Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
14
4.3 out of 5 stars


on 22 February 2006
Although the YYY's debut "Fever To Tell" album fell into the "close but no cigar" category, this EP is the band at their very best. Almost sounding like a radio session, the energy crackles through this recording throughout, and the first three songs are among the band's best - "Bang", "Mystery Girl" and the scarily intense "Art Star".
Buy it, you won't ever regret it.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2002
Forget Madonna swearing on live telly, this year they should have the Yeah Yeah Yeahs play 'Art Star' before the winner is announced. The judges should then award the prize to the performance art-in-progress that is Karen O and associates. "S**t, I got a gallery in New York," indeed.
Punky, shouty garage rock from NYU will always stomp all over weedy British indie-boy bands. One listen to this will make you feel ashamed for ever being even mildly tolerant towards the insipid, careerist rock of Travis, Coldplay et al.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2002
Ah yes, this is exactly what we need, another brilliant band from NY. The YYY's juddering guitars and the singer's fanatastically screechy voice make this EP a worthwhile experience. A welcome change from the usual pap we are fed from America; along with The Strokes, The White Stripes and BRMC it seems a new wave of music is coming to save us from the nu-metal and pop punk that has plagued us so long.
Overall Strokesy, guitar music that makes you want to jump around like a fool and enjoy yourself.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2006
Although i knew about the Yeah Yeah Yeahs a while back and enjoying their song 'Maps' i pretty much ignored their debut and saw it as just a one trick pony but as their 2nd album has just been released i thought i'd pick up their EP after 'Fever To Tell and before 'Show Your Bones'.I found this EP one of the most coolest,catchy and pragmatic alternative CD's i own. It starts with an instantly likable 'Bang!' you can tell she has influences from PJ Harvey (whom of which ive grown to adore) it stands at one of my favourites here 'Mystery Girl' i think is my favourite track the drum loop is great and you just can't help but tap you foot 'Art Star' & 'Miles Away' stand as the more shorter tracks with the former being a trash metal-like track with the screaming but then almost seems schizophrenic 'coz she starts with these cute little "do,do,do's" eventually going back and screaming while the latter as a cool intro which just reminded me of 'Eye of the tiger' lol i really enjoyed it though just has the usual YYY's sound very cool. 'Our Time' is the closer which isn't all that great i didn't really like it much but i like the way she keeps stopping and starting and she sounds great.
Overall i found that Karen O is a very talented lady and stands as one of my 'Alternative' female heroines (after Bjork,Tori,Fiona & Polly Jean) I will be definately buying "Show Your Bones"
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
The Disc itself is fine, no damage and plays well without any skippingl but not the sleeve cover advertised which is disappointing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2002
The style! The passion! The energy infused in listeners of this CD! Yeah Yeah Yeahs seem to have it all. Lyrics ranging from self-depricating to surreal to cynical and mocking and all the way back again. Riffs to make you want to scream along and devote your life to attempting to work your way up to the status of being able to lick their feet clean. Pretty band members. Versatility, virility, power, ambition and the ability to come through with their promises. This is music to die for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
this ep is about 13 minutes long,and it sent an electric shock down my spine when i first heard it.it was the same when i first heard the ramones.the YYYs have got what it takes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2002
A compelling mix of punk, funk and arty rock and roll. Sorta retro but also as modern as next week. Simply the best record released so far this year.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2002
Despite being hailed by NME as the next fantastic thing this CD is actually rather good!! Stroing female vocals, biting, choppy guitar sound and an almost 'My Bloody Valentine' interlude on the 3rd track. The only downside.. sounds a bit like Transvision Vamp and we all remember how they ended up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2002
After hearing about them being the next big thing i brought this EP, and from the first track i knew there was something very differnt and brillant about this band, the key that sets this band apart from bands like BRMC, White Stripes and the strokes is a attidue of edgeiness which these other bands lack.
The first song "bang" is a stomper of tune, with a spiky guitar riff but a voice which is just amazing, the second track is a pj harvey "is this desire" era without the big loud bluesly guitars but the guitars squeel on this track, the third track Art Star is a spiky punk tune with a member of the band counting to 4 until all hell breaks loose and then followed up by child like singing, the fourth track is another pj harvey esque track and is driven by a guitar riff that implants its slef into your head, the last track is 70's blusey rock n roll song.
All in all its a rocking and rolling EP an album waits and with an music press buliding up anything that isnt nu metal this band is going to everywhere. But the question remains if thats a good or bad thing????
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fever To Tell
£2.83
It's Blitz!
£6.45
Mosquito
£7.12
Machine
£10.77

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)