Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
177
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 June 2017
A very funny film in places. A dysfunctional crew who have problems beyond their remit. So they turn to the dead, frozen commander. While taking his advise, their problems are made even worse. Well acted and a good storyline to give it a cult following. The first outing for the great John Carpenter who shows his affinity with the movie making culture even as a young man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
good old sci fi film watched it years ago glad it came out on blu ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
really funny movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2014
This is still a watchable film, the bluray transfer is pretty good, not bad for a student film, although John Carpenter won't watch it anymore.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2011
There are some interesting extras included with this Hyperdrive Edition. They include ;

A new text introduction to the film written by Dan O'Bannon who died just before this release.

The original version of the film (68 minutes).

A full-length audio commentary of the final version (83 minutes) by Andrew Gilchrist who tells you everything that is known about the film.

Let There Be Light (115 minutes) is a new, excellent 2010 documentary and includes interviews with many of the surviving cast and crew and archival interviews with John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon. You will find out how the students made the film over three years, exactly where the props and sets came from and how Carpenter and O'Bannon worked with each other.

An interview with Alan Dean Foster (34 minutes) who talks about his novelisation of Dark Star, his meetings with John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon and his other novelisations which included Star Trek and Star Wars, and how he met George Lucas.

An interview with Brian Narelle (40 minutes) who plays Lt Doolittle. He talks about his work on Dark Star, working with John Carpenter and Dan O'Bannon, and other work in acting and animation.

A 3D Guide to the Dark Star ship which is a short animation showing you around a few areas of the ship.

The original trailer which gives away a few of the surprises in the film.

A trivia section which details 22 text items.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2007
Having been waiting for a decent edition of this movie on DVD since the format was launched, I was pleased to see this package with "anamorphic widescreen' plastered across the front, so I picked it up straight off.

Unfortunately, it's a port of the original US edition. Pretty good in and of itself - 2 versions of the film, a handful of extras - but NOT anamorphic/enhanced for 16x9 format.

The film itself is terrific. Funny, touching, tense, imaginative, beautifully designed, raw, bleak. And surprisingly sad coming from Howard Hawks-worshipping man's man John Carpenter. Dan O'Bannon's so funny, you wonder why he didn't really act again.

So... best available edition, but not what it claims.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2011
I saw this many years ago one wet Saturday afternoon when I was in my early teens and thought this was brilliant. I have never seen it again since and recently after talking about various favourite old films with my partner / girlfriend we decided to buy and watch them together. I don't know who was more disappointed, me or her. Although I was expecting special effects to look dated (they weren't as bad as I thought they would be) the excitement of the story line did not match up to the memory of it. Yes there was some funny bits but if you had already seen them they didn't seem so funny the second time around. Also knowing how it ended seem to spoil the whole thing for me. I would have been better not watching it again and keep my fond memories, especially now that I have to watch 'Gone with the Wind' (Blu-Ray Version).

In summary if you've not seen it before it's worth watching, the special effect are good as long as you aren't expecting something like Avatar. However if you have seen it before don't bother, you'll just spoil any good memories you have of it.
33 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Great quality, great sound too. The problem is because it is the theatrical version, or a mix of the theatrical version (as it is different to my copy on DVD of the theatrical version), and not the extended (or special) edition, there is an entire scene missing. Not just any scene either - the very scene that sets up the remaining storyline of the bomb and destruction of Dark Star.

From the point where you fleetingly see the energy field that caused the fault in the first place was seen for a second or two, it cuts to Talby in his observation dome. If you watch it like this you will be wondering what the hell happened and how did the damage occur in the laser room.

The entire section where the computer warns the crew (who are 'grooving' in the control room, of the danger the approaching energy field and the subsequent damage and problems it caused is completely missing. Bomb number 20 exiting the ship and being persuaded back in by the computer is missing too.

What a waste of money
22 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2015
Well I love this movie, one of my favourites.
So I was going to like it.
Pleased with the material, extras, packaging etc.. all of which could be checked anyway before order.

If you don;t know Dark Star, it marked the directorial debut of two students on a shoestring.. Dan O'Bannon (Alien) and John Carpenter.
In the film we deal with the perils of time travel and relativistic love, incalcitrant aliens, bored staff, insubordination and philosophical bombs with existential awareness. Don;t wait until the Phoenix Asteroids bring this copy to you... go get your own
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2013
This is a 1974 film from director John Carpenter, talented director of both `Assault on Precinct 13′, and `Halloween'. This is quirky, and intentionally humourous, yet like its title, has darker moments. The four crew members are looking for unstable planets to blow up. They have a cargo of robotised bombs, and a long mission behind them. They become increasingly unstable, and are also affected by radiation leaks. Each crew member retreats into an unusual hobby, as the boredom takes over their brains, and they become ever more affected, both by the constant malfunctions, and by the apparent pointlessness of their mission. Seen by many as a parody of '2001′, and other science fiction films too, it even has a soft-spoken computer, and a robot bomb that just does not want to take orders. Made on a very tight budget, and running under 90 minutes, it is still a special little film, betraying none of its financial shortcomings. An easy watch, and a rewarding one as well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)