Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
61
4.7 out of 5 stars
The Big Dinosaur Box (4 Disc BBC Box Set) [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 August 2017
Brought for my Daughter she loves Dinosaurs and has thr full set of this series informative and educational fun at the push of a button
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2017
Perfect box-set for Walking With Dinosaurs fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
This box set is superb value (under a tenner at the time of writing). The DVDs are informative and entertaining. It's not often that my six year old asks to watch a DVD more than once but he absolutely loves the 'Walking With Dinosaurs' episodes, prompting him to ask loads of questions and find out more about Dinosaurs.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
Bought out of a childish fascination with dinosaurs, this DVD box set did not disappoint. Would recommend to entertain and educate children (despite a few of of the dinosaurs leaning suspiciously toward fiction), the shows were certainly entertaining and there are quite alot of episodes in the box. Also good for adults with an interest in the prehistoric. Its enjoyable to watch the period come to life in front of your eyes. I'm a university student, and these DVDs certainly entertained myself and my flatmates. A nice product.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2010
The first two disks (Walking with Dinosaurs, The Ballad of Big Al) are fantastic. They immerse you in the prehistoric world and make you follow the adventures of various animals. It's incredibly well done, and very emotional. The best nature show I've ever watched.

The third disk (Land of giants, The giant claw) is much weaker. No immersion, no story, no emotion. An annoying guy traveling with his car or small plane among the prehistoric animals. This of course ruins the whole effect. Showing bones ruins the effect too. They should have put the CGI in one show, with a little story to keep things flowing nicely. They they should have put Nigel and the bones in a "making of" extra.

Anyway, don't let this stop you from buying the big box. The first two disks are totally worth the price by themselves.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
walking with dinosaurs is one of my all time favourite doco's. with very good special effect's and commentary by
kenneth branaugh, the bbc have presented an enjoyable and interesting look at prehistoric life on earth.
this boxset makes great value for money with the inclusion of 'the ballad of big al' and 'the giant claw'. a fascinating look at a rare plant eating dinosaur that featured massive front claws.
an excellent boxset, highly recomended to anyone!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I've just purchased this boxed set and was worried that it contained cut down versions of the programmes, due to confusion over the number of disks included in the Amazon description. I needn't have worried!

Walking with Dinosaurs is presented as 2 disks, Big Al is on one disk and the other two programmes take up a fourth disk. Inside the slipcase, they are still contained in individual packs, as they were when originally released.

'Walking' and 'Al' are both wonderful imaginings of how dinosaurs looked and lived, based on the best evidence available at the time they were made. I call them imaginings, as this is the best anybdy can do until we either discover living dinos, or invent a time machine! I can't imagine any fossil giving information about soft tissues, etc. on a scale large enough to be finally sure of anything when it comes to dinosaur appearance.

The final disk is annoying, as it has the ever-enthusiastic Nigel Marven 'interacting' with the dinosaurs in a very intrusive manner. I just don't like this approach! The information is all there, but so is the endless attempt to make it all seem 'real'! Oh well, I can always watch it once and then sell it on, I suppose. At the current price, this sset is still a bargain just for the other two titles and you may like the Marven delivery!

As mentioned already, these programmes were made a while ago and some of the info. is a bit out of date. Nothing is actually 'wrong', but it is a product of it's time. If you've enjoyed this, then I recommend "Dinosaur Planet" to bring your dinosaur experience a little more up to date. Although the CGI isn't as good as in 'Walking', the info. and presentation is about the same. I enjoyed 'Dinosaur Planet' just as much as 'Walking with Dinosaurs' and that's as good as it currently gets!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2009
"The Big Dinosaur" box was sheer, delightful entertainment from start to finish, enjoyed by both adults and kids in the family. The special effects and animation have dated very well, and look just as fresh as they were when these programmes were first screened on TV.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2011
This item was delivered very quick. It is really good, my son (4 1/2 yrs) absolutely loves this box set! and my daughter (2 1/2 years) does too. It is played all the time, literally everyday!! Great value for money and really informative. Definately recommend to any dinosaur fans.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2008
The walking with dinosaurs series is fantastic the cg is good but the animitroics are a bit off and the narration is fantastic. The ballad of big All is also very interesting and has the same high standards as walking with dinosaurs. The ones featuring Nigel Marven are still very good cg wise but Nigel's acting is mediocre, sometimes his rections to the dinosaurs are not believable. But a good boxset all together worth every penny.
22 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)