Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

2.6 out of 5 stars
77
2.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.57+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 March 2006
To even consider making a sequel to Paul Verhoeven's bug nasty film without him onboard was a mistake. Gone are all the subtle political jibes, the depth, the army sensibility mocking. In fact, this straight to DVD sequel is everything that the first film was against...
But that aside, there's no scope to this film. The action battles are limited, probably due to budget reasons, and amount to no more than people shooting guns at the screen. The storyline in the first one wasn't exactly the main reason for watching it, but this time round it's even worse.
Holed up on a planet waiting for pick up ships, a squad of soldiers wait in a hastily converted base, as the bugs close in. That's it.
Acting wise, this is truly shocking, with no big names cast. But for the style of film being made, budget acting suits a budget film. There is some nudity, but, as a fellow reviewer stated it was, it is hardly pornographic, nor exciting.
What gives the film it's high rating is that come the finale, it gets quite bloody and gory. And I have to admit, that some of the action scenes towards the end picked up slightly, but not enough to make up for the dull previous hour.
The only other plus point was that some of the bug effects were pretty good, and that's probably where most of the films budget went. The CGI was quite detailed, and fast, however, as the bugs were hardly in the movie at all, that is another disappointment.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2004
Firstly, it’s not the first film. tho it looks significantly cheaper and doesn’t have the same ‘epic’ feel to it. What it is though is entertaining, not to mention a fairly respectable follow-up to the first film. It’s definitely the same world, and it’s quickly evident that the same folks are involved – as observant with the backdrop, structure, slick visuals and pacing. Phil Tippett, whose company created the effects for the first film, sits in the director’s chair this time and for the most part, he succeeds in delivering a worthy successor. With what he’s got, he works a wee tad of magic. The score sounds super, the backdrop looks good, and for the most part, the effects are good.
But points largely to Writer Ed Neumeier who found a magnificent way around the film’s minimalist budget. The story’s been kept almost claustrophobic and rarely goes beyond one or two backdrops. In addition, everything’s kept super tight – story, duration, the works. A wise move indeed.
Granted, there are disadvantages with working with a low budget and the film being a direct to video title. It would’ve been good to have seen some of the main faces from the first film make appearances, (but if an overhaul was the order of the day, then Richard Burgi [“24”, “The Sentinel”] and company make welcome enough stand-ins) and those bug’s, while good, don’t look as nifty as they did first time around.
Just not so long between drinks next time, hey?
0Comment| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Reviewed Version: 2007 UK DVD by Sony Pictures Home Entertainment (Region 2,4,5), BBFC 18

After the tremendous success of Paul Verhoeven's 1997 STARSHIP TROOPERS comes the 2004 direct-to-video sequel HERO OF THE FEDERATION, predictably nowhere as good as the original cult film. It was shot on a budget of roughly 5% of the original.
While it does have its merits (Richard Burgi as an anti hero Captain, two good female leads: Colleen Porch and Brenda Strong as well as Ed Lauter, and a really well-shot and dark beginning), then the film's story shifts into utter ridiculousness and boredom half-way through when it copies INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS. Seriously, this is all they could come up with? And what a way to reck the film!
SFX are well done, bloody and gory, as one would expect from STARSHIP TROOPERS, yet this is not enough to keep one glued to the seat. The original's satire is absent for most of the time, however, reserved only for brief "cameos" at the beginning and end and rather poorly executed.
Definitely not a must-see. Stick with the original and skip the sequels.

THE DVD:
Audio: English 5.1, Czech 5.1, Hungarian 5.1
Subtitles: English, English HoH (+14)
Runtime: 87:52 mins.

