Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 April 2004
It's so great to Lynyrd Skynyrd still going strong after all the disatersthis band has gone through. Everybody would like to see the original lineup perform in the sound quality we have these days, but I must say what adamn good job Jonny Van Zant and all the rest of the new guys have done bycontinuing the spirit of such a great band. The performance here is veryclose to the original band, and the DTS 5.1 is very good considering theconcert was performed outdoors. Which on most concerts seems to sound toechoey. It's so great to see Ronny Van Zant singing on film in sync withJonny. A superb concert, great picture and sound, this will be in my heartand in my DVD player for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
Excellent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2016
Great! - bought an x-tra for a give-away, so junior also can enjoy it :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2015
brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2004
I have been a Skynyrd fan for many years now and i have got all their albums and dvd's. this is the latest dvd i have baught of them and when i watched it i was amazed, the stage set looked brilliant and the fact that they braught on a string section and some saxaphone players really made it look alive and sound great! If you are a die hard skynyrd fan like me then buy this dvd, you will love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 June 2016
I have seen the show many times on you tube. I was delighted to be able to purchase a copy of the show for a modest price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2014
I have allready this DVD in 4:3 aspect ratio and ordered a new one because on the infopage was reading: Aspect ratio 16:9.
Bulls***! 4:3 letterboxed!
Cheating!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2004
If you haven't already got this DVD from the States, you should be ashamed of yourself. Before I bought this, I was eulogising over the Allmans' Beacon DVD (which is a great movie and so much better than the album) - but Skynyrd are alive and keen to let you know - this concert is full of great music and the guys are enjoying making it. For any fan of Southern Rock this has got to be a must as the new but consummate Skynyrds take in some of their greatest songs as well as new material from Vicious Cycle (2003) and Edge of Forever (1999). Nearly two hours of real cookin' boogie from Gary Rossington (gtr), Billy Powell (kbds), Johnny Van Zant (vcl), Rickey Medlocke (gtr & vcl), Hughie Thomasson (gtr), Ean Evans (bs) and Michael Cartellone (drums); not forgetting Carol Chase and Dale Krantz Rossington on backing vocals.
Tracks are:
Thats how I like it *;
Whats your name;
I know a little;
Pick 'em up *;
Simple Man;
That smell;
Red White and Blue *;
Down South Jukin'/Gimme Back My Bullets/ Double Trouble medley;
Ballad of Curtis Loew;
Tuesday's Gone;
Mississippi Kid;
Workin' **;
Gimme Three Steps;
Call me the Breeze;
Sweet Home Alabama;
Travellin' Man;
The Way *;
Freebird
(* denotes from "Vicious Cycle"; ** from Edge of Forever; the others - hell, you'll know them already!!!)
A great rebel rousing concert recorded in Nashville during the 30th anniversary Vicious Cycle tour in July 2003. Johnny may have put on a few pounds since the Tribute Tour 16 years earlier, but his voice has matured dramatically and he rocks just as hard as Ronnie ever did. As to the guitarists, as Ed King says Rickey Medlocke was a great drummer (but so was Coco Montoya - and he's a fabulous southpaw guitarist these days) - but Rickey can still run off a fair few decent riffs, and he sure is the showman in the band, clowning about on the floor and sporting a hat that even the late Leon would possibly have been ashamed to be seen in. Poor old Gary didn't look too good, when the film was made - lets hope his by-pass surgery has done the trick and he's back to his old mean self - but he still wields a mighty axe. But to me the show is stolen by Hughie's pyrotechnic virtuosity - ever since his days in the Outlaws, this man has always been a guitarist's guitarist. He smoulders meanly around the stage, waiting to explode into one of those fast-fingered solos that he plays note perfect. He has made Ed King's Sweet Home Alabama his own now (and Mr King's version on the Tribute Tour concert was no mean feat).
If you thought Freebird the Movie and the Tribute tour were good, and you loved Lyve From Steel Town, prepare to be taken up a notch - this one's greaaaaaaat - and the sound and vision are a testimony to the skills of the guys at Sanctuary. And there's even a feature about Jim Beam whiskey!!!! + photos and a video of Red, White and Blue.
An absolute must for anyone who loves the music of the deep south!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2004
If you remember the classics first time round, and remember the Outlaws and Blackfoot - both represented in the current lineup - then you won't be dissappointed. Excellent sound quality and a very tight set which at close on two hours never lets up.. Some of the artwork behind the set leaves a little to be desired, but the mix of back projected original band footage gives it a semi documentary feel without tedious voiceovers... except on the intro to Freebird... the only weak moment in an otherwise brilliant DVD. If you don't already have the US cut, pre-order it now!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)