
A pleasure to listen to and the best single (By a long way) released this year.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2003
Leave Right Now is a simple song performed with purity and clarity in a production which allows Will's distinctive voice to lead the melody. This little song is a classic. Instantly hummable and difficult to get out of ones head it heralds the emergence of the butterfly and I can't wait to hear his album which rapidly follows.
Those of us who have seen Will peform live know the diversity of his repetoire from soul to pop and this confirms Will will be around for a long time to come. Leave Right Now but not until you have listened to Will. You won't want to go away.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
Long awaited, and worth waiting for! This song is truly beautiful, with well written lyrics and a hauntingly gorgeous orchestral arrangement. If there is any justice, this should be a number one seller!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2003
A long awaited single from Pop Idol's Will Young, and worth waiting for too!
A beautiful song with excellent lyrics and a wonderful orchestral arrangement. This should be a number one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
This is the song that has all the "cool" music press eating its collective hat. A beautiful voice, and a beautiful song - something of a pop ballad, but with none of the syrup that usually clogs up the charts.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2003
I've just heard this song on the tv and it's brilliant. A good song, good lyrics and well sung by Will. The video really caught my attention. I normally hate all things associated with Pop Idol, but I've got to admit, I'll be buying this track.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.98

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)