Video Quality: 3/5
Audio Quality: 3/5
Extras: 4/5
MOVIE RATING: 2/5

STARSHIP TROOPERS 2 is average in video and audio, mostly because it was cheaply shot with a low budget, but the DVD is loaded with extras a-plenty: a full length audio commentary, approx. 40 mins. of featurettes, a photo gallery and trailers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2008
OK. I admit it. Maybe I like cheap trashy movies (and having worked my way through just about every 1970s s/exploitation and grindhouse horror/thriller, that may well be the case), but I loved this movie. I had read all the rubbish reviews online, on amazon and imdb.com, yet still I bought it. Why? Because I was convinced it still had something to offer a diehard fan of the original movie, like me. The complaints I saw most frequently seemed to centre on how low-budget it looked. Well, funny that, eh.

Let's face it, if this film wasnt called Starship Troopers 2 and was titled Space Bug or something equally B-movie-esque, it would be happily accepted as exactly what it is: a cheap, visually inventive sci-fi schlock fest in the mould of Inseminoid or something similar. I can only imagine that people who give this film lousy reviews either a) expected far too much for a straight-to-video sequel to an admittedly kick-ass original, or b) arent big fans of cheesy splatter horror.

Kudos to Tippett for keeping the arch-fascist subtexts... the final montage of death and glory propaganda (juxtaposed with the most incompetent recruiting officer imagineable in the last scene), and the Mobile Infantry opening, are strangely uplifting in a worrying kind of way. That's probably Neumeier's point: how easy it is for propaganda to seduce people (as easy as it is for a pretty young blonde thing to seduce any male in her path).

Good rousing orchestral soundtrack, and a good use of CGI. The bugs look as good as they did in the movie. Other reviewers have complained about the tight framing and relentless close-ups, which actually aren't any different to what we're used to seeing on TV shows. Don't you get it, people? It doesn't look big, epic and cinematic because it wasn't made for the cinema! (Who slags off a TV cop show because it doesn't look like Dirty Harry?) Instead, it feels claustrophobic, creepy, perfectly in keeping with its setting. Tippett has stretched whatever minimal budget he had to produce something that is far better than the majority of reviews would suggest. Sure, there's nothing really that hugely artistic going on, the sets are dark, gritty and retro-industrial in style, but the execution isnt overshadowed by its ambition. Tippett realised his budgeting constraints and set out to make something that didnt try (and fail) to replicate the widescreen epic sweep of the original, and instead went for the human drama aspect, played out against darkly claustrophobic sets. The handheld/steadycam shots actually work within the context of the battle scenes. Black Hawk Down it aint, but it works on its own terms. If this is Tippett's first shot as a feature director, then I've seen far worse debuts.

Decent script by Ed Neumier, some good humour; not always brilliantly acted, although Capt. Dax, the General, and the cigar-chomping female Sargeant make up for their ham colleagues (plus, the chick who plays the Sargeant is one red hot momma - wasn't she also the Captain in the original movie?) Good gore for those who like that kind of thing, not too much to put off people who are upset by rubbery prosthetics and strawberry syrup (though those who are would have a real hard time watching the original movie, I'd guess.) Nice psychological subtexts as well. The new bug is quite interesting, though the sexual overtones have been over-emphasized by some reviewers (and there's more actual nudity in the first movie, by the way).

Good selection of extras on the DVD as well with featurettes, stills, etc. Watching the featurettes give you the impression that this was a labour of love for Tippett, who has dedicated his life to movie animation (and has been a big influence on my own visual work as well). Everyone involved in it seems to have loved the experience of working on the movie, which was shot in less than a month.

