Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2004
England's historic triumph in Australia at the Rugby World Cup 2003 desperately needs a "fly on the wall" video account. Though this DVD is close, it's not quite what the doctor ordered. First, it's a RWC (IRB?) release and relies on Australian match commentary, not ITV's. Though it does interview Sir Clive, Johnno, Will Greenwood, Mike Catt, Mike Tindall, and Trevor Woodman, there is no locker room or behind the scenes footage. To be fair, those interviewed are honest and articulate: for instance, Mike Catt revealing he knew he was too banged up to start the final. Then there's Greenwood's record use of the word "crikey."
That said, for a summary of England's campaign, it's pretty good. The narration from Sean Bean, switching codes, is excellent. The highlight of the DVD is a breakdown of the final plays that led to Wilko's drop goal. The only problem is that the only player not interviewed is Wilko himself--a glaring omission!
The extras include unusued footage of the final and the full England-Wales quarterfinal. This is an odd selection but apparently the production company did not want to crimp sales of the England-Australia final.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2004
I don't usually bother to write reviews but I felt I had to after reading the thoughts of 'The Viewer from Thatcham'.
What was he watching??
10 minutes of the final? Maybe his watch stopped, cos on my DVD there were more like 40 and with commentary.
There is a DVD extra which is 20 minutes of the final from different camera angles but that's an extra not on the main programme.
I really enjoyed all of it. Sadly Jonny isn't on it but Johno is and Woodward and Will Greenwood - who is really funny - and a few others.
I have to say I loved it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2004
This title has been a long time coming but is totally worth the wait. If you never buy another England Rugby DVD be sure that you do get this one.
The programme is superbly constructed and stylish throughout. There are highlights of all England's Pool Matches, with particular emphasis on the South Africa and Samoa games. There are excellent interviews with some of the players, interspersed with the action. Sense the build up to the Matches with Wales and France and of course, the Final itself. Totally compelling.
The original and gritty Australian Match commentaries really add an extra dimension to the action. In addition to the Matches there are extra features including the 'Unseen Final' ...just witness the impact of Martin Johnson's pre-Final call to arms, upon his team...then watch the Match, fantastic!
The extra DVD contains the entire quarter final Match against Wales.
If you're an England Rugby supporter you'll absolutely love this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
A detailed narration of England's success, and interviews with the core players (in particular, a certain Mr. Johnson) brought tears to my eyes. Images of the glorious night resurfaced in my mind during the 4-hour DVD (including the welsh match). This is definitely a must-have for all fans who love the physical game, and no team played tougher than England.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
I was surprised to see two discs in the pack as I didn't see this advertised, the second disc has England Wales game?
And it's always nice to see Englnad beat Wales (especially as I was at Wales's last Wembley game when well we all now what
happened).
There are interviews with key players and these are well put together.
The are good highlights of the Final and a great piece about "the 39 seconds".
It is a momento of the great morning (I was in a packed pub) that's well worth it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2004
All pre-release information said that this DVD was 90 mins long with only 10 minutes of extras. It sounded ominously like the poor Official Review released before Christmas.
However, the main feature on Disc 1 is over 2hr 30 long giving a comprehensive account of England's campaign, with Johnson's comments very interesting, Greenwood's witty and even Woodward's are less irritating than usual.
All the match commentaries are from Aussie TV which is actually better than ITV's. It's more balanced and it's great to hear their grudging respect finally coming through in the Semis and Final. The Unseen Final 10 minutes Extras add little however.
Disc 2 is the full England-Wales Quarter. Excellent choice as it was the best quality game England were involved in.
Overall, while it doesn't compare with the 'Living with Lions' series, this is a very good DVD account of England's glorious ascent to the summit.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
OK, has a fan of rugby and a proud Englishman, there was no chance of me not loving this. Basically it's a typical review of a sporting event for one team, but has the added bonus of the team being England and the tournament being won by England.
However bearing this in mind I'd have hoped for a little more. How about some more coverage of the amazing victory parade through the streets of London. A bit of behind the scenes as there is in the Swing Low Sweet Chariot DVD footage wouldn't have gone amiss either.
Also, they might as well not have bothered with the extras. How about how it was reported in the media around the world, making the comments from the likes of Jonno, Will and Woodward optional as I sometimes found that they broke the flow, commentary other than the Australian point of view (which was way better than us having to listen to Starmer-Smith by the way!) or just something.......... different.
Basically this is a good DVD, but in order to fit the occasion it should be special.
It's not.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2014
This is a great dvd, reliving the world cup of 2003, the match highlights are just right, not too short nor too long. The highlights are longer from the knockout stage. Good quality decent length highlights from every match and great to hear some of the guys involved talking about the matches before, during and after. There is the odd pause in game footage to hear a player talk about something he just did, and thats nice but its not too often, so the match highlights are rarely interrupted.
My only squabble would be, I wish there was more of the team involved in the dvd, it would of been nice to hear from Robinson and Wilkinson especially. And the final match highlights are good as is the close up footage but i would of preferred it being normal highlights like the rest of the matches, I think this is to make you want to get the final in full dvd, which I would recommend you do. But all in all a great dvd that I loved every second of. But defo get the final in full with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2005
I really enjoyed this DVD, its a great reminder of the World Cup and has some interesting interviews. I would have liked to see a bit more behind the scenes stuff and interviews with a few more players but overall it makes a good mantle shelf DVD to keep for a rainy day
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
An excellent collection and a fantastic reminder of England's triumph winning the RWC 2003. A worthy addition for any Rugby fan; interviews and highlights that still stir all the emotions especially Wilko's drop goal sealing victory over the Aussies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)