Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
13
3.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 February 2010
After reading some of the other reviews I thought this movie would be dreadful, and now that I think about it, that predisposed me a little bit to the negative side. However having watched it, I can say I really don't understand those people who didn't like it. Yeah, yeah, it has all the atmosphere and little flaws an independent film tends to have, but even among all that, the story, silly as it is, works smoothly due to its lead characters -and actors-. Caine and Moran shine, and that is all that counts, I think. Special mention to Sir Gambon's performance (made me laugh a lot...that toupee! lol!) and the little girl who plays Moran's niece (lovely!).
This is actually a very sweet movie that gives you a load of laughs and an enjoyable dose of sillines.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2006
I saw the two names on the box - Michael Caine and Dylan Moran, and I thought "Wow, this could be brilliant!!!" and it had the potential - fabulous cast which many were underused, especially Tom's love interest (sorry, cannot name her off-hand - Lena Headey). This is your basic, I-do-not-want-to-use-a-single-brain-cell-and-could-do-with-a-few-giggles kind of film. The best part of the film is Dylan Moran, why do we not see him more often I do not know, and the worst is Caine dressed as a women - how on earth could anyone be fooled by that costume I have no idea (not that any of the "disguises" really worked either but that was their charm - but that was taking the biscuit). Most outstanding performance; Abigail Iverson (Mary) - one very serious 9 year old.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2004
I bought one from ebay & sure, it is utterly ludicrous but entertaining fun nevertheless,
our dylan can actually act as well as performing his trademark woolly childlike stare & sure now everyone seems to be having a fantastic laugh on screen, acting the goat for all they are worth,
the 2 women characters are a bit underused so this is all about the boys,
sadly no commentary on my preview copy (boo)just nominal dvd extras of some still pix, a bit of text and ya usual 5min look at the fun we had making this movie behind the scenes rag,
altho a bit of a letdown considering the talent involved this film is worth a punt if ya like cheesy slapstick fun or any of those involved - although for Miranda fans her action is limited to a
tad blink n its over ...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
Don't why this isn't more well known. Brilliant turn from Michael Caine thoroughly enjoying his over the top performance. All the rest good. Funny plot and lines. Another jolly evening in
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Two actors - one can't remember lines but is a wizard at improvisation; the other who can't improvise to save his life (literally) but is brilliant with lines. Throw in some loveable crooks and some not so loveable ones and you have, largely thanks to a great cast, a very funny film comedy. Michael Caine is great as usual and the supporting cast are all excellent but stand-up comedian Dylan Moran deserves a special mention as he demonstrates here a great talent for comedy acting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2009
I am surprised that reviewers have taken this film so seriously! The point of Michael Caine's character is that he is inept (the play he is in and directing is meant to be awful, and tasteless too) Therefore is it not surprising that the disguises are poor, they are meant to be surely bearing in mind in the play both Caine and Moran do their own makeup, such as it it is. Michael Caine as a woman is a nod to his part in Dressed to Kill, and he was none too convincing as a woman in that either! I think Michael Gambon is very funny, overacting like mad, as if trying to outdo Caine! Sure there are plenty of plotholes, but I think this is a funny feelgood film and taken at face value is very entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2005
Love black books? So do I. I think the whole cast is great, but I particular like Dylan Moran. Anyway it was Dylan Moran which led me to The Actors.
And it was a big disappointment. I thought it was going to be such great material taking the mick out of 'Actors'. And who better to do that than Dylan? Well somebody else apparently. The bottomline was it wasn't funny at all and in fact it all seemed a little weak all round.
Other than that I don't really know what to tell you other than if you like Dylan then you can't go wrong with the Black Book DVDs. Or you could get Bill Bailey Part Troll on DVD which is great stuff too.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2008
Well, its alright. You look at the cast, scan the storyline and you mind is reeling with the possibilities of so many great and funny actors behind one movie. To a certain extent it works, there are laughs and lovely moments to giggle happily about, but it's really not that good a film. Rent it, watch it, enjoy it for what it is - just don't buy it.

The plot is possibly the worst element of the film and might be to blame. While most people are happy to suspend a certain amount of belief you kind of start to feel like they are taking the mick. There were good intentions behind it but realy it becomes a case of people not recognising people they were talking to a few hours before under the pretence that that wig actually works.

The acting is surprisingly dissapointing...i hate to be, but i have to be honest - Micheal's Caine and Gambon both give truly mediocre performances. Whether this is down to script, characterisation or delivery it is hard to tell, but both are distinctly uninspiring. However, the rest of the cast who are perhaps lesser known, such as Lena Headey do well under the circumstances, and the highest praise goes to Abigail Iverson (one hell of a nine year old actress) and to Dylan Moran. Moran runs circles around his co-star, portraying a varied character who manages what good characters do and sidles quietly into the backroom of your heart without you even noticing. Suddenly you are holding your breath for his happy ending and so i credit both of the stars i have given to him.

The score is lovely, the acting varied - Moran shines in this, unrecognised as he is, and it should have worked. Sadly it lacks something - it is difficult to pinpoint what, and i am afraid i will have to be obscure and merely observe that it lacks a heart. Maybe it was luck, or sparkle or magic or something but it just misses the mark and so i'm afraid it is nice, but not much more.

Still, i would recommend watching it - it is partially funny and there is quite a sweetness behind the characters that appeals greatly. It is not groundbreaking, hilarious, amazing, breath-taking or brilliant, but simply good - i suppose that is enough on some days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
Bought this for my daughter who loves it but its not really my cup of tea but quality good - thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2015
completely nutty and such fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)