Yeah, I'll watch this again, because I really enjoyed it. It certainly did a damn sight more for me than the pitiful Hostel 2.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2004
Firstly, I was a great fan of the original movie and was quite excited when I heard of a sequel. I feel let down.
Starship Troopers 2 is a cheap, low budget flick with little entertainment value.
You know those movie packs that you see advertised with DVD players? You know the ones, "One Million Movies for £5" - well, that's where this one deserves to be. In fact, this will be the movie out of the pack that you'll never end up watching.
The plot was thin, the acting was wooden, the effects were base, the set (yes "set", there was only one set) could well have been your neighbours garage and the only relation to the first movie was the title.
I was very disappointed.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2004
The rating already indicates that this movie is not for the faint of heart. However, what might be considered as violence and gore by many people comes across as "justifiable" means. Who wants to be on the menu of a big, nasty bug anyway? Close your eyes if you must but watch the rest with your eyes wide open because it's surely worth your attention.
Before there were gigantic spiders, ancient dinosaurs or hungry ants, but now the bugs are loose and they come in chunks. Merciless and ugly they want to eliminate the last few human beings, however, they did not reckon with the Starship Troopers, a courageous group of men and women, fighting against the overpowering enemy. In particular, there is Captain Dax, a venturous but compassionate soldier, who fights an already lost fight against the bugs and justice. Actor Richard Burgi portrays Dax the way you would expect the Hero of the Federation: Charismatic with a touch of humour and muscles in sync with the brain. Burgi's presence on the screen is truly notable, nimbly carrying the heavy weight of a leading character on his (rather muscular) shoulders.
The rest of the Troopers are mention-worthy as well, especially the two leading ladies, Colleen Porch (Pvt Lei Sahara) and Brenda Strong (Sgt Dede Rake). Powerful and still female, they both show brilliantly how a movie should be cast.
Starship Troopers 2 is a dark, gloomy movie with some incredible, daunting and haunting F/X. It's a sci-fi adventure that makes you peek through your fingers at times, but in the end it's disappointing that the 90 minutes are already over.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2009
Hey! Hey! Hey! What's the matter with you people? I'm 54 years old, for goodness sake, and know a good film when I see one. Sure, it's low budget, but it had a great premise, strong acting and well-rounded characters thanks to a nifty and amusing script. Sacrilege - I enjoyed it more than the first one, and why shouldn't I?
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Its been said before, this film is poorly made and does not follow the logic of either 1 ( a dodgy interpretation of the book to say the least) or 3 ( an equally dodgy attempt to return to the story of John Rico). Only purchased for completeness sake but I did know what I was getting into, hence 3 stars
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2005
The original Starship Troopers is one of those films that I really liked, but never got around to buying on DVD. So when I saw that it was available with a sequel - admittedly a sequel I had never heard of - in one box, I bought it without hesitation.
Starship Troopers is just as good as I remebered it, witty, exciting, good-looking fun. I looked forward to watching the sequel, knowing that if it was even half as good as the first film it'd still be a good watch.
Oh, how it hurts to be so wrong!
What a waste of time
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
The rating already indicates that this movie is not for the faint of heart. However, what might be considered as violence and gore by many people comes across as "justifiable" means. Who wants to be on the menu of a big, nasty bug anyway? Close your eyes if you must but watch the rest with your eyes wide open because it's surely worth your attention.

Before there were gigantic spiders, ancient dinosaurs or hungry ants, but now the bugs are loose and they come in chunks. Merciless and ugly they want to eliminate the last few human beings, however, they did not reckon with the Starship Troopers, a courageous group of men and women, fighting against the overpowering enemy. In particular, there is Captain Dax, a venturous but compassionate soldier, who fights an already lost fight against the bugs and justice. Actor Richard Burgi portrays Dax the way you would expect the Hero of the Foundation: Charismatic with a touch of humour and muscles in sync with the brain. Burgi's presence on the screen is truly notable, nimbly carrying the heavy weight of a leading character on his (rather muscular) shoulders.

The rest of the Troopers are mention-worthy as well, especially the two leading ladies, Colleen Porch (Pvt Lei Sahara) and Sandrine Holt (Pvt Jill Sandee). Powerful and still female, they both show brilliantly how a movie should be cast.

Starship Troopers 2 is a dark, gloomy movie with some incredible, daunting and haunting F/X. It's a sci-fi adventure that makes you peek through your fingers at times, but in the end it's disappointing that the 90 minutes are already over.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse