Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 27 December 2014
I believe LOTR: The Battle for Middle Earth was the very first PC game I ever played - and I'm still playing it now.

Command the armies of Good or instead serve under the Dark Lord Sauron in the in-game story campaign, that sticks impressively close to film trilogy. Indeed, players command armies at Helms Deep, defending the Deeping Wall from endless hordes of Urak-Hai, and then later defending the White City. The game, released in 2004, is a highly enjoyable RTS with some real strategy required on the part of the players - the 'Hard' difficulty AI is very satisfying.

The game is, inevitably, not flawless. The campaign is, overall, quite a breeze and many of the early missions can be completed in mere minutes without any real application of tactics. The graphics are, by today's standards, dismal - but you shouldn't let that distract you from what is, overall, a highly enjoyable, captivating game that stays truly loyal to Jackson's film trilogy.

Is it too late to try out this game? Not at all! The game runs on Windows 7 and I would highly recommend it for any RTS or LOTR fan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2018
This game is one of my favourite games. Massive problem is I can't get the game to read on any pc/laptop I put it in no matter the operating system. I tried Windows xp in a virtual machine and still would not pick up the game in the first place so I can't run in a compatibility mode :( sad times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2014
I wanted to give this five star, I really did, but there are two maps that cause the game to crash, it arrived on time though I can't recall how much I paid for this game. It was worth it, but besides that I still have to give it four stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2015
Great fun, until I bought a new Laptop with windows 7.....at which point it becomes a coaster because the damn thing doesn't work on 7.

Gah.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2017
Bring back many memories many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 March 2014
My son was thrilled when this turned up. It's in really good condition and we've had no problems with it at all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 February 2016
Loved this game so much, got it again as my old 1 was so worn out. Great game.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 September 2015
i remember playing this game when I was younger, so getting it again was great. However, the delivery for this product was slow and getting it to play on Windows 8 was a pain and it kept crashing. Can't fault the game itself but I'm glad that I bought it when it was £32, because £39 Yikes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 December 2015
Totally brilliant and fun game!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
Loved this game, hours of fun, loved the game play and was worth the price I paid. Would recommend it if you like the books/movies and strategy games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)