Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2017
Excellent product and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 December 2004
3 years after their career low contractual obligation album In Torment In Hell, Deicide return on the Earache label for Scars of the Crucifix. The band sound re-energised, and creatively this album is certainly a return to their awesome form of the late '90's. In terms of Deicide's past releases this is the most adventurous album they've made since 1992's Legion, and mixes the weird time signatures and experimental streak of that album with the catchy hooks of 1997's Serpents of the Light. Lyrically its business as usual, with all the songs still obsessively anti-Christian (as if we expected any different), and beyond the odd time signatures probably the biggest shock is the lengthy backwards-reverb-drenched piano outro to the album (will we ever hear this level of experimentalism during a Deicide song?). It doesn't quite have the power to stand clear as Deicide's best album - a couple of tracks are slightly fillerish, and Glenn Benton's double high/low processed vocal effect is over-used so much that it loses it's impact, but this is still a mighty return to form, and Scars of the Crucifix stands easily as one of the bands better albums.
NB _ The limited first editions of this CD come with a bonus 'making of' DVD.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
This is best album Deicide have done in ages. I think the move to Earache records have given the band a new lease of life. This is metal played with a passion. The riffs and solos are top notch, and the vocals are amazing. This is 21st centuary Death Metal the way it should be. Brutal and heavy, but not just a mess of noise, like the last Nile album. This is Death Metal that is brutal, but has great songwriting and melody. Deicide purists may not like it as much as the old stuff, but this is 2004 and this album kicks ass. If you love metal, get this album. You will not regret it. Th new Annata album is a beast also, so check them out aswell.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2004
Deicide continue their dark domination with this latest album! Glen Benton's vocals are volcanic with the bass lines strong and the guitars wailing; backed by what must be the most furious drumming in the world! It's been many years since their definitive debut 'Deicide', but their talent and passion have not waned. A total full-on aural assault!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2004
Oh yes!! This is more like it.
After the lame, sluggish chore that was 'In Torment, In Hell', Deicide have rediscovered their bite - And then some.
Not since 'Serpents of the light' have they sounded so fired up - Every song is a complete blast; Intricate, yet reaching new levels of almost stupid extremity - I've listened to this CD almost every night for the past 4 months now, and I still find it... well .... exciting! Everything about it is over the top - Why go mach 10 when you have Steve Ashiem as a drummer? Let's go Mach 20! Why settle for a single vocal track, when you can have 3 or 4 at any one time, and a drama queen as big as Glen Benton for a vocalist.
This really does blur the distinction betweeen insanity and genius - It's just a crying shame that Deicide never had the good sense to deliver an album of this magnitude 5 years ago - They would have ruled the roost of extreme metal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2004
Well, the wait was worth it. This is 30 minutes of pure brutality. This has got to be one of Deicide's best releases if not THE best. The production on this album is excellent and Deicide are obviously VERY happy to be on Earache records! The guitar sound is amazing and there is much more variation in the songs than in the past. They have also written one of their best songs in "**** Your God". Both Hoffman brothers have obviously enjoyed themselves and the songs contain many more guitar solos than on previous albums. Steve Asheim is yet again his amazing self and Glen sounds as evil as he ever has. If you are into the extreme metal scene, you have to check this out. Roll on their next tour of the UK!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
i bought this first time round and trust me its worth buying this edition for the dvd alone deicide at there best i actually saw them on this tour which makes this album all the more worth buying.
if you like dark black metal then this is a must for your collection glen bentons growl is as evil as ever if you really wanna piss your parents of or like me piss your wife off then dont just sit there purchase this classic now.

pete
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2004
This was the first Deicide CD i have heard and i must say its a complete stunner, I'm very into Cryptopsy and Nile so when i heard that this band was one of the best Death Metal bands around i was excited to hear them, The song "Scars Of The Crucifix" is my favourite, its is purely amazing from start to finish, like other Death Metal bands this band has amazing drumming and guitar work. Pure Greatness
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Apparently the disk in the CD case turned out to be Morbid Angel's Domination album instead. On the plus side Morbid Angel rocks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)