Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
33
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2014
utter rubbish was suppose to be 3 films but the first film was nowhere to be seen on the disc this was the same on 2 lots i got
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This excellent set contains all three films in Robert Rodriguez's Mariachi trilogy. In El Mariachi, Rodriguez's breakthrough film, we are introduced to the man of destiny, who just wants to be a Mariachi like his father before him. Fate says otherwise, and he gets tangled in a bloody tale of revenge. In Desperado, introducing Antonio Banderas as the Mariachi, he is now on a hunt for the man who murdered his girl and turned him into a gunslinger. In Once Upon A Time In Mexico Banderas' Mariachi is recalled into action to try and prevent a bloody coup against the president, and there might be opportunity for revenge along the way.

All three are told with Rodriguez's patented style of blood, guts and humorous gory violence. These are three entertaining and thrilling adventures. The best of the lot is Desperado - Rodriguez was still finding his feet with the first film, and the third is a little too ambitious to be effective. Desperado finds the right balance.

All three are presented on separate discs, in a fold out card case. The picture and sound quality is excellent on all three. For the price being asked this box set is a steal. 4 stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
I don't know if it behaves the same way on all DVD players, but you actually have to go into the Options for the first film "El Mariachi", to turn off the Directors Commentary - it's seems to be set to ON by default. I admit I don't speak any Spanish (Mexican), which is the main language of the first film, even so having the Director droning (in English) on about this and that, spoils the film a bit. Better to just turn of the Directors-commentary and enjoy the film.

The second film "Desperado" and I personally think the best of the trilogy is brilliant. Plenty of action, a lot of very funny moments, and like the first film, a very good story.

The third film "Once Upon A Time In Mexico" is good: but it's overshadowed by "Desperado".

All in all, this Trilogy is a must have for any action-film fan.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
semmi trilogy verry loosley
el mariachi - only with english subtitles, good movie for wat it is
desperado - great movie 5 stars
once upona time - bit disappointed but still good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Action packed over the top filled with humour what could be better music superb, I would recommend this its really easy to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Fantastic value for money. 3 films in 1. What can I say, Johnny Depp and Antonio Banderas together in one film!!!! Heaven!!!! 3 brilliant films if you like your bloody shoot outs!!!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2005
If you're wondering which is the great one out of the three, the answer is Desperado, a supercool movie with Antonia Banderas as El Mariachi, a role he was born to play. However, the first part of the trilogy, El Mariachi is not what you'd use cool to describe. The film is short, and it is so evident that it was made on a miniscule budget. The poor storyline, scripting, acting, directing etc is all that you'd expect from something like that. I would only recommend it to those who wish to see what happened in El Mariachi's earlier life, but really, it only serves as an introduction to the next two movies. Desperado, as i already mentioned, is a BIG improvement from its predecessor. The cameos from steve buscemi and quintin tarantino are also extremely entertaining to watch, as is the beautiful salma hayek, who plays Antonio Banderas' love interest. The end to the trilogy comes in the form of Once Upon a time in Mexico, which in my opinion, came as a great dissapointment, seeing as it had so much potential, from the 1st rate actors (Johnny Depp, Willem Defoe, Mickey Rourke, Antonio Banderas, Salma Hayek and Eva Mendes just to name a few) to the vast number of great locations...but in the end, the film is just one big mess, probably due to its stroyline which tries to be intelligent and twisty but doesnt quite get there in the end.
Overall, I would just buy Desperado by itself. But if you prefer to spend an extra couple of quid and get the rather nice packaging which comes with the 3 discs, then you're welcome to. Just don't expet the 1st and 3rd film to be anything special, because they really aint.
Verdict, El Mariachi - 1/5
Desperado - 5/5
Once Upon A Time In Mexico - 2/5
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This was a pack of 3 DVDs with the Antonia Bandaros doing his sexy bit in Desperado and Once upon a Time. The 2 films were fantastic. But the first one El Mariachi doesn't have Bandaros in it. That is not the problem... The problem with this first film is that there is someone talking over the top of the film so you have no idea what is going on in the film. I can't get rid of the talking, and I tried to send the film back but there was no contact numbers on my receipt and Amazon have just ignored me. So on third of this product is totally unacceptable.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2015
HAD TO BUY THIS 3 FILM SET AT A BARGAIN PRICE LOVE IT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
A trilogy everyone must see at some point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)